Customer Reviews for

Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1457 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1012)

4 Star

(256)

3 Star

(105)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

WOW!!! FANTASTIC!!!

Dragonfly in Amber is a really good second chapter of the Outlander series. If you enjoyed Outlander you are sure to enjoy the continuation of Jamie and Claire's story. All of the characters from the first novel are back, with more romance and political intrigue than ev...
Dragonfly in Amber is a really good second chapter of the Outlander series. If you enjoyed Outlander you are sure to enjoy the continuation of Jamie and Claire's story. All of the characters from the first novel are back, with more romance and political intrigue than ever.

At nearly a thousand pages, this book is longer than Outlander, but generally the pacing is good and the action comes fast, so you keep reading. I did feel like the third quarter of the book dragged a little bit, but all in all I really enjoyed the read.

I would not recommend that a reader new to the Outlander series start with this book, since there is very little flashback to the first book, and you really need the background of the first book to understand what is going on in Dragonfly.

For the most part, I recommend books that don't need prior books for the background check, but this was an exception.

posted by Jessi-21 on August 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Mushy Dialogue and Excessive Use of Adverbs

I actually started this book a year ago. The fact that I am just now writing this review because I've just now finished this book is telling in and of itself. After reading Outlander and LOVING it, I set sky high expectations for the rest of the series and delved into b...
I actually started this book a year ago. The fact that I am just now writing this review because I've just now finished this book is telling in and of itself. After reading Outlander and LOVING it, I set sky high expectations for the rest of the series and delved into book 2 with lightning speed. After 500 pages of this romantic onslaught (which is only the half way point), my rocket paced enthusiasm was reduced to a mere farting noise. As so often happens when I read two books by the same author back to back, the stylistic flaws become blaringly obvious and in the case of Dragonfly, Gabaldon's honeydew dialogue and purple prose proved too much for my pallet.
To be fair, book two does pack its fair share of action, introduces a new cast of characters, and moves the landscape from the rugged highlands of Scotland to the metropolitan high life in Paris. But in spite of all this, the benefits of the story can not overcome the pitfalls of the writing. For example, after a scene where Clare and Jamie barely escape a life threatening situation by the skin of their teeth, Clare turns to Jamie and exclaims "Oh Jamie! I just want to make love to you!"
What?! That doesn't even make sense! You are almost killed, you've just gotten home, it is made expressly clear that you feel like hell and you want to make love? I mean maybe "Oh Jamie, open that whiskey I need to get drunk" or "Oh Jamie, let's call a therapist!" but not "let's make love". That's just ridiculous.
The other issue I have is with Gabaldon's apparent obsession with adverbs. There is not a SINGLE action that takes place without some descriptive word preceding it: "he handsomely ran across a field", "she tremblingly touched his glistening chest". OH MY GOD.
Will I continue with the rest of the series? Yes, because I've already bought the books. Will I enjoy them? Not likely.

posted by ReadingQueen12-17 on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1477 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 74
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!! FANTASTIC!!!

    Dragonfly in Amber is a really good second chapter of the Outlander series. If you enjoyed Outlander you are sure to enjoy the continuation of Jamie and Claire's story. All of the characters from the first novel are back, with more romance and political intrigue than ever.

    At nearly a thousand pages, this book is longer than Outlander, but generally the pacing is good and the action comes fast, so you keep reading. I did feel like the third quarter of the book dragged a little bit, but all in all I really enjoyed the read.

    I would not recommend that a reader new to the Outlander series start with this book, since there is very little flashback to the first book, and you really need the background of the first book to understand what is going on in Dragonfly.

    For the most part, I recommend books that don't need prior books for the background check, but this was an exception.

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great writing never disappoints

    It's the great authors like Daina that keep me coming back for more. This is the second book in the Outlander series.<BR/>There is so much story in this book I honestly don't know where to begin...<BR/>The story starts out in 1968, Claire Randall is a doctor, her husband Frank Randall passed away two years ago. She is traveling in Scotland with her daughter Brianna. Traveling back to Inverness where she disappeared into the past twenty years ago. She returns to visit an old friend and to try to find out the fate of her other husband Jamie Fraser and his clansmen, wondering if they died with so many others on the battlefield of Culloden in 1746.<BR/>An engrossing read with lots of attention to detail, those of you who love details like I do will not be disappointed. I know that Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series is sometimes categorized as romance, I think that is an incredibly limiting label to place on a story that is so rich with history and adventure. Reading this I often found myself humming the theme to Indiana Jones. I loved the adventure, the treachery and the passionate love story between Claire and Jamie.<BR/>Gabaldon creates very vivid descriptions and very realistic characters and a wonderfully rich story. She's a talented writer and a gifted story teller and I am looking forward to reading more in this series.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mushy Dialogue and Excessive Use of Adverbs

