BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dragongirl: Anne McCaffrey's Dragonriders of Pern

Average Rating 4
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

As wonderful as ever

I've been reading the Pern books almost as long as the first one was published.
Heck, I made my husband drive into Manhattan when the original B&N store was the only one in the NY City to get one of Ms MaCaffery's new books in hardcover as soon as it was released. (He...
I've been reading the Pern books almost as long as the first one was published.
Heck, I made my husband drive into Manhattan when the original B&N store was the only one in the NY City to get one of Ms MaCaffery's new books in hardcover as soon as it was released. (He told me I was nuts)
I am so pleased to find the Pern series will continue with her son Todd.
I loved this new 'chapter' in his Pern world as much as I enjoy his mother's Pern.
I do hope to read more amd soon.
Actually I can recommend all the Pern books. They are wonderful for adults and a wonderful series for teens.

posted by Moly on July 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Avoid like, well, the plague.

As yet another reviewer who has lived in the world of Pern for years, I desperately wanted to like each and every book written by Todd. I slogged through his previous books, and while I didn't love them, they were a tolerable addition to the series. However, this book w...
As yet another reviewer who has lived in the world of Pern for years, I desperately wanted to like each and every book written by Todd. I slogged through his previous books, and while I didn't love them, they were a tolerable addition to the series. However, this book was so unbearably bad that I only made it about four-fifths of the way through before I finally threw in the towel.

As others have mentioned, the writing and characterization is abysmal. I found multiple outright errors that any editor should have caught immediately. And the scenes were so repetitive that I'm sure I skimmed a good third of the book.

What bothered me the most, however, was the complete apathy the riders seemed to have for their dragons. The best part of Pern has always been the rider/dragon bond. Here, Todd has riders offering to sacrifice their dragons for the sake of their lover, or to just give them away to make someone else feel better. Really? In the previous books, most can't even survive the loss of their dragon, but now they're treated like an old pickup you loan out to a friend over the weekend. Horrifying.

And while I'm about as sexually open-minded as they come, the pedophilic bed-hopping creeped out even me. I can't imagine there are that many women around who don't mind trading men like baseball cards. And wasn't Terin something like twelve years old when she started sleeping with that bronze rider? I felt violated and disturbed just reading about it.

I hope, for the sake of the series, that Todd just gives up on this whole experiment and finds something else to do with his free time. Thanks to him, Pern will never be the same for me, and I don't mean that in a good way.

posted by JennGauthier on November 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Avoid like, well, the plague.

    As yet another reviewer who has lived in the world of Pern for years, I desperately wanted to like each and every book written by Todd. I slogged through his previous books, and while I didn't love them, they were a tolerable addition to the series. However, this book was so unbearably bad that I only made it about four-fifths of the way through before I finally threw in the towel.

    As others have mentioned, the writing and characterization is abysmal. I found multiple outright errors that any editor should have caught immediately. And the scenes were so repetitive that I'm sure I skimmed a good third of the book.

    What bothered me the most, however, was the complete apathy the riders seemed to have for their dragons. The best part of Pern has always been the rider/dragon bond. Here, Todd has riders offering to sacrifice their dragons for the sake of their lover, or to just give them away to make someone else feel better. Really? In the previous books, most can't even survive the loss of their dragon, but now they're treated like an old pickup you loan out to a friend over the weekend. Horrifying.

    And while I'm about as sexually open-minded as they come, the pedophilic bed-hopping creeped out even me. I can't imagine there are that many women around who don't mind trading men like baseball cards. And wasn't Terin something like twelve years old when she started sleeping with that bronze rider? I felt violated and disturbed just reading about it.

    I hope, for the sake of the series, that Todd just gives up on this whole experiment and finds something else to do with his free time. Thanks to him, Pern will never be the same for me, and I don't mean that in a good way.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Awful - if you love Pern skip this book

    I've read every Pern book written by Anne McCaffrey, most more than once, and was hoping to be transported back to that magical world in Todd's latest book. What I got instead was a book describing a world I didn't recognize and filled with characters I either didn't care about or just plain disliked. Disliked so much I couldn't finish the book. Gone is the splendor that was Pern. Gone is the imagery, storytelling and character development that were the trademarks of the books written by his mother. In their place we get tedious, repetitive dialog, poor storytelling and a world no one cares about. Fully half the book is filled with knowing glances, unspoken desires and playful jibes. Todd tries so hard to flesh out his characters but they end up coming off as immature, petty, whiny and just plain uninteresting if not downright annoying . To top it off the main story line isn't even that interesting. It might be passable for a single book but certainly not a trilogy. Hopefully, if Tood decides to continue with the Pern books, he'll get away from all the 'wink wink nudge nudge' that filled this book and return to what made his mother's books so loved. A world where the imagery was so clear you could just close your eyes and picture the dragons is flight. Picture the activity in the Holds and Weyrs. A world where you cared about each of the characters and couldn't wait until the next book was released to see what became of them.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    A sad tribute to a great series

