Customer Reviews for

Dragonheart: Anne McCaffrey's Dragonriders of Pern

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent story

I love the Dragons of Pern stories and I loved this story also. Was sorry to reach the end... Todd McCaffrey does as wonderful a job creating the story and taking you away to Pern as his mother does.. I can tell the difference in their storytelling/writing, but both are...
I love the Dragons of Pern stories and I loved this story also. Was sorry to reach the end... Todd McCaffrey does as wonderful a job creating the story and taking you away to Pern as his mother does.. I can tell the difference in their storytelling/writing, but both are excellent. I look forward to more stories about Pern.

posted by EffieTX on May 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sad to see a sell out.

As a HUGE Pern fan this book was a let down. I LOVED the characters and even the writing wasn't bad. I think Todd is doing a pretty good job, especially with such large shoes to fill. However, the being said, I think that no matter how good a story STARTS it should r...
As a HUGE Pern fan this book was a let down. I LOVED the characters and even the writing wasn't bad. I think Todd is doing a pretty good job, especially with such large shoes to fill. However, the being said, I think that no matter how good a story STARTS it should really have some sort of a conclusion/ending/something - and this did not. I was very upset to find that there was no conclusion to ANY of the main storylines and am assuming that readers are expected to cough up an additional $20+ for the next book that will complete this storyline. I find it sad that Todd has already sold out and is letting fans of The McCaffrey's down.

posted by AliciaS20 on November 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Sad to see a sell out.

    As a HUGE Pern fan this book was a let down. I LOVED the characters and even the writing wasn't bad. I think Todd is doing a pretty good job, especially with such large shoes to fill. However, the being said, I think that no matter how good a story STARTS it should really have some sort of a conclusion/ending/something - and this did not. I was very upset to find that there was no conclusion to ANY of the main storylines and am assuming that readers are expected to cough up an additional $20+ for the next book that will complete this storyline. I find it sad that Todd has already sold out and is letting fans of The McCaffrey's down.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent story

    I love the Dragons of Pern stories and I loved this story also. Was sorry to reach the end... Todd McCaffrey does as wonderful a job creating the story and taking you away to Pern as his mother does.. I can tell the difference in their storytelling/writing, but both are excellent. I look forward to more stories about Pern.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Could be Better

    I've read all of Anne McCaffrey's books. And the first one she did with her son, Todd. Unfortunately, this book, I felt, got wrapped up in a lot of very small details. But even that would have been fine.....if there had been an ending!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    If You Love Pern Books.....

    I stayed up all night to finish the newest book in the Pern saga. Extremely well written, the story flows from present to past in a very satisfying manner. The characters are all very believable and the trials and tribulations are very real. The ending leaves me with the hope that there will be a "sequel" to the story of Fiona and T'mar.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    Filling big shoes

    I loved all of the Pern books by Anne McCaffrey. Todd has certainly filled her shoes, and I'm so glad the Pern books keep coming! Very enjoyable, hard to put down book! But I do agree with the reviewer that said we should have had a "completion" of some kind. It's obvious this was a book to get us to the next book, and Anne McCaffrey had her series, but never left us hanging in this way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Another good one.

    I liked the part where Kindan was almost remembered for burning the old records.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Great Read

    Love the story and love the way it is written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Loved it

    I love all the dragonrider books and find I like Todd's writing almost as much as Anne's.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    following in his mother's footsteps!

    just read the sample, put the whole book on wish list. lovely to retern to pern.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    recomend to all who wants to read an emotional book.

    cried and laughed cold not put this wonderful book down.just ordered 2 more in this series and will order all.i have been reading dragon riders of pern since 1978 and thier is no better book for the imagination than the dragon riders of pern so gladthat annes son took over he follows the story perfectly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Todd does a Great job!

