Customer Reviews for

Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1485 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1033)

4 Star

(260)

3 Star

(109)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

WOW!!! FANTASTIC!!!

Dragonfly in Amber is a really good second chapter of the Outlander series. If you enjoyed Outlander you are sure to enjoy the continuation of Jamie and Claire's story. All of the characters from the first novel are back, with more romance and political intrigue than ev...
Dragonfly in Amber is a really good second chapter of the Outlander series. If you enjoyed Outlander you are sure to enjoy the continuation of Jamie and Claire's story. All of the characters from the first novel are back, with more romance and political intrigue than ever.

At nearly a thousand pages, this book is longer than Outlander, but generally the pacing is good and the action comes fast, so you keep reading. I did feel like the third quarter of the book dragged a little bit, but all in all I really enjoyed the read.

I would not recommend that a reader new to the Outlander series start with this book, since there is very little flashback to the first book, and you really need the background of the first book to understand what is going on in Dragonfly.

For the most part, I recommend books that don't need prior books for the background check, but this was an exception.

posted by Jessi-21 on August 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Mushy Dialogue and Excessive Use of Adverbs

I actually started this book a year ago. The fact that I am just now writing this review because I've just now finished this book is telling in and of itself. After reading Outlander and LOVING it, I set sky high expectations for the rest of the series and delved into b...
I actually started this book a year ago. The fact that I am just now writing this review because I've just now finished this book is telling in and of itself. After reading Outlander and LOVING it, I set sky high expectations for the rest of the series and delved into book 2 with lightning speed. After 500 pages of this romantic onslaught (which is only the half way point), my rocket paced enthusiasm was reduced to a mere farting noise. As so often happens when I read two books by the same author back to back, the stylistic flaws become blaringly obvious and in the case of Dragonfly, Gabaldon's honeydew dialogue and purple prose proved too much for my pallet.
To be fair, book two does pack its fair share of action, introduces a new cast of characters, and moves the landscape from the rugged highlands of Scotland to the metropolitan high life in Paris. But in spite of all this, the benefits of the story can not overcome the pitfalls of the writing. For example, after a scene where Clare and Jamie barely escape a life threatening situation by the skin of their teeth, Clare turns to Jamie and exclaims "Oh Jamie! I just want to make love to you!"
What?! That doesn't even make sense! You are almost killed, you've just gotten home, it is made expressly clear that you feel like hell and you want to make love? I mean maybe "Oh Jamie, open that whiskey I need to get drunk" or "Oh Jamie, let's call a therapist!" but not "let's make love". That's just ridiculous.
The other issue I have is with Gabaldon's apparent obsession with adverbs. There is not a SINGLE action that takes place without some descriptive word preceding it: "he handsomely ran across a field", "she tremblingly touched his glistening chest". OH MY GOD.
Will I continue with the rest of the series? Yes, because I've already bought the books. Will I enjoy them? Not likely.

posted by ReadingQueen12-17 on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 1505 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 76
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This the second best book I have ever read, surpassed only by the first book in the series, Outlander.

    Diana Gabaldon continues to sharply define her main characters, Claire and Jamie, and add more to flesh out the story. Her ideas are very imaginative and creative, extremely well-written, and leaves you wanting more. The books in this series are considered romances, but there is so much history, science, medicine, murder and mayhem, and just plain good writing that many readers will be captivated and drawn into the story line despite the categorization. Settle in with a snack and a beverage and enjoy this book - it's a wild ride!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series

    I originally started this series over 20 years ago and came across 4 other books by Diana Gabaldon that added to the original series called The Outlander. She is a wonderful writer and never fails to impress me by the detail that she gives about her characters and locations of her books. What is nice about this series is that you can pick up any book and start reading and still get the feel of the previous back ground from the other books if your not able to read them in order. But be warned, you'll run right out and buy the other books, which is exactly what I did and because it had been so long I decided to start reading it all over again. Ms Gabaldon has a way of making you feel like your right there in that time period and it's extremely hard to put the books down. Many a night I stayed up late because I had to see what happened next.

