Customer Reviews for

Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1607 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1125)

4 Star

(278)

3 Star

(117)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

WOW!!! FANTASTIC!!!

Dragonfly in Amber is a really good second chapter of the Outlander series. If you enjoyed Outlander you are sure to enjoy the continuation of Jamie and Claire's story. All of the characters from the first novel are back, with more romance and political intrigue than ev...
Dragonfly in Amber is a really good second chapter of the Outlander series. If you enjoyed Outlander you are sure to enjoy the continuation of Jamie and Claire's story. All of the characters from the first novel are back, with more romance and political intrigue than ever.

At nearly a thousand pages, this book is longer than Outlander, but generally the pacing is good and the action comes fast, so you keep reading. I did feel like the third quarter of the book dragged a little bit, but all in all I really enjoyed the read.

I would not recommend that a reader new to the Outlander series start with this book, since there is very little flashback to the first book, and you really need the background of the first book to understand what is going on in Dragonfly.

For the most part, I recommend books that don't need prior books for the background check, but this was an exception.

posted by Jessi-21 on August 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Mushy Dialogue and Excessive Use of Adverbs

I actually started this book a year ago. The fact that I am just now writing this review because I've just now finished this book is telling in and of itself. After reading Outlander and LOVING it, I set sky high expectations for the rest of the series and delved into b...
I actually started this book a year ago. The fact that I am just now writing this review because I've just now finished this book is telling in and of itself. After reading Outlander and LOVING it, I set sky high expectations for the rest of the series and delved into book 2 with lightning speed. After 500 pages of this romantic onslaught (which is only the half way point), my rocket paced enthusiasm was reduced to a mere farting noise. As so often happens when I read two books by the same author back to back, the stylistic flaws become blaringly obvious and in the case of Dragonfly, Gabaldon's honeydew dialogue and purple prose proved too much for my pallet.
To be fair, book two does pack its fair share of action, introduces a new cast of characters, and moves the landscape from the rugged highlands of Scotland to the metropolitan high life in Paris. But in spite of all this, the benefits of the story can not overcome the pitfalls of the writing. For example, after a scene where Clare and Jamie barely escape a life threatening situation by the skin of their teeth, Clare turns to Jamie and exclaims "Oh Jamie! I just want to make love to you!"
What?! That doesn't even make sense! You are almost killed, you've just gotten home, it is made expressly clear that you feel like hell and you want to make love? I mean maybe "Oh Jamie, open that whiskey I need to get drunk" or "Oh Jamie, let's call a therapist!" but not "let's make love". That's just ridiculous.
The other issue I have is with Gabaldon's apparent obsession with adverbs. There is not a SINGLE action that takes place without some descriptive word preceding it: "he handsomely ran across a field", "she tremblingly touched his glistening chest". OH MY GOD.
Will I continue with the rest of the series? Yes, because I've already bought the books. Will I enjoy them? Not likely.

posted by ReadingQueen12-17 on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1627 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 82
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great to read but amazing to listen to

    I read Diana Gabaldon's books years ago and really enjoyed them but I am absolutely loving the audio books! Davina Porter is an amazing reader...changing her voice to each character, distinguishing between an English and Scottish accent...truly fabulous!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2000

    You lose a star for being long-winded

    I did not like the way this instalment of the Outlander series began. I found the beginning of the first book to be slow. The beginning of the second book was excruciatingly slow. I did not enjoy being thrown into the future with a charactor that had been established in the first book but was still, in essence, a stranger. After the exposition in the first pages of the book I was pleased to be joining Claire and Jamie again. The author has managed to make the 1700s feel familiar. Claire and Jamie seem to come alive when they are in the story together. As I said in the headline, this author can be very longwinded. I had to stop reading and put down the book for several days because I was so bored with the explanations of the politics of Scotland and France in Seventeen-fourty-whatever. I wish she could just tell the story and not school me about political conditions in Scotland 250 years ago. By the time I got to page two hundred I couldn't remember who the Jacobites were and what they represent. After all this I still manage to give the book four stars because, again, I like the story. I just wish that it could have been chopped down by at least 100 pages.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    outstanding writer and entertaining plot

    Diana Gabaldon writing's is outstanding, and she gets better as the series moves along. Her descriptions are vivid and even the most inconsequential story details hum with life and color. She puts many more serious and award winning writers to shame. Her characters spring to life on the page . As for the story, it's always heading somewhere unpredictable. She keeps the action coming while always keeping the love story of Claire and Jamie as the centerpiece of her work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    Excellent

    I love this series. Who wouldn't want to go thru the stones for Jaime. I read all books within 3 weeks only because work got in the way! I am not sure how I am going to wait for book#9. Please hurry!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Loved the book, couldn't wait to read the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Recommend.