    Following in his mother's footsteps could be a daunting task; however, Todd is more than capable of picking up the Dragonrider's story! This book is a great addition to the Dragonriders of Pern series and a page turner. All of the adults in my house are into the Pern series and have been vying for the "next" person to read this book. The characters and writing are vivid and enthralling, drawing the reader into the Weyr from the first pages and holding their attention to the final page. Great introduction provided readers a background on the Pern story. Could not put it down and immediately read it a second time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Every Bit as Good as one of Anne's Stories

    Every Bit as Good as one of Anne's Stories

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Very dissapointing

    I am a great fan of the Pern series and have enjoyed Todd McCaffrey's other contributions to it, but this one fell flat. Weak characters, uninteresting plot that seemed to be an expansion on a side plot from another book. It could have been done in 3 or 4 chapters. Also, the children saving the day was way too much sillyness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A nice installment to the Pern series.

    I really enjoyed this latest book from Todd McCaffrey. I think he is doing a good job in keeping the Pern legacy going. His writing style is getting better with each installment. The only negative that comes to mind is I didn't care for the fact that he seemed to be borrowing from Moreta's Story. The ending was a bit abrupt as well. I look forward to seeing if Todd McCaffrey writes a follow-up to this story so the reader knows how it truly ends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    Hail to the new Master Harper, Todd!

    I am a devoted fan of Anne McCaffrey's Dragonriders of Pern series. I have every book and have loved them all! Todd McCaffrey is an accomplished storyteller and I'm thankful for another torchbearer to keep this enthralling series alive. His gift for characterization is well-demonstrated in newly unforgettable characters like Fiona, T'mar, Cisca, Nuella and Mother Karina. The newest Queen, Talenth is by turns, adorable and challenging. I see her as one of the more unforgettable queens in the series. I am anxiously awaiting the inevitable sequel to this wonderfully creative tale. I was sad to see it end especially when I still have so many questions! There's so much more I want to know about this current group of dragonriders and dragons and their time on Pern during the Third Pass. Be quick, Master Harper!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    As a long-time fan of Anne McCaffrey's Dragonrider series, I am delighted to find that Todd has the same voice and a terrific knowledge of the world of Pern. He is a most able successor to her. I am delighted to know that I will be reading about the world of Pern for years to come.

    For anyone not familiar with the world of Pern, I would recommend that they find a cronological listing of the books about the dragonriders and get them in sequence from the library. You can read them in any order, but many things make more sense when read in the proper sequence. ENJOY -I have most of the books in the series and I revisit them frequently

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    In Great Pernese Style

    I really enjoyed this book. I have read all the Pern stories and this one certainly measured up. Todd McCaffrey is simply taking off, given a whole other generation of Pernese to enjoy. I can't wait to see if the mystery is solved in his next novel. Way to Go, Todd!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    entertaining Pern fantasy

    On the planet Pern, Fort Hold Lord Holder Bemin and his daughter Fiona sit in the audience observing the young candidates trying to impress the newborn dragons. However everyone is stunned when Talenth leaves the staging area to enter the audience as that has never occurred before. The dragon chooses Fiona as his future rider in the fight against thread which periodically falls, destroying organic matter. --- However, due to a Plague, the dragon-rider teams are way below the battle strength numbers needed to win. Thread is coming soon while the pandemic infection is killing the dragons. At Fort Weyr a mysterious weyrwoman convinces Fiona to take the injured into the past so they can heal and spend years training before returning to the present to fight thread. Heeding the advice, Fiona takes them back one decade to Iser Weyr so they can heal and train under the tutelage of experience dragon riders with the goal to come home to fight thread. ---- Continuing the tradition of his mother, the great Anne McCaffrey, Todd McCaffrey provides an exciting Pern thriller (his second ¿ see DRAGONSBLOOD) starring a feisty female who will remind the audience of Lessa (see DRAGONFLIGHT). However the enjoyment is in watching how a weyr functions especially insightful is the class distinctions between Traders and Riders, etc. Talenth like all fledgling dragons owns the book as he innocently charms his rider and readers. DRAGONHEART is an entertaining Pern fantasy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    Another winner for McCaffrey

    This was a very enjoyable book. Extremely well thought out. I can tell by the way the time plot jumps forward and back and all the different viewpoints of the individual characters. One day I will sit down with all the books in this plotline and completely understand it and enjoy myself. Thanks Todd for carrying on with the Dragons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    great

    loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5