    If your a history buff interested in the Highlanders and wars of Scotland, then this is a definite read. It's obvious that this writer had done a tremendous amount of research before writing her books and it shows in every page. I was excited to discover that she had continued this series, as I'm sure you will be.

    While purchasing the other books that I didn't have to this series I went ahead and bought another series by her and can't wait to dig into it when I finish the Outlander Series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My top 10 best!

    This book picks up where Outlander left off and travels from Paris and back to Scotland while Jamie and Claire keep having somewhat insane adventures in their quest to stop Charles Stuart from unmitigated disaster. The book is highly entertaining and full of twists and turns that you don't see coming. I loved the book and will definitely continue reading the Outlander series! The only thing wrong with it is that its a little hard to keep with with which character is which because there are just so many. But that's what the Outlandish Companion is good for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    Outstanding

    This has been the best journey I have taken. Diana's writing makes me feel like I am part of the book. I just don't read about the characters, I acually meet them. I laugh, I cry, I can not put this book down. At times it is long winded, but all of the details are important to the story. I really like this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Rough start but fantastic ending!

    After reading and loving Outlander I rushed to buy the second book in the series and was extremely disappointed at first. But I had heard so many good things about the series and was determined to finish it. The ending was well worth it. There was a lot less adventure at first and the story really wasn't that interesting. I also had trouble keeping straight some of the characters and who was a Jacobite and who wasn't. But I kept reading and it got better and better. I really didn't want it to end. You should definitely stick it out and read this book. You won't regret it. But be prepared to go and buy the third book immediately after you finish Dragonfly in Amber!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    HISTORY, romance, action, bridge to continuing saga in the lives of Jamie and Clair.

    The second book in this seris has more history than the last, but contains key sequences answering questions from Outlander, and setting up for future action.
    Claire is as strong and courageous as ever, loving her man. Jamie fights his way back to the living and continues to do what he has to to take care of and provide for family, friends, and countrymen. I fell in love with him all over again.
    Don't put this book down until the final page, and then have Voyager readily avaiable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Title of the book is captured well within the story line. While it doesn't represent the entire book it is fitting.

    The story of Jamie and Claire Fraser resumes from Gabaldon's first of the series "Outlander." At first I was taken back a bit as to where the story picks up from Outlander, but I was soon drawn into the story--rather obsessively so. That is, I discovered Dragonfly in Amber held a captivating rhythm to its storyline that makes you live with the characters. The underlying historical perspective provides an accuracy in real events that provides the "living" element to the characters. The incidental tidbits of not only history, but flora and fauna usage cleverly add the icing to this series. This story does hold a time travel element to the plot so may not be appealing to everyone, but it happens to be a favorite of mine. The story is compelling, with plenty of twists and turns that keep you on the edge of the saga. Yes, this is a very long Novel, many may be wary of tackling. I found the challenge more than worth my time and discovered that instead of staying up all night to finish a novel, it just took me several sleepless nights!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Phenomenal!

    Dragonfly in Amber is the second book in Diana Gabaldon's phenomenal "Outlander" series. At the end of Outlander, we left Claire and Jamie Fraser in an abbey in France, exiled from Scotland. At the opening of Dragonfly in Amber, we find Claire back in the highlands in 1968, investigating the fates of Jamie's men at the battle of Culloden - with her red-haired daughter Brianna: Jamie's daughter.<BR/><BR/>As the search for Jamie's men, and then Jamie himself, unfolds, Claire finds herself revealing to Brianna and their friend Roger her history with Jamie in the past - and we learn the other half of her and Jamie's adventure as they attempt to prevent the carnage they know is coming in the Jacobite rising and its culmination at Culloden.<BR/><BR/>As with Outlander, I have nothing but praise for Dragonfly. Although I did not race through Dragonfly as quickly as I did Outlander (this time it took me roughly a month to read Dragonfly's 950 pages as opposed to the week it took me to fly through Outlander's 860 pages), I still loved it. Every time I picked the book up, I could not put it down without having read at least 100 pages, if not more.<BR/><BR/>Dragonfly in Amber had me in turns gasping, laughing, and (at the end) crying. Sometimes I did all three at once. Even though I knew the battle was an inevitability - and we, as readers know this from Claire's search in Inverness from the beginning of the novel - I found myself hoping ad praying that Claire and Jamie could somehow prevent the disaster. Having been to Culloden battlefield myself, I cried at Gabaldon's description of battles and the uselessness I knew Jamie and Claire's self-appointed mission to be.<BR/><BR/>In fact, I immediately picked up the third book, Voyager, and am already 450 pages into it. Gabaldon delivers a powerful narrative, drawing the reader fully into her world: you cry with Claire, scream with rage for Jamie, and end on a hopeful note with Claire and Brianna, searching for the man whose love for them endures through the ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Historically accurate, fictional romance crossed with a little time travel

