Customer Reviews for

Dragonfly

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is one of those books that I wish were 500 pages so I could

This is one of those books that I wish were 500 pages so I could get lost in it without having to wait months to find out what happens.

High School, the stuff nightmares are made of.

Apparently, not so much for Jr. Nancy Drew/Christiane Armanpour wanna be Anna.

After...
This is one of those books that I wish were 500 pages so I could get lost in it without having to wait months to find out what happens.

High School, the stuff nightmares are made of.

Apparently, not so much for Jr. Nancy Drew/Christiane Armanpour wanna be Anna.

After Anna's bestfriend Gabi moves to Key West Anna is left to face her senior year of high school alone. However, things definitely take a turn when suddenly she is desire of not only the hottest guy in school (Julian) but also wanted by Jack, the son of the towns richest resident.

without any spoilers Anna finds herself in quite a whirlwind of dramatics. Not only is she working this information with the best of intentions, but she is also struggling to understand her own emotions that are caught between two swoon worthy men.

Me? Personally, I'm team Julian all the way.

(im)patiently waiting on book 2.

posted by Auhmanduh on July 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not what i expected...

I read this book basically in one sitting but i became increasingly frustrated with Anna and her choices...Things just didn't come together for me in this one.

posted by SapphireNY on October 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    This is one of those books that I wish were 500 pages so I could

    This is one of those books that I wish were 500 pages so I could get lost in it without having to wait months to find out what happens.

    High School, the stuff nightmares are made of.

    Apparently, not so much for Jr. Nancy Drew/Christiane Armanpour wanna be Anna.

    After Anna's bestfriend Gabi moves to Key West Anna is left to face her senior year of high school alone. However, things definitely take a turn when suddenly she is desire of not only the hottest guy in school (Julian) but also wanted by Jack, the son of the towns richest resident.

    without any spoilers Anna finds herself in quite a whirlwind of dramatics. Not only is she working this information with the best of intentions, but she is also struggling to understand her own emotions that are caught between two swoon worthy men.

    Me? Personally, I'm team Julian all the way.

    (im)patiently waiting on book 2.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Dragonfly is not your typical YA (Young Adult) novel where it¿s

    Dragonfly is not your typical YA (Young Adult) novel where it’s all butterflies and roses. It has deep dark secrets, suspense, and even a bit of a love triangle. Just a little. Reading this reminded me why I enjoy YA. It has been months since I’ve picked one up and this was a refreshing read.

    Anna Sanders is a high school student that is feeling lonely her senior year because one of her closest friends has moved away. Her goal is to finish high school, get scholarships and go to college where she plans to major in Journalism. However, when she meets the gorgeous twin brother and sister, Jack and Lucy Kyser, her life will never be the same.

    Anna is immediately drawn to Jack, as he is to her. However, as we find out, his family has dark secrets (some unknown to him) and Jack is determined to stay away from Anna. He knows he wants her, but she deserves better. Then there is Julian. Sweet, romantic, artistic, Julian! He is completely blown away by Anna and she has a hard time seeing this. They’ve always been nothing but friends, but it becomes clearly obvious he wants her, in every non-friendly way possible.

    Don’t let the slight love triangle throw you off. I know this is a sensitive subject for some, but the author does a great job with this. Anna loves someone who pushes her away, yet she feels she isn’t deserving of the one who undeniably wants to be with her. So who’s my pick? I’m Team Julian of course!

    As we get deeper into the story, Anna discovers the Kyser family secret. This could cost her both men she truly and deeply cares about. I absolutely cannot wait for book 2. Yes, this ends on a sort of cliffhanger, but it is the kind where you cannot wait to dig into the next one. I recommend this story to anyone looking for a wonderfully written YA novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Great book!

    Love triangles uuggh, they drive me crazy HOWEVER this book was written in a way that made me understand why there was a love triangle. Especially at the age these characters were. This is exactly what first loves, infatuation and figuring out what the heart needs is all about. This is also the first book with a love triangle that I can honestly say I don't have a favorite side. It was heart wrenching, remembering back to that age and how devastating first loves can be.
    The characters are fun and easy to identify with. They all bring something to the story.