    I actually started this book a year ago. The fact that I am just now writing this review because I've just now finished this book is telling in and of itself. After reading Outlander and LOVING it, I set sky high expectations for the rest of the series and delved into book 2 with lightning speed. After 500 pages of this romantic onslaught (which is only the half way point), my rocket paced enthusiasm was reduced to a mere farting noise. As so often happens when I read two books by the same author back to back, the stylistic flaws become blaringly obvious and in the case of Dragonfly, Gabaldon's honeydew dialogue and purple prose proved too much for my pallet.
    To be fair, book two does pack its fair share of action, introduces a new cast of characters, and moves the landscape from the rugged highlands of Scotland to the metropolitan high life in Paris. But in spite of all this, the benefits of the story can not overcome the pitfalls of the writing. For example, after a scene where Clare and Jamie barely escape a life threatening situation by the skin of their teeth, Clare turns to Jamie and exclaims "Oh Jamie! I just want to make love to you!"
    What?! That doesn't even make sense! You are almost killed, you've just gotten home, it is made expressly clear that you feel like hell and you want to make love? I mean maybe "Oh Jamie, open that whiskey I need to get drunk" or "Oh Jamie, let's call a therapist!" but not "let's make love". That's just ridiculous.
    The other issue I have is with Gabaldon's apparent obsession with adverbs. There is not a SINGLE action that takes place without some descriptive word preceding it: "he handsomely ran across a field", "she tremblingly touched his glistening chest". OH MY GOD.
    Will I continue with the rest of the series? Yes, because I've already bought the books. Will I enjoy them? Not likely.

    9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    This is a great book series!

    If you begin this series, I hope you have a lot of time. You will want to know what happens next and you won't be able to stop reading this series. It will hook you in. You will fall in love with Jamie and want to read more. This book is a continuation of the first an includes a war, a pregnancy and relationships. It is a great book series and Diana is a great author with a unique imagination. Some books are better than others but you always want to know what will happen!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    New genre of sci-fi, history, and romance

    The most enticing thing about Gabaldon's "Outlander" series is the touch of science fiction meshed with 18th century history and Scottish/European geography. Add to that just enough adult romance and I just couldn't put it down. I am not a history fan, but there was just enough history to enhance the plot, without sounding like a textbook. Having read "The Outlander" and "Dragonfly in Amber", I do wish that Gabaldon had more intricately developed the physical and emotional description of Claire. Granted, the stories were told from Claire's point of view, but the reader can almost see Jamie in the flesh, whereas there are blanks in visualizing Claire. What I didn't expect to derive from reading these books was how the absolute simplicity of daily life during this time period created a life unfettered by all the trappings of modern living. Yes, life could be brutal for Jamie and Claire, but the simplicity gave them time to focus on what was really important--their love for each other and sense of belonging to Jamie's clan. Now that I've read two of the books in the series, I'm going to go back to the first one to discover what I know I unintentionally disregarded as being critical to the story. Given the contents of these two long books, I know that re-reading them will greatly enhance my understanding of the plot and open my eyes to even more underlying drama and romance. I've already bought the third book in the series, "Voyager."

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dragon Fly in Autumn

    This is the second book of the "Outlander Series". It is as good as Outlander in my opinion....this whole series follows the two lead characters, Jamie and Claire, thru 18 century history of Scotland, adventure, battles, historical, romance, and time travel, along with new characters, Brianna, and Brian,,,,,this shows more of Claires personality, and determination to travel once again to the 18th century Scotland, and 20th century America...whatever it takes to be reunited with her soul mate and husband Jamie....Fantastic read or in my case I listen to the CD's!! The imformation you get from the storyline, is amazing.Diana Gabaldon takes you out of this world and into a facinating past....

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    This book was very hard for me to get through

    I loved Outlander and could not wait to get my hands on the next in the series, but this book I found cubersome and very slow. I feel as though the author is setting the stage for the next book. I still love the characters, but it did not grab my attention like Outlander did.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Way to Whet Your Scottish Highlands Appetite - whether or not you even knew you had an appetite for Scotch history!

