Customer Reviews for

Dragonfly

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is one of those books that I wish were 500 pages so I could

This is one of those books that I wish were 500 pages so I could get lost in it without having to wait months to find out what happens.

High School, the stuff nightmares are made of.

Apparently, not so much for Jr. Nancy Drew/Christiane Armanpour wanna be Anna.

After...
This is one of those books that I wish were 500 pages so I could get lost in it without having to wait months to find out what happens.

High School, the stuff nightmares are made of.

Apparently, not so much for Jr. Nancy Drew/Christiane Armanpour wanna be Anna.

After Anna's bestfriend Gabi moves to Key West Anna is left to face her senior year of high school alone. However, things definitely take a turn when suddenly she is desire of not only the hottest guy in school (Julian) but also wanted by Jack, the son of the towns richest resident.

without any spoilers Anna finds herself in quite a whirlwind of dramatics. Not only is she working this information with the best of intentions, but she is also struggling to understand her own emotions that are caught between two swoon worthy men.

Me? Personally, I'm team Julian all the way.

(im)patiently waiting on book 2.

posted by Auhmanduh on July 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not what i expected...

I read this book basically in one sitting but i became increasingly frustrated with Anna and her choices...Things just didn't come together for me in this one.

posted by SapphireNY on October 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I requested and received an ARC for the second book in this seri

    I requested and received an ARC for the second book in this series, Undertow, without realizing it was a sequel. So, of course, I one-clicked this book so I'd be able to better understand and review the second book. 

    I have incredibly conflicting feelings about this book. I really wanted to like it. Summer love with a hint of mystery? Sign me up. But, I had a hard time getting into this one. The mystery wasn't as mysterious as I was led to believe, the love triangle kind of annoyed me and I just found myself having a really difficult time connecting to any of the characters. 

    "Julian drifted into my mind. He was different, and I was different with him - not desperate. Calm and smart. But my insides didn't work that way. They were torn and obsessed, and I still wanted Jack. He was a bad drug that left me craving more even when it hurt me." 

    Anna was the kind of main female character that makes me want to throw things. She was wishy-washy and weak. She was more than willing to shove aside her hot, sweet friend (Julian) in favor of the mysterious, sexy, rich guy (Jack)... except in those moments when she was jealous of her friend and his other girls. But then he would make a play for her and she'd shove him aside. It got rather tiresome. The heart wants what the heart wants, but it wasn't the heart that was in question here. It was parts a little lower than that. 

    "My legs trembled, and I just wanted him. All of him. I didn't care if it was a huge mistake. I didn't care if it made me weak and pathetic. I hated myself, but my need to have him was stronger than my need to hurt him."

    Jack bothered me. I never once got the feeling that he actually cared for Anna. I can get behind the "I want her/him, but I know I can't have her/him, but I still want to sample the goods from time to time" mentality. That's not what I got from him at all. I think he liked the power he knew he had over her, but that there were no true feelings, aside from simple lust, driving his actions. Of course, Anna let him continue to get away with it, so can you fully blame him? More than "let him," she pretty much begged him to take things further, even though he flat-out told her they would never be more than what they were. It was all very frustrating to me. 

    Julian was absolutely swoon-worthy. He was the kind of guy that made you want to grab the heroine, shake her a few times and try to make her realize what an idiot she was being. Julian was sweet, hot, artistic. He had a really sexy side, too. He actually cared about Anna. He was patient with her. More patient than I was as she continued to throw herself at the guy who clearly didn't give a damn about her. 

    The other characters just kind of blended into the background for me. Truthfully, I felt virtually nothing for them. I actually found myself far more interested in what occurred in the past than what was happening in the present. I wanted to know more about the history of Julian's mom and Jack's dad. It looks like I'll get that in the next book. I hope I get a lot more, period, in Undertow.