    Not really a cliff hanger but book does end with no clear resolution, for me I definitely need to read the series back to back. Thankfully #3 is out soon.

    Good book, starting on second.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Anna is about to start her senior year minus her best friend Gab

    Anna is about to start her senior year minus her best friend Gabi. As an Army brat Gabi is used to moving and starting over all the time, but Anna isn't, and after three years she is just starting to feel comfortable. She's got friends, but none like Gabi, who always managed to make every situation turn out OK.

    While sitting on the beach the day before school begins Anna meets two beautiful people, Lucy & Jack. She later learns that they are twins, and their father is Bill Kyser, one of the richest land developers on the Gulf Coast.

    Anna is befriended by the outgoing Lucy, which brings Jack and Anna together. Only Anna can't tell what their relationship is because Jack keeps swinging from hot to cold with no warnings. She wants to be strong and ignore him, but each time he comes back she just can't seem to say no to him.

    Meanwhile there is her friendship with the school hottie, Julian. He is a phenomenally talented artist she got to know while tutoring him in Algebra last year. As the year progresses Julian periodically does, or says, little things that leave Anna wondering about his true feelings for her. He has even kissed her, but though she likes him she can't shake her feelings for Jack.

    Her job on the school paper is going to help get her into a solid journalism school, so when she is offered an internship at the local paper she is over the moon. Until she is assigned to go do a basic interview of Bill Kyser, who was terribly mean to her the first time they met. She was seeing Jack at his mansion when his dad came outside, drink in hand, and proceeded to say some wildly inappropriate things to Anna. But Anna mentally squares her shoulders and goes in for the interview, which actually enough goes very smoothly.

    When Anna learns that Julian's mother was in business with Kyser and his partner a mystery is uncovered. One Anna is determined to solve - which is just who Julian's father is. She thinks she knows, but has to prove it and then get one of his parents to tell him.

    Anna's senior year teaches her a lot, and she grows up some, beginning to learn her own mind. Julian is clearly a part of that picture, though she is afraid to risk their friendship, not too mention the issue of her lingering feelings for Jack. So far Julian has patiently waited for Anna to figure out what, and who, she really wants. But will how long will he wait for her to make up her mind? And will he still feel the same way about her if he ever finds out the she secret she is now a part of? A secret she has sworn not to share with anyone?

    The story is sweet and easy to relate to, with the golden boy who keeps spinning her head, the best friend who is patiently waiting on the sidelines, and the other best friend who helps her sort it all out. Though things with Jack go on a bit too long, the last quarter of the book more than makes up for that. And though things end fairly neatly, there is still the mystery of what happened almost twenty years ago. The answer to that story and many more are sure to be found in "Undertow," book two of the 'Dragonfly Series.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    Anna starts off the year believing it is going to be terrible, b

    Anna starts off the year believing it is going to be terrible, but her life flips completely when she meets the Kyser twins, and to top it off, she finds herself in the middle of a love-triangle. Throw in a secret that could change many lives, and this read was quite exciting.

    I really liked Anna. She was a sweet girl who was still trying to find her place in the world. I really wish she hadn't fallen so quickly for Jack. And I was a little annoyed with her that she kept allowing him to lead her on.

    Lucy was another character I gravitated toward. I felt sorry for her. She seemed so out of place in her perfect world. She longed for a relationship with her father, and did some questionable things to gain his attention. I had to wonder why Mr Kyser withdrew so much from his children. There was obviously more to his story and the further I read, and as his secret was unveiled, I was left with even more questions about what had happened all those years before, as well as the circumstances behind his wife's accident.

    Now I have to give special mention to the two guys fighting for Anna's affection.

    At first Julian struck me as being a little immature but as the story developed I grew to like him more and more. He was driven and determined to succeed. Even though he had a tendency to bounce from one girl to the next without a care, it was clear that his focus was more on Anna. He never put pressure on her but he was more than willing to pick up the pieces if things didn't workout with Jack. And then there were the little things he did for Anna; from remembering her birthday to the beautiful ring. I'd love to see where their relationship goes in Undertow.