    Great love story. Well written. The cable series has just begun to air on STARZ network and I'm enjoying that as well. The cast is perfect. This book made me get angry, cry, shout, and swoon. It made me ask alot of questions and plead with author, Diane Gabalden, for a HEA. I know the story is already written by I'm a little nervous... surely this will end well!? The cable series helped me put faces on Jamie and Claire. Jamie is so hot! Book #3 is VOYAGER and I hear it's a good one. I highly recommend this series.

    S.A.K.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Crimson

    Waits for owl...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I devoured this entire series when it was first introduced so ma

    I devoured this entire series when it was first introduced so many years ago, waiting for each to be published with baited breath & never being disappointed. Imagine my surprise when I noticed that they were being made into a TV series. Perhaps it was time to revisit the Outlander world, but would I find I had been over zealous in my original love of the novels? This time, I purchased the first two to read on my Kindle and now I remember what the art of real story telling is all about. Read them all, in order, and immerse yourself in Claire and Jamie's world. You will be so glad that you did. Write on Ms. Gabaldon, write on. I'll be with you all the way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Historically accurate, fictional romance crossed with a little time travel

    Romance, espionage, running from red coats, strong stereotype Scottish males, the court of Louis in France, even a little wizardry...read this and #1 about to start #3.

    The way the chapters are written you can compare to a television series. You want to go on but if other things come up you can easily slip back into the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2014

    Dragonfly in Amber flashes us forward 220 years, introducing us

    Dragonfly in Amber flashes us forward 220 years, introducing us to Jamie and Claire's adult daughter, Brianna, before sending us back to pick up where Outlander left us. This second installment in the Outlander series has the same intense passion, adventure, danger, and heartache we've come to expect from Diana Gabaldon.

    Once again, this is amazingly well researched and transports the reader not only through time, but also across the Atlantic to 18th century Scotland and France as well as 1968 Scotland. About the only thing that annoyed me is the bouncing around from Claire's first person point of view to third person for various characters, and back to first again for Claire. It's an odd way to tell a story and I found it annoying, and I don't know that it was necessary to tell the story.

    Plot
    The storyline is strong and the history insanely accurate. Claire and Jamie attempt to rewrite history and stop the massacre at Culloden in 1745. Even though the reader knows what happens historically, it doesn't keep us from rooting for them to succeed anyway. The plot is intricate and layered and keeps the reader engaged, although it did sag in a few spots.

    The story jumps around from 1968 to the 1940s and back to the 1740s as Claire tells her now grown daughter, Brianna, about her real father, Jamie Fraser, and how she was conceived in 1745 Scotland. It's a tough sell, as you would expect, not something even a 1968 flower child would easily buy into. Dragonfly in Amber unfolds epically, keeping us on the edge of our seats most of the time.

    Characters
    The characters we already know and love are back for more and are as three-dimensional as ever. The new characters introduced, including Brianna and Roger, only add to the story. While I found Roger to be irritating, I don't think that was a problem. Not every character can be perfect, and he does evolve over the series, so I think it's okay that he starts off less than loveable.

    Bottom Line
    Dragonfly in Amber is an engaging, well told, and beautifully set story and it gets five out of five stars from me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Great series

    The 2nd in the Outlander series is very good but still not as good as the 1st. Why?-wish I could answer. It's great historical romance. I read the 1st four of the series back in the 1990's and am enjoying them as much now if not more than then. I'm looking forward to completing the series, and hopefully watching on Starz. I definately recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    I have been reading this series for 20 years and it never grows

    I have been reading this series for 20 years and it never grows old though I grow impatient waiting for the next book!  Claire, Jamie, and the rest of the cast come alive and feel like friends.  The style is easy to read, but not fluff - you gotta pay attention!
    Besides the history  I love the sense of family the books create and the bonds that go with them.  I can't imagine ever tiring of this series.  So excited to see the first book come to life on the screen!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Firestar

    Training grounds this is the only place humans and elves are allowed to he. U come here to train the dragons

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    I read this book immediately after finishing Outlander. So I mus

    I read this book immediately after finishing Outlander. So I must say that at the beginning of the book I felt somehow disconnected because I had got so immersed in Jamie and Claire's story that wanted it ot go on and on, no new characters for me! But then I got hooked again with the whole story and loved it enough to keep me reading all the books in the series and waiting for the next one. I love these books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    I never want to leave this series! or these people!!

