Customer Reviews for

Dragonfly

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is one of those books that I wish were 500 pages so I could

This is one of those books that I wish were 500 pages so I could get lost in it without having to wait months to find out what happens.

High School, the stuff nightmares are made of.

Apparently, not so much for Jr. Nancy Drew/Christiane Armanpour wanna be Anna.

After...
This is one of those books that I wish were 500 pages so I could get lost in it without having to wait months to find out what happens.

High School, the stuff nightmares are made of.

Apparently, not so much for Jr. Nancy Drew/Christiane Armanpour wanna be Anna.

After Anna's bestfriend Gabi moves to Key West Anna is left to face her senior year of high school alone. However, things definitely take a turn when suddenly she is desire of not only the hottest guy in school (Julian) but also wanted by Jack, the son of the towns richest resident.

without any spoilers Anna finds herself in quite a whirlwind of dramatics. Not only is she working this information with the best of intentions, but she is also struggling to understand her own emotions that are caught between two swoon worthy men.

Me? Personally, I'm team Julian all the way.

(im)patiently waiting on book 2.

posted by Auhmanduh on July 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not what i expected...

I read this book basically in one sitting but i became increasingly frustrated with Anna and her choices...Things just didn't come together for me in this one.

posted by SapphireNY on October 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    This is one of those books that I wish were 500 pages so I could

    This is one of those books that I wish were 500 pages so I could get lost in it without having to wait months to find out what happens.

    High School, the stuff nightmares are made of.

    Apparently, not so much for Jr. Nancy Drew/Christiane Armanpour wanna be Anna.

    After Anna's bestfriend Gabi moves to Key West Anna is left to face her senior year of high school alone. However, things definitely take a turn when suddenly she is desire of not only the hottest guy in school (Julian) but also wanted by Jack, the son of the towns richest resident.

    without any spoilers Anna finds herself in quite a whirlwind of dramatics. Not only is she working this information with the best of intentions, but she is also struggling to understand her own emotions that are caught between two swoon worthy men.

    Me? Personally, I'm team Julian all the way.

    (im)patiently waiting on book 2.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    Anna Sanders expects to have an uneventful senior year.  Her bes

    Anna Sanders expects to have an uneventful senior year.  Her best friend Gabi moved away and even though she's lived on the
    Gulf Coast for three years other than Gabi and Julian she's never really made friends.  That is until she meets twins Lucy and Jack.
    Lucy is quick to make friends with Anna even wanting to set her up with her brother Jack.  Jack is everything you could want in a guy,
     he's rich, good-looking, sweet, and popular but as he and Anna grow closer to one another he constantly pulls away telling her it's
    best of they are not together.  Throw into the mix Jack's dad who isn't the nicest man and Jack's older brother who wants to take Jack
    away and  you have a recipe for disaster.

    Then there's Julian.  Julian is a rising star in the art world.  He's the son of a former artist and has a real gift with art.  He's always been
     on Anna's radar and with her friend Gabi out of the picture she thinks she might finally have a shot with him.  Problem is she can't tell
     half the time if Julian is serious or flirting, she doesn't want to mess up their friendship, and her heart in some ways is with another...
     Jack.  But when push comes to shove who will come out on top Julian or Jack?  Add to the mix that Anna wants to be a journalist and
    unknowing uncovers a deep dark secret that could rip everyone around worlds apart.

    When I first started reading this story I expected to find a shy girl who would fall for the rich guy who has everything.  
    The friend would get in the way and ultimately she would choose the new guy who she has deep feelings for.  What I didn't expect to
     find was the emotional heartfelt roller coaster ride I was taken on.  Every time Anna and Jack took two steps forward they took three
     steps back and I wanted to cry sometimes because I could really feel what Anna was going through.  These characters are so well
    developed that you'll find yourself lost in the story living right along side Anna as she goes through the twists and turns of her senior
    year in high school.  I look forward to reading the next book in this series and the wait is going to kill me because it left me wanting
    to know so much more about what will happen with this story.

    I give it 5 stars!  ***ARC provided in exchange for honest review***

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I requested and received an ARC for the second book in this seri

    I requested and received an ARC for the second book in this series, Undertow, without realizing it was a sequel. So, of course, I one-clicked this book so I'd be able to better understand and review the second book. 

    I have incredibly conflicting feelings about this book. I really wanted to like it. Summer love with a hint of mystery? Sign me up. But, I had a hard time getting into this one. The mystery wasn't as mysterious as I was led to believe, the love triangle kind of annoyed me and I just found myself having a really difficult time connecting to any of the characters. 

    "Julian drifted into my mind. He was different, and I was different with him - not desperate. Calm and smart. But my insides didn't work that way. They were torn and obsessed, and I still wanted Jack. He was a bad drug that left me craving more even when it hurt me." 

