Customer Reviews for

Dragonlance - Dragons of the Hourglass Mage (Lost Chronicles #3)

Average Rating 4
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best by Weis and Hickman yet!

    This book settles the questions about the life of Raistlin Majere. It is the best book by Weis and Hickman to date!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Book to End the Legacy...

    Reading this book was bittersweet for me. On the one hand, I wanted to read it every evening, while at the same time was dreading approaching the end after turning each page. Weis & Hickman do not disappoint in telling what happened to Raistlin after escaping what was thought as certain death on the ship, the Perechon, caught in the Maelstrom. Raistlin's travels were worthwhile to follow and didn't have trouble keeping up. If anything, it makes you want to go back and reread Dragons of Spring Dawning to see if everything is "woven" together as good as how Weis and Hickman compose in Hourglass Mage. Whether that was the intent or not, it makes you wanting more....somehow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good, considering last year's drama.

    While I did not QUITE find this book up to the standards presented by the other Raistlin-centric novels (some sections still read rather painfully like passages from the playbook) it was pretty decent and certainly draws one in and the writing smooths out despite the occasional bump or strange diversion. Definitely shows how far these two have come since they began writing the series!
    Overall, I enjoyed this conclusion to Raistlin's story and it certainly leaves JUST enough ambiguity leading into the life as Master of Past and Present that I was forced to think long and hard about this character who as been my number one favorite since I was about 11 years old (wow, 10 years!). I can promise that those who have so looked forward to this book's publication that it won't disappoint you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    Meh

    I didn't really care for this whole series of books. I feel like Weis and Hickman lost their edge that made other Dragonlance books MUCH better. I feel like the Dark edges of the characters were watered down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Another great Dragonlance novel

    I just finished reading and im sad to say that I'm done with this trilogy. I love these novels and wish they could go on forever! Im only slightly disappointed that the last few chapterd weren't fleshed out a bit more, but it's only a minor complaint! Thank you Margaret and Tracy for years of entertainment!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Loved it!

    Great like most of the Dragonlance books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    Im so excited for this book!

    Im so excited for this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    More...

    This book is for people that have fallen in Love with the characters and world of Dragonlance. It gives more insight and stories to the life of Raistlin Majere. And if you know who he is you should really get this book...it is GREAT!!! Now for people thinking of starting to read Dragonlance, this is not it. Start with the Original Trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book out of The Lost Chronicles

    This book is all about Raistlin and adds some interesting new twists to what exactly his relationship was to Fistandantilus. Most of the story takes place in Neraka with Raistlin planning plots and counterplots to all the different factions currently in the city. The rest of the companions do make small appearances plus Lord Soth and Slith have small roles as well. If your a Dragonlance fan and have enjoyed the other Lost Chronicles books you'll love this one.
    You can still enjoy the book without doing so but I would recommend reading Soulforge first before this one and to a lesser extent Heroes and Fools.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    Update

    They have settled the matter and the book will be authentic.

    http://www.dragonlanceforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16451

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2008

    Awesome

    I am excited to read this book.I have read all their work and I have not once been dissapointed.I cant wait to read more about one of the best characters ever created.I hope that more books like these continue to be written.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7