    I started this series not knowing it was a series and well, now it is my life! I laugh out loud,gasp with sharp fear, close my eyes when it's just too much!! It is a grand commitment!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the second volume in the large Outlander series. Ms. Gab

    This is the second volume in the large Outlander series. Ms. Gabaldon is a genius of historical romance. Her novels take place partly in the modern era, but mostly centuries earlier in Scotland. This novel features many new characters including, Brianna, the daughter of Claire and Jamie. Fans of this great couple will be pleased with this entry in their story. There are more than a few unexpected twists, and I am eagerly beginning the third book.
    Michael Travis Jasper, Author of the Novel “To Be Chosen”

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Good sequel

    A good sequel to Outlander and a heart wrenching cliffhanger at the end...Excited to read the next installment.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Series!

    The book carries on the story begun in OUTLANDER, but begins with a brief framing story set in 1968, in which Claire Randall visits a young Oxford don named Roger MacKenzie in Inverness, in search of answers for her daughter, Brianna. Her request is unusual; she has a list of names, Jacobite soldiers who fought with Prince Charles Edward Stuart’s army, who took part in the disastrous battle at Culloden in 1746. What happened to these men, she asks, following the battle? Roger is surprised at her intensity, but intrigued at her question–and intrigued even more by her red-haired daughter. The answer to Roger’s search leads all three to an unexpected grave–and to a revelation that will turn all their lives inside-out.

    Claire tells Roger and Brianna what happened during the year before the Stuart Rising: the political intrigues, the chain of spying, betrayal, and murder that led her and her husband James Fraser from the court of Louis XV to the windswept moors of the Scottish Highlands and the blood-soaked ground of Culloden. The horrifying trap of circumstance and honor that sent her back to the future–and the present set of circumstances that have led her to her quest, and to a still more shocking revelation.

    The story begins with Claire back in her modern time with her 20 year old daughter. Both are traveling to Scotland for the first time since her husband's recent death and Claire wants to do some research on the past and re-visit some historical sites. Yet along the way, Claire begins to honestly & heart-breakingly explain her time-traveling years on how she and Jamie escaped Scotland for France. They were on a mission to change the future, but became involved deeply within the monarchy and other monumental figures. Yet, trouble eventually finds them again and they both realize that the "future" must be faced regardless of the outcome and head back to Scotland. Back in the "future future" Claire discovers more people other than herself have a direct link to the past and her daughter, Brianna, must face some harsh facts herself.

    This book is truly as complicated, elaborate, and as long as Book #1, but no where near as romantic and exciting as a budding relationship can be in the beginning phases. Claire & Jamie are past their "honeymoon stage" and are now dealing with establishing a new life within a new country with the dark details of what's to come barreling down on them. They foolishly bicker (which is adorable since they have some amazingly funny rumbles) and commit some bitter marriage faux paus, but flourish as a couple. Lots of historical figures are introduced and many interesting cultural tid-bits are thrown into the story as well. Be ready for a ride, since the reader gets two new worlds (the future and the past) to follow with fascinating characters in both.

    Likes: Claire's involvement with the monastery hospital was both intriguing and frightening.

    Dislikes: Jamie came off as a totally different person from book #1, since now he was truly the 'Jack of all trades', he became almost too unrealistic as a character. Also, I felt many of the stories themes were repeats from the first tale: whipping as punishment, rape, etc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    I love to recommend this series.

    The Outlander is my favorite series of books. Page after page, the author draws you into the lives of the characters and makes them seem real. It's hard to put them down. You'll laugh and you'll cry along with Jamie, Claire and their family and you'll be sad when the book ends. Each one leaves you longing for more. This book is an adult book and even though they are long books would make a good book club selection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Good book

    A great book but do read Outlander first. Dragonfly in amber continues your historical journey. Very well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1627 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 82