Customer Reviews for

Dragongirl: Anne McCaffrey's Dragonriders of Pern

Average Rating 4
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

As wonderful as ever

I've been reading the Pern books almost as long as the first one was published.
Heck, I made my husband drive into Manhattan when the original B&N store was the only one in the NY City to get one of Ms MaCaffery's new books in hardcover as soon as it was released. (He...
I've been reading the Pern books almost as long as the first one was published.
Heck, I made my husband drive into Manhattan when the original B&N store was the only one in the NY City to get one of Ms MaCaffery's new books in hardcover as soon as it was released. (He told me I was nuts)
I am so pleased to find the Pern series will continue with her son Todd.
I loved this new 'chapter' in his Pern world as much as I enjoy his mother's Pern.
I do hope to read more amd soon.
Actually I can recommend all the Pern books. They are wonderful for adults and a wonderful series for teens.

posted by Moly on July 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Avoid like, well, the plague.

As yet another reviewer who has lived in the world of Pern for years, I desperately wanted to like each and every book written by Todd. I slogged through his previous books, and while I didn't love them, they were a tolerable addition to the series. However, this book w...
As yet another reviewer who has lived in the world of Pern for years, I desperately wanted to like each and every book written by Todd. I slogged through his previous books, and while I didn't love them, they were a tolerable addition to the series. However, this book was so unbearably bad that I only made it about four-fifths of the way through before I finally threw in the towel.

As others have mentioned, the writing and characterization is abysmal. I found multiple outright errors that any editor should have caught immediately. And the scenes were so repetitive that I'm sure I skimmed a good third of the book.

What bothered me the most, however, was the complete apathy the riders seemed to have for their dragons. The best part of Pern has always been the rider/dragon bond. Here, Todd has riders offering to sacrifice their dragons for the sake of their lover, or to just give them away to make someone else feel better. Really? In the previous books, most can't even survive the loss of their dragon, but now they're treated like an old pickup you loan out to a friend over the weekend. Horrifying.

And while I'm about as sexually open-minded as they come, the pedophilic bed-hopping creeped out even me. I can't imagine there are that many women around who don't mind trading men like baseball cards. And wasn't Terin something like twelve years old when she started sleeping with that bronze rider? I felt violated and disturbed just reading about it.

I hope, for the sake of the series, that Todd just gives up on this whole experiment and finds something else to do with his free time. Thanks to him, Pern will never be the same for me, and I don't mean that in a good way.

posted by JennGauthier on November 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Avoid like, well, the plague.

    As yet another reviewer who has lived in the world of Pern for years, I desperately wanted to like each and every book written by Todd. I slogged through his previous books, and while I didn't love them, they were a tolerable addition to the series. However, this book was so unbearably bad that I only made it about four-fifths of the way through before I finally threw in the towel.

    As others have mentioned, the writing and characterization is abysmal. I found multiple outright errors that any editor should have caught immediately. And the scenes were so repetitive that I'm sure I skimmed a good third of the book.

    What bothered me the most, however, was the complete apathy the riders seemed to have for their dragons. The best part of Pern has always been the rider/dragon bond. Here, Todd has riders offering to sacrifice their dragons for the sake of their lover, or to just give them away to make someone else feel better. Really? In the previous books, most can't even survive the loss of their dragon, but now they're treated like an old pickup you loan out to a friend over the weekend. Horrifying.

    And while I'm about as sexually open-minded as they come, the pedophilic bed-hopping creeped out even me. I can't imagine there are that many women around who don't mind trading men like baseball cards. And wasn't Terin something like twelve years old when she started sleeping with that bronze rider? I felt violated and disturbed just reading about it.

    I hope, for the sake of the series, that Todd just gives up on this whole experiment and finds something else to do with his free time. Thanks to him, Pern will never be the same for me, and I don't mean that in a good way.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Awful - if you love Pern skip this book

    I've read every Pern book written by Anne McCaffrey, most more than once, and was hoping to be transported back to that magical world in Todd's latest book. What I got instead was a book describing a world I didn't recognize and filled with characters I either didn't care about or just plain disliked. Disliked so much I couldn't finish the book. Gone is the splendor that was Pern. Gone is the imagery, storytelling and character development that were the trademarks of the books written by his mother. In their place we get tedious, repetitive dialog, poor storytelling and a world no one cares about. Fully half the book is filled with knowing glances, unspoken desires and playful jibes. Todd tries so hard to flesh out his characters but they end up coming off as immature, petty, whiny and just plain uninteresting if not downright annoying . To top it off the main story line isn't even that interesting. It might be passable for a single book but certainly not a trilogy. Hopefully, if Tood decides to continue with the Pern books, he'll get away from all the 'wink wink nudge nudge' that filled this book and return to what made his mother's books so loved. A world where the imagery was so clear you could just close your eyes and picture the dragons is flight. Picture the activity in the Holds and Weyrs. A world where you cared about each of the characters and couldn't wait until the next book was released to see what became of them.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    A sad tribute to a great series

    I really, really wanted to like Todd McCaffrey's work, but he gets progressively worse with each attempt. Painfully dry, the characterization is flat, the story predictable, the plot tiresome and the writing, at its best, is horrible. Though I have long loved the wonders of Pern, Mr, McCaffrey is doing the legend no favors.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Least favorite of Todd's contributions

    My least favorite book from Todd's contributions. I love the Pern Dragon Books by Anne McCaffrey. I wanted to love the newer ones by her son Todd. I am not as impressed with his writing or story telling style. Dragonblood was the best of his works. However, Dragongirl is a major disappointment all around. This book focused on the sexual encounters of a young girl who, though 'billed' as giving, kind and loving everyone, I found to be rather self centered, looking to fill her own desires, and having a serious drive for sexual gratification. On top of this, I've recommended the Pern Series to a teen reader's club. What are they going to think of my future promotions after they read this book?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Not at all the same quality writing as his mother

    Way too much time losing dragons. Compared to his mother's books, all his characters are incompetent fighters of thread. Total losers. Where is the beauty of all the people pulling together? It's all Fiona with no other character really fully developed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Skip this one

    I've always been a huge fan of the dragonrider series. But, polygamy? Really? Sorry - can't stomach this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1