    My feelings for Jack were the total opposite from Julian. I started off really liking him, but then he became all mysterious, and his constant play at hot and cold with Anna was just frustrating. I have to commend him though for stopping things before they went too far, on more than one occasion. He obviously liked Anna, but his feelings were never as strong as her's, and he could have easily taken advantage of her. I was appalled at what happened at the party though. I think that was the turning point and from then on, no matter what Jack did, I didn't trust him or believe him. Yes, he had good reasoning for his actions, kind of, and he really didn't owe Anna anything...no scrap that...he did, in my opinion he'd led her on. His behavior was quite high on the douche-bag-o'meter by the end of the book and I was just glad Anna had finally seen the error of her ways.

    I felt a little cheated with the ending of the book but Moore has set up the second book superbly. There's no way I won't be reading Undertow, because like a carrot dangled before a donkey, so the journals given to Anna by Mr Kyser were there to taunt me, and I have to know what is in them. Therefore Undertow will be bumped to the top of my TBR list as soon as it is released next month.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Booklover

    Looks amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Nicely Done

    It was a light read, making me so happy I'm no longer in high school but this isn't the generic mean girl scrap. It is a story about a girl who loves two guys and finds out about a secret that involves them both. I do think Anna is too nosey for her own good, although her intentions are pure. I do hope she ends up with Julian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Great book!

    This was an easy read, the story line was pretty good. I did not like how it ended, but I guess thats why there is a second book that I am off to purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    I Give It 3.5 Stars

    **I was provided an ARC copy in exchange for an honest review.**

    I really liked this book I give it a 3.5. I finished it in one day. The only reason I didn't give it higher was because Anna. I can't believe this girl was so stupid, pathetic & weak. She's suppose to be this driving girl that wants to be a journalist but easily gets thrown off track by a guy. This guy was only in it for the hookups. They only spoken to each other twice then he's trying to sleep with her on the beach. She's about to lose her virginity to a guy that's virtually a stranger & they only stop because HE realizes she's underage. Smh she talks about how she loves him but I didn't see it. He broke up with him & this pathetic slut tries to sleep with him to keep him. Huh who does that? If you have to sleep with a guy to keep him why would you even want him around.

    The whole time this big dummy was making a fool out of herself over that guy she had another one that actually liked her. This guy was her friend for years. He's cute, funny & sweet. I loved him he was the only character I really liked. He showed real interest not like he was just looking for a hookup or a fling. But no Anna's dumbass wants the other guy when I never got it or the connection. Even before I felt he was just using her. I was begging him to take her virginity & then dump her. Because stupid girls like her deserve to be used & toss aside to be left heartbroken. You allowed it so stuff like that is gonna happen. Anna was begging for it to happen to her also it seemed. So stupid they need to be taught a lesson & tough love or in this case heartache is the only way to teach them. I didn't feel sorry for her at all I remember being her age & was never that dumb. I'm only 21 so 17 & 18 being a high school senior wasn't that long ago for me.

    I hated Anna she had no self-respect or self esteem. Loved the guy who actually really liked her. I actually like the guy Anna went stupid for but just didn't see the connection between them. So besides Anna its no bad thing I can think about this book. I would recommend it but be prepared to literally scream out loud at Anna telling her what a idiot she is or how can someone be so stupid.

    Its a mystery in here but I figured it out very quickly. In the next book it'll dive more into it. The history & how it all folded out. I can't wait for the next book. I just hope Anna isn't so weak, stupid, pathetic & unlikable. I would desperately like to see some growth in her but I've wrote her off already. If she was my friend I would've told her about herself, but knowing those types of girls they get mad when you tell them the truth about how their acting with boys. She turns 18 in this book so she needs to wise up before she goes to college. Because her stupidity, naivete combined with how desperate she always came off as will get her in some deep trouble at college. Oh & beware there is a cliffhanger. It ends kinda abruptly lols.

    Would I recommend it? Yes
    Would I read it again? No
    Would I read the next book in the series? Yes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1