    I really, really wanted to like Todd McCaffrey's work, but he gets progressively worse with each attempt. Painfully dry, the characterization is flat, the story predictable, the plot tiresome and the writing, at its best, is horrible. Though I have long loved the wonders of Pern, Mr, McCaffrey is doing the legend no favors.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Least favorite of Todd's contributions

    My least favorite book from Todd's contributions. I love the Pern Dragon Books by Anne McCaffrey. I wanted to love the newer ones by her son Todd. I am not as impressed with his writing or story telling style. Dragonblood was the best of his works. However, Dragongirl is a major disappointment all around. This book focused on the sexual encounters of a young girl who, though 'billed' as giving, kind and loving everyone, I found to be rather self centered, looking to fill her own desires, and having a serious drive for sexual gratification. On top of this, I've recommended the Pern Series to a teen reader's club. What are they going to think of my future promotions after they read this book?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    As wonderful as ever

    I've been reading the Pern books almost as long as the first one was published.
    Heck, I made my husband drive into Manhattan when the original B&N store was the only one in the NY City to get one of Ms MaCaffery's new books in hardcover as soon as it was released. (He told me I was nuts)
    I am so pleased to find the Pern series will continue with her son Todd.
    I loved this new 'chapter' in his Pern world as much as I enjoy his mother's Pern.
    I do hope to read more amd soon.
    Actually I can recommend all the Pern books. They are wonderful for adults and a wonderful series for teens.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Not at all the same quality writing as his mother

    Way too much time losing dragons. Compared to his mother's books, all his characters are incompetent fighters of thread. Total losers. Where is the beauty of all the people pulling together? It's all Fiona with no other character really fully developed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but...

    Maybe I am getting just too old for this series. I loved the first part of this book but by the last part I felt lost among unfamiliar mames and references to things I could not remember having read about before. Maybe I have missed a book along the way? I don't know..

    The Pern series of books were the first SF/fantasy books I read.. starting at least 25 years ago or so... I have loved them forever it seems but I now I am wondering if I can keep up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Anne should be very proud as to where her son is taken her world!!!!

    Todd has continued the development of the characters he introduced in Dragonkin and Dragonblood. The cure for the illness is found but how will the Dragons of Pern due what they were created for when their numbers have been reduced to such a low level. It is a great book and I cannot wait til the final book he is writing in this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Like meeting old friends

    This book continues the story of Fiona, T'Mar, Lorana & Kindan and their fight to save the dragons. I couldn't put it down the first 200 pages flew by then it slowed a bit. This is a sad book the Weyrs don't have enough dragons to fly thread so there are a lot of injuries and deaths in this book , one that almost made me cry (No Spoilers).
    There is a lot of drama and action Fiona is one amazing weyrwoman she fights to keep the moral up when some just think everything is lost. Which this book seems to say at times. I hope this story arc is not the end of the Pern series. The blurb at the end says that Anne will be writing the next book with Todd to join him in the final drama of his tale of Pern. I sure hope that it's just this storyline and not all of Pern that is ending!
    I really enjoyed this book it was like going back to see old friends you have missed. These characters are well written fully fleshed out. I just did not like the cliffhanger ending but if that is the worst thing I can say about it then I would say I loved it!
    4 ½ Stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    Fan review

    I bought the book on Friday evening and finished it over the weekend. I love the series and recommend all of them. I like how the son has taken another section in the history of Pern and explained what happened. He has a slightly different style than Mom but still very readable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Haters gonna hate

    They need to put the next book in the series cause i had to look up so much stuff 4 this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Always enjoy McCaffrey Anne and Todd

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    To gmachoochoo49

    Look up "Dragonriders of Pern" on Wikipedia for a chronological list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Another great book by this writer.

    Great read. You feel like you are in Pern.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    one of the greatest !!!!

    I loved the book,great read, sad at the end but over all GREAT !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    My pern

    Any Pern book is my book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really wish that I could know the sequence of the series!!!

    I really wish that I could know the sequence of the series!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Pern lives

    I love all of the Pern books.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    As always the McCaffrey's put out the most wonderful story.

    I have been reading about Pern for decades so my bias is so strong tht I could not but love and admire another chapter. I am way beyond caring if there are flaws or quirks in the plot or the writing. I just want them to stay around until someone can figure out how to get me a firelizard

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Very good.

    I liked the part where they were helping the weyrleader recover from his fall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8