    But, all that said, this book was a good, quick read. I will definitely be checking out the remaining books in the series as they come out. While I didn't feel like I completely connected with the characters, I connected enough to want to know how it all turns out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 stars Did I enjoy this book: I did enjoy this book. At firs

    3.5 stars

    Did I enjoy this book: I did enjoy this book. At first, it was kind of slow. It was a good story but it didn’t grab me. It took a while to finish it. But, I kept reading. And I’m glad I did and I can’t believe that ending! I can’t wait for the next book!!!

    As I said, the first part was kind of slow and predictable. I didn’t like Anna all that much. She was kind of wishy-washy and needy. But she was a great investigative reporter. It was so hard not to yell at the book and tell her the one she is looking for it right in front of her. UGH! I wanted to yell but I didn’t want to scare anyone around me.

    I loved Julian. He was a great guy. The sweet, romantic, artsy guy that I was rooting for. I did not like Jack at all. Not one bit. I felt bad for him in some instances but I really didn’t like the guy. I liked Lucy and even Mr. Kyser. I didn’t like Julian’s mom, Alex.

    That’s what made this book difficult to rate. The characters I liked were great, but not all central to this book. The one’s I didn’t like were more central. The story was good. I wanted to know what happened. I still want to know what happened (which is why I can’t wait for Undertow.) It just took some time to get hooked.

    Would I recommend it: I would recommend it if you like romances with a serious story. Also, if you don’t mind cliffhangers and series!

    Will I read it again: I will not but I will read the next book in the series, Undertow.

    (I received a copy of this book for review purposes.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2013

    My first Leigh T. Moore book, The Truth About Letting Go, had me

    My first Leigh T. Moore book, The Truth About Letting Go, had me convinced this was an author I was going to enjoy. From her wonderfully-relatable teenage characters to her drama-filled story line, her books are ones I really enjoy.




    Dragonfly was a little different than TTALG. It had a bit more of the teenage drama we all love to hate (or just love, as the case may be) and also surprised me with an added mystery that appeared as the story progressed. It really took the story in a different direction, setting the tone for book two, Undertow, quite nicely.




    As usual with Moore’s books, Anna was a true teenager. Full of bad decisions and doubt beyond belief, she was an extremely realistic teenage girl. Aside from my occasional desire to smack her through my Kindle, I really could relate to her and her decisions, the anxiety she was feeling in life, and the struggle she had with her feelings for these two boys. Yes, two boys… I must mention there is a bit of a love triangle going on here. But before you gasp and put this book aside, I have to say it really wasn’t too bad. I am actually a hater of love triangles, and this one didn’t irk me as much as others. I felt Anna’s struggle was sincere, and though there was a tad bit of insta-love as well, it just seemed to work.




    I do have to say I’m totally disappointed with the cover change. Though cover changes in general kind of irk me, this one I just don’t care for one bit. I was a huge fan of the original cover, which matched perfectly the rest of the series. These new covers just aren’t for me. 




    Okay, I’ll move on.




    This was a perfect beach read. An extremely quick read with just enough drama, romance and a dash of mystery to keep you wanting more. And trust me, this ending leaves you hanging a bit, so be ready to get your hands on a copy of Undertow asap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    Dragonfly is compared to a CW show in the blurb, and that is rea

    Dragonfly is compared to a CW show in the blurb, and that is really accurate. It is a coming-of-age story filled with teen angst and scandals galore. Totally fun if you're into the drama.

    Dragonfly is one of those stories I feel readers will likely either get, or they won't. If you need your heroine to always make the right choices and be completely decisive, Anna will probably frustrate you. And that's okay, I have my own reading pet peeves, it just happens bad choices in characters is not one of them. And here's the thing, for better or worse, I was a teen that made dumb decisions on a near daily basis. I partied, I drank, I kissed a lot of boys, and though I'm not exactly proud, those choices and the aftermath helped form the nearly well-adjusted woman I am today. So when I read a book with "dumb" teens, I see a YA story I can relate to.

    Dragonfly does have a love triangle of sorts, but seeing as I had my money behind one boy all along, it didn't bother me. But I'm not bothered by the dreaded love triangle in general. I knew which of the guys, Jack or Julian, was the right one for Anna. I just had to sit back and let her figure it out for herself.