    Author Diana Gabaldon has succeeded in creating a beautiful work of historical fiction of Highlander lore and the Highland battles of Scotland's history, through artful storytelling and the creation of two of the best lead characters that I have encountered. Plenty of romance, but more than that; Gabaldon has formed a strong bond of love and trust and friendship between Jamie and Claire. Time travel, mystery and intrigue, danger, Highland skirmishes, decadent French court life, strong female lead, and just a truly likable male lead character are all elements that make this a compelling read, and highly recommended. Guys will like the battles; women will just love Jamie.
    It's great to listen to the audiobooks as well, because the reader gets the Scottish brogue just right, and you can hear the Gaelic rather than just trying to read it on the page.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    WOW

    Never before has a novel brought out so much emotion. The last 150 pages were read through my tears as I was sobbing. Unbelievable-this is a must read for anyone who likes action, or romances, or history...WOW

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    It broke my heart.

    This book was wonderful and the new characters are well developed. Some of the secondary characters in Outlander developed even more in this book. I don't like to re-write the book into a synopsis and ruin the experience for someone else.

    I loved/hated the ending. Without giving much anything away:
    I loved at the end of the book with Jamie and I hated that it made me cry. I never cry reading books, but the tears were flowing reading this one.

    This series has really captured my heart. Now onto book three.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    well..

    Here we are again. These books really are intimidating and ridiculously long, but if you read Outlander you know that that doesn't matter. This book, compared to the 1st, was slow, dry, and just not as thrilling. About the first half of the book takes place in Paris, trying to convince Charles Stuart NOT to start an Highland Uprising. I didn't like the time in Paris at all. What got me into these books was Scotland, not France. It was dry and I felt like Diana really didn't know what she wanted to write about. It felt like she was dragging it along for simply the fact to make it longer. I was losing track of the relationship between Jamie and Claire, and that made me really unhappy. When they finnally return to Broch Tuarach, it starts to pick up the pace. The love is rekindled, you start to respond to the characters, and you find yourself craving the book again as you did with Outlander. And then the war starts. Although not as boring as their time in Paris, I kept getting anxious for the book to end. I enjoyed it, but not with the thrill I thought i could have if the author had brought it back to life, which she is so capable of. But, at the end, it retires with a bang. I finally found myself suspensed at what was going to happen, and breathless at the last page. Needless to say, this is a Diana Gabaldon books, and the most epic series I have evr read, so I am going to love it simply because of the love story. I will read Voyager and hope it is better.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another great addition to the Outlander story.

    While I didn't enjoy this book QUITE as much as I did Outlander, it was still an enthralling story. Yes, at times it did get a little boring in the middle but it really made up for it with the ending. I can say I did shed a few tears there. Overall this was still a great book and I can't wait to read the rest of the books in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Fabulous series!

    The Outlander series is everything you could hope for in a historical fiction series. There's suspense, mystery, romance, and adventure. Read and be captivated by the internal struggle of these two lovable characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Highly Recommend -- romance, travel, adventure -- everything!

    Diana Gabaldon is a fantastic storyteller! Read "Outlander" first and you will love the continuation in "Dragonfly in Amber". Couldn't put this book down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    even better the 4th time around

    This is such an amazing series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Hard to put down!

    I am definitely hooked on the series!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Just okay

    I loved Outlander and was excited to read the next book in the series. This book was a lot more political and predictable so I did not enjoy it as much. Predictable because you pretty much knew the outcome of the story from the start of the book. It kind of took the mystery and fun out of reading it. You knew there was going to be a battle, a famine, the actions of many and you knew that from the beginning of the story that she comes back to present time again at some point. It just sucked the fun out of of the story. I knew I had to push through and it WAS an enjoyable read, just not as good as the first book. The ending of this one does get back on track with excitement and leaves you with a cliffhanger wanting to run out and buy book #3 - which I am half way though and LOVING. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great to read but amazing to listen to

    I read Diana Gabaldon's books years ago and really enjoyed them but I am absolutely loving the audio books! Davina Porter is an amazing reader...changing her voice to each character, distinguishing between an English and Scottish accent...truly fabulous!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    Well....

    I loved Outlander but this second one wasn't what I thought it was going to be. Don't get me wrong, I love the series I have read the first three at least three times each. I didn't know until recently that there were more after Voyager but now that I do know that I am rereading them so I can continue on the rest. Keep up the good work Ms. G!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Firestar

    Training grounds this is the only place humans and elves are allowed to he. U come here to train the dragons

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1477 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 74