Customer Reviews for

Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1622 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1135)

4 Star

(281)

3 Star

(118)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

WOW!!! FANTASTIC!!!

Dragonfly in Amber is a really good second chapter of the Outlander series. If you enjoyed Outlander you are sure to enjoy the continuation of Jamie and Claire's story. All of the characters from the first novel are back, with more romance and political intrigue than ev...
Dragonfly in Amber is a really good second chapter of the Outlander series. If you enjoyed Outlander you are sure to enjoy the continuation of Jamie and Claire's story. All of the characters from the first novel are back, with more romance and political intrigue than ever.

At nearly a thousand pages, this book is longer than Outlander, but generally the pacing is good and the action comes fast, so you keep reading. I did feel like the third quarter of the book dragged a little bit, but all in all I really enjoyed the read.

I would not recommend that a reader new to the Outlander series start with this book, since there is very little flashback to the first book, and you really need the background of the first book to understand what is going on in Dragonfly.

For the most part, I recommend books that don't need prior books for the background check, but this was an exception.

posted by Jessi-21 on August 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Mushy Dialogue and Excessive Use of Adverbs

I actually started this book a year ago. The fact that I am just now writing this review because I've just now finished this book is telling in and of itself. After reading Outlander and LOVING it, I set sky high expectations for the rest of the series and delved into b...
I actually started this book a year ago. The fact that I am just now writing this review because I've just now finished this book is telling in and of itself. After reading Outlander and LOVING it, I set sky high expectations for the rest of the series and delved into book 2 with lightning speed. After 500 pages of this romantic onslaught (which is only the half way point), my rocket paced enthusiasm was reduced to a mere farting noise. As so often happens when I read two books by the same author back to back, the stylistic flaws become blaringly obvious and in the case of Dragonfly, Gabaldon's honeydew dialogue and purple prose proved too much for my pallet.
To be fair, book two does pack its fair share of action, introduces a new cast of characters, and moves the landscape from the rugged highlands of Scotland to the metropolitan high life in Paris. But in spite of all this, the benefits of the story can not overcome the pitfalls of the writing. For example, after a scene where Clare and Jamie barely escape a life threatening situation by the skin of their teeth, Clare turns to Jamie and exclaims "Oh Jamie! I just want to make love to you!"
What?! That doesn't even make sense! You are almost killed, you've just gotten home, it is made expressly clear that you feel like hell and you want to make love? I mean maybe "Oh Jamie, open that whiskey I need to get drunk" or "Oh Jamie, let's call a therapist!" but not "let's make love". That's just ridiculous.
The other issue I have is with Gabaldon's apparent obsession with adverbs. There is not a SINGLE action that takes place without some descriptive word preceding it: "he handsomely ran across a field", "she tremblingly touched his glistening chest". OH MY GOD.
Will I continue with the rest of the series? Yes, because I've already bought the books. Will I enjoy them? Not likely.

posted by ReadingQueen12-17 on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1135 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 57
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    I have been reading this series for 20 years and it never grows

    I have been reading this series for 20 years and it never grows old though I grow impatient waiting for the next book!  Claire, Jamie, and the rest of the cast come alive and feel like friends.  The style is easy to read, but not fluff - you gotta pay attention!
    Besides the history  I love the sense of family the books create and the bonds that go with them.  I can't imagine ever tiring of this series.  So excited to see the first book come to life on the screen!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Firestar

    Training grounds this is the only place humans and elves are allowed to he. U come here to train the dragons

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    I read this book immediately after finishing Outlander. So I mus

    I read this book immediately after finishing Outlander. So I must say that at the beginning of the book I felt somehow disconnected because I had got so immersed in Jamie and Claire's story that wanted it ot go on and on, no new characters for me! But then I got hooked again with the whole story and loved it enough to keep me reading all the books in the series and waiting for the next one. I love these books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    I never want to leave this series! or these people!!

    I started this series not knowing it was a series and well, now it is my life! I laugh out loud,gasp with sharp fear, close my eyes when it's just too much!! It is a grand commitment!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the second volume in the large Outlander series. Ms. Gab

    This is the second volume in the large Outlander series. Ms. Gabaldon is a genius of historical romance. Her novels take place partly in the modern era, but mostly centuries earlier in Scotland. This novel features many new characters including, Brianna, the daughter of Claire and Jamie. Fans of this great couple will be pleased with this entry in their story. There are more than a few unexpected twists, and I am eagerly beginning the third book.
    Michael Travis Jasper, Author of the Novel “To Be Chosen”

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    I love to recommend this series.

    The Outlander is my favorite series of books. Page after page, the author draws you into the lives of the characters and makes them seem real. It's hard to put them down. You'll laugh and you'll cry along with Jamie, Claire and their family and you'll be sad when the book ends. Each one leaves you longing for more. This book is an adult book and even though they are long books would make a good book club selection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Good book

    A great book but do read Outlander first. Dragonfly in amber continues your historical journey. Very well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Exciting Series of Books!!