    In addition to Anna's story, Dragonfly also features a small town scandal that is sure to rock some serious socks off in the future. I liked that the mystery was slowly introduced into the story, without my even realizing it. As clues began to slowly drop, the suspicions slowly built, and when it came out, the series was set off into a cool direction for the next book in the series, Undertow.

    If you like a story with angst, scandals, and can hang tight and let the story play out, Dragonfly just might be the right book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    I'll be honest, I saw some mixed reviews of this one, so I was a

    I'll be honest, I saw some mixed reviews of this one, so I was a bit reluctant to review it. But, I liked the synopsis and decided to give it a go. And I did like it. I liked the way the story and the mystery of the characters developed. I also liked Anna. The character that stood out for me though was Julian. He kept me interested in wanting more.




    So, as I said, I did like Anna. It took a while for me to warm up to her though. Her whole initial meeting with Jack and Lucy felt a bit odd to me. It almost had a Cruel Intentions feel to it. That did quickly change, but that was my first impression. I think I was a bit disappointed that Anna fell so hard for Jack. Maybe I just wasn't feeling the chemistry with them or it could be the fact that almost immediately I was pulling for Julian. Near the end of the book, I did begin to like Anna more.




    Julian is a pretty great guy. He fell for Anna when she was his tutor. The timing wasn't right then, but now things have changed and he wants to be with her. For me, Julian is the key to this book. The whole story essentially revolves around him. Sure, his developing relationship with Anna is a focal point, but I'm curious to see how the secrets will impact their relationship.




    Overall, Dragonfly was enjoyable. I felt like the second half of the book was stronger and it did leave me curious about the next book.  Although, it might not be one I rush to get to. If you're looking for a Mature YA Romance that has a bit of mystery, check this one out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Leigh Talbert Moore, All Night Reads, and Netgalley,)
    17-year-old Anna is instantly attracted to the gorgeous Jack when he and his twin sister start at her school. She never expected Jack to be interested in her though.

    Jack and Anna become an item, but then things change and Jack breaks up with her. Anna still loves him though, and he seems to like her still too, and occasionally they slip up and make out. Jack doesn’t want to commit to Anna though, whilst Anna’s friend Julian has made it clear that he is ready to commit, and she can’t help but be swept away by his kisses too.
    Which boy should Anna be with though? Can she really have a future with Jack? Is she ready to be more than friends with Julian? And what is going on between Julian’s mother and Jack’s father?


    This was an okay contemporary romance novel, but you really need to read the next book in the series to find out what happens!

    Anna was a girl who was more focused on her future career than on boys, but once Jack started to show an interest, she seemed to get distracted really easily. I did find it a little difficult to relate to Anna in this story, although I’m not really sure why. I think I may have been to do with the fact that every time Jack hurt her, she seemed to go back for more. At times I really wanted to point her in Julian’s direction and give her a shove.

    Jack started off as a good love interest, but very quickly became bad for Anna. The way he strung her along, and kept teasing her and then putting her down again was awful, and I really wanted her to wise up and stay away from him.
    Julian started out as a friend, but by the end of the book I was definitely on his side. He was so much more caring, and so much better for Anna than Jack, that I really wanted Anna to choose him!

    The storyline in this book was okay, and the mystery element added another dimension to the plot too, rather than focusing entirely on the romance side of things. I did guess several things that happened in the book, although I didn’t guess what Jack’s sister Lucy was up to.
    While a lot of answers were forthcoming in this part of the story, the poo has yet to hit the fan with regards to some of the secrets being kept, and so we’ll have to read the next in the series to find out how these things will be resolved. Who Anna will end up with is also unresolved, although I am definitely team Julian!
    Overall; YA contemporary romance, that will leave you wanting the next in the series.
    6.75 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    This was a light, summer read and also the beginning of Leigh's

    This was a light, summer read and also the beginning of Leigh's new series. It has a bit of everything: teen angst, drama, romance (a bit of a love triangle), and intrigue. I found myself really drawn to the family backgrounds in this story, more so than the romance.