    Anna was the kind of main female character that makes me want to throw things. She was wishy-washy and weak. She was more than willing to shove aside her hot, sweet friend (Julian) in favor of the mysterious, sexy, rich guy (Jack)... except in those moments when she was jealous of her friend and his other girls. But then he would make a play for her and she'd shove him aside. It got rather tiresome. The heart wants what the heart wants, but it wasn't the heart that was in question here. It was parts a little lower than that. 

    "My legs trembled, and I just wanted him. All of him. I didn't care if it was a huge mistake. I didn't care if it made me weak and pathetic. I hated myself, but my need to have him was stronger than my need to hurt him."

    Jack bothered me. I never once got the feeling that he actually cared for Anna. I can get behind the "I want her/him, but I know I can't have her/him, but I still want to sample the goods from time to time" mentality. That's not what I got from him at all. I think he liked the power he knew he had over her, but that there were no true feelings, aside from simple lust, driving his actions. Of course, Anna let him continue to get away with it, so can you fully blame him? More than "let him," she pretty much begged him to take things further, even though he flat-out told her they would never be more than what they were. It was all very frustrating to me. 

    Julian was absolutely swoon-worthy. He was the kind of guy that made you want to grab the heroine, shake her a few times and try to make her realize what an idiot she was being. Julian was sweet, hot, artistic. He had a really sexy side, too. He actually cared about Anna. He was patient with her. More patient than I was as she continued to throw herself at the guy who clearly didn't give a damn about her. 

    The other characters just kind of blended into the background for me. Truthfully, I felt virtually nothing for them. I actually found myself far more interested in what occurred in the past than what was happening in the present. I wanted to know more about the history of Julian's mom and Jack's dad. It looks like I'll get that in the next book. I hope I get a lot more, period, in Undertow.

    But, all that said, this book was a good, quick read. I will definitely be checking out the remaining books in the series as they come out. While I didn't feel like I completely connected with the characters, I connected enough to want to know how it all turns out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Not what i expected...

    I read this book basically in one sitting but i became increasingly frustrated with Anna and her choices...Things just didn't come together for me in this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

     

     

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Fans of The O.C. pay attention!  Jack Kyser is a mixture of rich

    Fans of The O.C. pay attention!  Jack Kyser is a mixture of rich Seth Cohen, who doesn't want to be part of the high class world anymore + a dash of Ryan Attwood, who is the dark, mysterious, hot, new guy.  In the beginning I actually thought he was going to end up being paranormal because his family secludes themselves from the rest of the town and he was so mysterious.  I felt like that guy on Ancient Aliens that accuses everyone of being an alien.
     But I was glad when he turned out to be 100% human.  There was also another amazing love interest.  His name is Julian and while he spends some of the time in  just the background of the novel, I was routing for him the whole way.  It was one love triangle that I actually enjoyed.
    The main character, Anna, was so true to what I remember being a teenager was like.  She tries to hold herself together when things get rough, but she's being thrown into new situations all the time and it's hard for her to navigate.  What I didn't like about her was that she put Jack on a pedistal and expected him to be perfect.  He had flaws.  In fact, there were times he was kind of a jerk.  A lovable jerk once you learned his past, but still.
     And I wanted Anna to just pick one of the boys.  She kept going back and forth.  I've been in a situation like that so I was able to connect with her easily.  It is hard to sort through your emotions sometimes especially in High School.  But still.  Just pick already!
    There was a slight mystery at the end that popped up and definitely added another layer to the story.  Something crazy happens towards the end that was so unexpected and really brought on the feels!  When everything started to wrap up I was expecting a few more chapters of closure, but I turned the page and BAM the book is over!  There wasn't a huge cliffhanger or anything, but I was left wanting more of the characters.  I miss them already.  Definitely need to get book two soon.

    If you're looking for a contemporary that is fun and cute, but also has some depth with great characters.  This is definitely one you'll want to check out!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Great storytelling. Real people, interesting story, well writte

    Great storytelling. Real people, interesting story, well written. Thoroughly enjoyable. I am looking forward to reading the follow up, Undertow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Dragonfly is not your typical YA (Young Adult) novel where it¿s

    Dragonfly is not your typical YA (Young Adult) novel where it’s all butterflies and roses. It has deep dark secrets, suspense, and even a bit of a love triangle. Just a little. Reading this reminded me why I enjoy YA. It has been months since I’ve picked one up and this was a refreshing read.

    Anna Sanders is a high school student that is feeling lonely her senior year because one of her closest friends has moved away. Her goal is to finish high school, get scholarships and go to college where she plans to major in Journalism. However, when she meets the gorgeous twin brother and sister, Jack and Lucy Kyser, her life will never be the same.