    After finishing the first of this series I could not wait to start this, the second in Diana Gabaldon's series. The style of writing takes you into the pages so that you feel you are in the midst of this story or love and intrique. I look forward to reading this entire series of Scottish love!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Love this series!!

    My mom, sisters and niece have all read this series and have been trying to get me to read them. I finally broke down and took the time and I was hooked by page 60 of the 1st book and a little confused at the beginning of this book but naturally it made me curious, so I had to dig in and I can see why this is such a great series! There is so much history and characters and the way she describes everything it makes you feel like you are there. I want to be Claire!! Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I love this book! I am reading Voyager right now and as with the whole series I can't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    A must read

    This series is a must read. I cant wait for the next installment. This series has made me laugh and cry. I find myslf comparing all books to these.

    Meat without the fluff.

    Love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Great book - worth reading.

    I read the first book, The Outlander and could not put it down. When I was finished with it I immediately bought the second book. This book follows the first book but the author takes you to present and the past with consequences you do not expect. As you are reading this book, you cannot help but hang out with Jamie and Claire - it seems like you are there with them in every step of the way. Just like the first book, I could not put this one down. I look forward to reading the third book, Voyager!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Highly recommended #2 in Outlander Series

    Gabaldon once again draws the reader into the story of timeless love and adventure started in Outlander. The characters are so richly drawn, you need to find out what will become of their tumultuous lives, including secrets that have been kept and destinies yet to be fulfilled.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    A timeless love story - to be read and read again!

    I have read all of the Outlander Series at least 3 times. I love them all. I love the story line and can't wait for the next installment...I hope there is a next installment!! Ms. Gabaldon makes Claire and Jamie (and all the other characters) seem so real, I can see them both in my mind's eye. Everytime I read each story, I find something else I have missed in the previous readings. I am so sad each time the book ends..I want them to go on forever!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Heartbreaking Love Story

    This second book in the Outlander series broke my heart. We are again thrown into a story line filled with conflict, sex, passion, intrigue, and most of all love and romance (Claire and Jamie romance). Yet, DG concludes this book with an ending that will leave you crying your heart out and running to your nearest Barnes and Noble for the third installment. FYI: Please read with a box of tissue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    Fantastic Series!

    I started reading the Outlander series a couple months ago and have now finished the first 3 books! I can't think of anything negative to say about them. I am very impressed thus far with the author's ability to keep track of everything and ensure a smooth storyline. The books capture your imagination from the very beginning. My only regret is that I will eventually finish all of the books that have been written thus far. I am currently in grad school as well and have forced myself to not buy the 4th book because I can't put them down once I start, thus ignoring the wonderfully interesting topic of managerial accounting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This the second best book I have ever read, surpassed only by the first book in the series, Outlander.

    Diana Gabaldon continues to sharply define her main characters, Claire and Jamie, and add more to flesh out the story. Her ideas are very imaginative and creative, extremely well-written, and leaves you wanting more. The books in this series are considered romances, but there is so much history, science, medicine, murder and mayhem, and just plain good writing that many readers will be captivated and drawn into the story line despite the categorization. Settle in with a snack and a beverage and enjoy this book - it's a wild ride!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series

    I originally started this series over 20 years ago and came across 4 other books by Diana Gabaldon that added to the original series called The Outlander. She is a wonderful writer and never fails to impress me by the detail that she gives about her characters and locations of her books. What is nice about this series is that you can pick up any book and start reading and still get the feel of the previous back ground from the other books if your not able to read them in order. But be warned, you'll run right out and buy the other books, which is exactly what I did and because it had been so long I decided to start reading it all over again. Ms Gabaldon has a way of making you feel like your right there in that time period and it's extremely hard to put the books down. Many a night I stayed up late because I had to see what happened next.

    If your a history buff interested in the Highlanders and wars of Scotland, then this is a definite read. It's obvious that this writer had done a tremendous amount of research before writing her books and it shows in every page. I was excited to discover that she had continued this series, as I'm sure you will be.

    While purchasing the other books that I didn't have to this series I went ahead and bought another series by her and can't wait to dig into it when I finish the Outlander Series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My top 10 best!

    This book picks up where Outlander left off and travels from Paris and back to Scotland while Jamie and Claire keep having somewhat insane adventures in their quest to stop Charles Stuart from unmitigated disaster. The book is highly entertaining and full of twists and turns that you don't see coming. I loved the book and will definitely continue reading the Outlander series! The only thing wrong with it is that its a little hard to keep with with which character is which because there are just so many. But that's what the Outlandish Companion is good for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    Outstanding

    This has been the best journey I have taken. Diana's writing makes me feel like I am part of the book. I just don't read about the characters, I acually meet them. I laugh, I cry, I can not put this book down. At times it is long winded, but all of the details are important to the story. I really like this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1135 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 57