    Romance, espionage, running from red coats, strong stereotype Scottish males, the court of Louis in France, even a little wizardry...read this and #1 about to start #3.

    The way the chapters are written you can compare to a television series. You want to go on but if other things come up you can easily slip back into the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Sam

    Nods of course

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    MAP

    <p>Res 1 Map
    <p>Res 2 Dragon stalls
    <p>Res 3 Chiefs house
    <p>Res 4 Bios
    <p>Res 5 Berk village
    <p>Res 6 sadels
    <p>Res 7 Astrids house
    <p>Res 8 and on are houses

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    To Maystar

    I'd like to read your story. Do you want to enter it in my contest? ---Starrykit

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Dragons (first song in dragons album)

    We are strong and fierce and brave. Who cares what you do crave. YOU WILL NEVER CATCH US. FIRE AND ICE AND EARTH AND SKY, SEA AND SHADOW AND LIGHTNING AND LIGHT, SPACE AND VENOM AND EVEN PLANTS! Cant catch dragons. We are strong and fierce and brave. Who cares what you do crave. WE ARE FROZEN ON FIRE WITH ACID IN OUR MOUTHS! OUR ANGER BURNS RIGHT THROUGH YOUR SOUL! YA! acidic fire with chunks of fire. When the world was small and weak, we helped it grow. BUT NOW IT RUNS AS WE STRIKE PERIL! (Next song at fire res one)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Ok

    Go to res 3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2014

    Dragonfly in Amber flashes us forward 220 years, introducing us

    Dragonfly in Amber flashes us forward 220 years, introducing us to Jamie and Claire's adult daughter, Brianna, before sending us back to pick up where Outlander left us. This second installment in the Outlander series has the same intense passion, adventure, danger, and heartache we've come to expect from Diana Gabaldon.

    Once again, this is amazingly well researched and transports the reader not only through time, but also across the Atlantic to 18th century Scotland and France as well as 1968 Scotland. About the only thing that annoyed me is the bouncing around from Claire's first person point of view to third person for various characters, and back to first again for Claire. It's an odd way to tell a story and I found it annoying, and I don't know that it was necessary to tell the story.

    Plot
    The storyline is strong and the history insanely accurate. Claire and Jamie attempt to rewrite history and stop the massacre at Culloden in 1745. Even though the reader knows what happens historically, it doesn't keep us from rooting for them to succeed anyway. The plot is intricate and layered and keeps the reader engaged, although it did sag in a few spots.

    The story jumps around from 1968 to the 1940s and back to the 1740s as Claire tells her now grown daughter, Brianna, about her real father, Jamie Fraser, and how she was conceived in 1745 Scotland. It's a tough sell, as you would expect, not something even a 1968 flower child would easily buy into. Dragonfly in Amber unfolds epically, keeping us on the edge of our seats most of the time.

    Characters
    The characters we already know and love are back for more and are as three-dimensional as ever. The new characters introduced, including Brianna and Roger, only add to the story. While I found Roger to be irritating, I don't think that was a problem. Not every character can be perfect, and he does evolve over the series, so I think it's okay that he starts off less than loveable.

    Bottom Line
    Dragonfly in Amber is an engaging, well told, and beautifully set story and it gets five out of five stars from me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Stormdust

    Can you do your bio please at result one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Ann-Marie

    I'll trrrry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    tom tom

    Kisses your cheek.* Hurry back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Great book!

    I bought all of them and just finished book 2 great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    To Story

    Why haven't you posted the next part? Why?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 1505 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 76