    Anna is immediately drawn to Jack, as he is to her. However, as we find out, his family has dark secrets (some unknown to him) and Jack is determined to stay away from Anna. He knows he wants her, but she deserves better. Then there is Julian. Sweet, romantic, artistic, Julian! He is completely blown away by Anna and she has a hard time seeing this. They’ve always been nothing but friends, but it becomes clearly obvious he wants her, in every non-friendly way possible.

    Don’t let the slight love triangle throw you off. I know this is a sensitive subject for some, but the author does a great job with this. Anna loves someone who pushes her away, yet she feels she isn’t deserving of the one who undeniably wants to be with her. So who’s my pick? I’m Team Julian of course!

    As we get deeper into the story, Anna discovers the Kyser family secret. This could cost her both men she truly and deeply cares about. I absolutely cannot wait for book 2. Yes, this ends on a sort of cliffhanger, but it is the kind where you cannot wait to dig into the next one. I recommend this story to anyone looking for a wonderfully written YA novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Great book!

    Love triangles uuggh, they drive me crazy HOWEVER this book was written in a way that made me understand why there was a love triangle. Especially at the age these characters were. This is exactly what first loves, infatuation and figuring out what the heart needs is all about. This is also the first book with a love triangle that I can honestly say I don't have a favorite side. It was heart wrenching, remembering back to that age and how devastating first loves can be.
    The characters are fun and easy to identify with. They all bring something to the story.

    Not really a cliff hanger but book does end with no clear resolution, for me I definitely need to read the series back to back. Thankfully #3 is out soon.

    Good book, starting on second.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 stars Did I enjoy this book: I did enjoy this book. At firs

    3.5 stars

    Did I enjoy this book: I did enjoy this book. At first, it was kind of slow. It was a good story but it didn’t grab me. It took a while to finish it. But, I kept reading. And I’m glad I did and I can’t believe that ending! I can’t wait for the next book!!!

    As I said, the first part was kind of slow and predictable. I didn’t like Anna all that much. She was kind of wishy-washy and needy. But she was a great investigative reporter. It was so hard not to yell at the book and tell her the one she is looking for it right in front of her. UGH! I wanted to yell but I didn’t want to scare anyone around me.

    I loved Julian. He was a great guy. The sweet, romantic, artsy guy that I was rooting for. I did not like Jack at all. Not one bit. I felt bad for him in some instances but I really didn’t like the guy. I liked Lucy and even Mr. Kyser. I didn’t like Julian’s mom, Alex.

    That’s what made this book difficult to rate. The characters I liked were great, but not all central to this book. The one’s I didn’t like were more central. The story was good. I wanted to know what happened. I still want to know what happened (which is why I can’t wait for Undertow.) It just took some time to get hooked.

    Would I recommend it: I would recommend it if you like romances with a serious story. Also, if you don’t mind cliffhangers and series!

    Will I read it again: I will not but I will read the next book in the series, Undertow.

    (I received a copy of this book for review purposes.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Anna is about to start her senior year minus her best friend Gab

    Anna is about to start her senior year minus her best friend Gabi. As an Army brat Gabi is used to moving and starting over all the time, but Anna isn't, and after three years she is just starting to feel comfortable. She's got friends, but none like Gabi, who always managed to make every situation turn out OK.

    While sitting on the beach the day before school begins Anna meets two beautiful people, Lucy & Jack. She later learns that they are twins, and their father is Bill Kyser, one of the richest land developers on the Gulf Coast.

    Anna is befriended by the outgoing Lucy, which brings Jack and Anna together. Only Anna can't tell what their relationship is because Jack keeps swinging from hot to cold with no warnings. She wants to be strong and ignore him, but each time he comes back she just can't seem to say no to him.

    Meanwhile there is her friendship with the school hottie, Julian. He is a phenomenally talented artist she got to know while tutoring him in Algebra last year. As the year progresses Julian periodically does, or says, little things that leave Anna wondering about his true feelings for her. He has even kissed her, but though she likes him she can't shake her feelings for Jack.

    Her job on the school paper is going to help get her into a solid journalism school, so when she is offered an internship at the local paper she is over the moon. Until she is assigned to go do a basic interview of Bill Kyser, who was terribly mean to her the first time they met. She was seeing Jack at his mansion when his dad came outside, drink in hand, and proceeded to say some wildly inappropriate things to Anna. But Anna mentally squares her shoulders and goes in for the interview, which actually enough goes very smoothly.

    When Anna learns that Julian's mother was in business with Kyser and his partner a mystery is uncovered. One Anna is determined to solve - which is just who Julian's father is. She thinks she knows, but has to prove it and then get one of his parents to tell him.

    Anna's senior year teaches her a lot, and she grows up some, beginning to learn her own mind. Julian is clearly a part of that picture, though she is afraid to risk their friendship, not too mention the issue of her lingering feelings for Jack. So far Julian has patiently waited for Anna to figure out what, and who, she really wants. But will how long will he wait for her to make up her mind? And will he still feel the same way about her if he ever finds out the she secret she is now a part of? A secret she has sworn not to share with anyone?