    Anna is our main character, and from what I have gathered- she is pretty shy and hasn't really come out of her shell. She has an innocence about her that I liked, but found she could be pretty naive and immature at times too. Her best friend has moved away and now Anna has to fend for herself and really come into her own. She meets Jack and Lucy Kyser, who are your typical rich kids from the other side of town. Color Anna surprised when Lucy takes a liking to her and wants to hang out with her. Of course, Lucy's twin brother Jack, has not escaped Anna's notice either. He is hot, but no way would he be into someone like her.... or would he?

    I couldn't find it in me to like Jack. I felt like he used Anna way too many times. Granted, shame on Anna for letting herself be played like a fiddle. Sure, he had moments of compassion, but his feelings for Anna never seemed realistic in my opinion. I did feel bad that every time Anna was finally ready to get him out of her system and push forward, he came sweeping back in and taking her away like the tide. Girl! How many times are you going to let him do you that way?!

    Lucy on the other hand, while we didn't get a whole lot of storyline with her in, she did cause some waves. Personally, I think she's just looking for attention. We find out from Jack that he and his Dad spend time together, but I don't think Lucy does. Having lost their mother at a young age, their father is the only parental figure in their life and from Anna's first meeting with him, he doesn't seem all that involved in his kids' lives.

    The last big character in the story is Julian. He is an artist and is very sweet and playful with Anna. He calls her Anna Sunshine and is just a very sweet guy. He is kind of aloof and flirty though, which drove me a little crazy. The back and forth between these two... gah! Anna likes Julian, but because of her conflicting feelings for Jack, doesn't really allow herself to be with him. I did admire her decision later on in the book to steer clear of him, because she knew it wouldn't be fair to him when she still had lingering feelings for someone else.

    Like I said, the mystery behind the Kyser family and then Julian's mom is what really intrigued me. We find out a pretty big secret towards the end of the novel, but why it's being kept secret... well, it's a secret! I think Leigh will probably expand more on that in the next book. Or so I'm hoping!

    Overall, this was a pretty good start to the series, but I do feel that Anna has some maturing and growing up to do. Her naivety is a bit much and she needs to outgrow her juvenile actions, especially since she just turned 18.

    She has for the moment at the end of the book made her decision concerning her boy drama, so we'll see how that pans out.

    *Received a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Anna's best friend moves away, leaving Anna to finish her senior

    Anna's best friend moves away, leaving Anna to finish her senior year without her. However, she finds herself not only gaining the attention of the gorgeous rich twins, Jack and Lucy, but the hottest guy in school, Julian. Meanwhile, she discovers that there is a secret behind Lucy and Jack's father, one that no one wants let loose.

    I was really enjoying this story in the beginning. I mean, Anna finds herself swept off her feet by Jack and Lucy. However, I wasn't a fan of Jack at all. Sure, at first he was charming but he would pull Anna close one day and then push her away the next. After the third time, I was pretty irritated with Anna. She kept going back to him. He would dump her, find someone else and the second he showed her the time of day, she was putty in his hands. Meanwhile, Julian is always there to pick up the pieces and to tell her that he's there for her and will wait for her until she gets Jack out of her system.

    "One wouldn't give me a chance, but the other was only waiting for a chance."

    Aside from the whole back and forth relationship between Anna & Jack and Anna & Julian, Anna is also working for the school paper. She decides to do a piece on Julian and his sculptures and then later on decides to do some sleuthing when it comes to Jack's father and Julian's mother. I think at this point, I was pretty much done with Anna. She started off with such a good head on her shoulders but all of a sudden was snooping around, looking up personal records and harassing Julian's mother and Jack's father. At one point Julian's mother tells her to stop and Anna just continues to keep pushing.

    "I don't know what you're thinking, but just stop right there."
    "That's enough!"
    "You don't seem to listen."

    I think if Anna acted a little bit more mature I would've enjoyed the story so much more but at a certain point, I just couldn't excuse her behavior any longer. I still enjoyed the story but Anna has a lot of growing to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1