    The story is sweet and easy to relate to, with the golden boy who keeps spinning her head, the best friend who is patiently waiting on the sidelines, and the other best friend who helps her sort it all out. Though things with Jack go on a bit too long, the last quarter of the book more than makes up for that. And though things end fairly neatly, there is still the mystery of what happened almost twenty years ago. The answer to that story and many more are sure to be found in "Undertow," book two of the 'Dragonfly Series.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    Anna starts off the year believing it is going to be terrible, b

    Anna starts off the year believing it is going to be terrible, but her life flips completely when she meets the Kyser twins, and to top it off, she finds herself in the middle of a love-triangle. Throw in a secret that could change many lives, and this read was quite exciting.

    I really liked Anna. She was a sweet girl who was still trying to find her place in the world. I really wish she hadn't fallen so quickly for Jack. And I was a little annoyed with her that she kept allowing him to lead her on.

    Lucy was another character I gravitated toward. I felt sorry for her. She seemed so out of place in her perfect world. She longed for a relationship with her father, and did some questionable things to gain his attention. I had to wonder why Mr Kyser withdrew so much from his children. There was obviously more to his story and the further I read, and as his secret was unveiled, I was left with even more questions about what had happened all those years before, as well as the circumstances behind his wife's accident.

    Now I have to give special mention to the two guys fighting for Anna's affection.

    At first Julian struck me as being a little immature but as the story developed I grew to like him more and more. He was driven and determined to succeed. Even though he had a tendency to bounce from one girl to the next without a care, it was clear that his focus was more on Anna. He never put pressure on her but he was more than willing to pick up the pieces if things didn't workout with Jack. And then there were the little things he did for Anna; from remembering her birthday to the beautiful ring. I'd love to see where their relationship goes in Undertow.

    My feelings for Jack were the total opposite from Julian. I started off really liking him, but then he became all mysterious, and his constant play at hot and cold with Anna was just frustrating. I have to commend him though for stopping things before they went too far, on more than one occasion. He obviously liked Anna, but his feelings were never as strong as her's, and he could have easily taken advantage of her. I was appalled at what happened at the party though. I think that was the turning point and from then on, no matter what Jack did, I didn't trust him or believe him. Yes, he had good reasoning for his actions, kind of, and he really didn't owe Anna anything...no scrap that...he did, in my opinion he'd led her on. His behavior was quite high on the douche-bag-o'meter by the end of the book and I was just glad Anna had finally seen the error of her ways.

    I felt a little cheated with the ending of the book but Moore has set up the second book superbly. There's no way I won't be reading Undertow, because like a carrot dangled before a donkey, so the journals given to Anna by Mr Kyser were there to taunt me, and I have to know what is in them. Therefore Undertow will be bumped to the top of my TBR list as soon as it is released next month.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The story was well put together and thought out. Dragonfly was s

    The story was well put together and thought out. Dragonfly was sort of like a puzzle. Every one behaved the way they did for a reason, and the more you read the more it all pieces together. It kept me glued to the book. Dragonfly by Leigh T. Moore was provided to me by the author for review. The opinions are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    There is a reason I'm a huge cheerleader for Leigh T. Moore and

    There is a reason I'm a huge cheerleader for Leigh T. Moore and her novels. It's because I truly, sincerely, ALWAYS enjoy them. Her newest YA novel, Dragonfly, had me sucked me in again, and I read it in two days. Part of it was because I was picturing a young Julian McMahon (anyone remember Nip/Tuck?) as Julian. Part of it was the peek into the lives of the rich and maybe not so perfect. But mostly it's Leigh's gift of writing a story that makes you care about the characters because they are so darn real and creating twists and turns to make every chapter a page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Booklover

    Looks amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2014

    Sucks you in with an incredible love story that you don't want t

    Sucks you in with an incredible love story that you don't want to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Ugh.

    Good book, but Anna is stupid. She knows Jack is pushing her away, and she is mad at him, but everytime they kiss she turns into a hoe. Wow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Nicely Done

    It was a light read, making me so happy I'm no longer in high school but this isn't the generic mean girl scrap. It is a story about a girl who loves two guys and finds out about a secret that involves them both. I do think Anna is too nosey for her own good, although her intentions are pure. I do hope she ends up with Julian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Great book!

    This was an easy read, the story line was pretty good. I did not like how it ended, but I guess thats why there is a second book that I am off to purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Amazing

    I originally picked up this book because dragonflys hold a special place in my heart. I have to say, I loved this book from the start. I was hooked and wanted to sit by the pool and enjoy this series. I read all three in two days and was bummed that I have to wait until May for Mosic. I would totally suggest this series to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2