Customer Reviews for

Dragonriders of Pern: Dragonflight, Dragonquest, The White Dragon

Average Rating 4.5
( 361 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(255)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

typos distracting

Anne McCaffrey is one of my favorite authors and I return to her characters often as if to visit old friends. Despite the typos on nearly every page, I thoroughly enjoyed this latest visit with Pern.

posted by 3461219 on April 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Great story but don't buy this 3-book edition.

I bought and read Dragonflight and was hooked on the series, so thought I would buy this 3-book edition for the next 2 books in the series. There are so many typos in the Nook edition of this book, that the story is almost unreadable. Lines are missing from the bottom...
I bought and read Dragonflight and was hooked on the series, so thought I would buy this 3-book edition for the next 2 books in the series. There are so many typos in the Nook edition of this book, that the story is almost unreadable. Lines are missing from the bottom of many pages, so when you turn the page, you feel lost as though you missed something. I flip back and forth trying to figure out if I missed a page and then realize that half a sentence is missing. I can't help but wonder if more than a line is missing here and there.
Great series. Great books. But I wouldn't buy this one for the Nook again.

posted by ak_wrx on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Good premise but poor execution

    I read these in grade school (around 4th or 5th grade), which, without giving too much away, was a good while ago. As a young girl, the sexual and political aspects of the books were well over my head, but what did I care: dragons were cool! I'm a college student now, and those subtleties are not lost on me anymore.

    I'll give McCaffrey some credit in the originality department; eusocial dragons are quite unique. The telepathic link between rider and dragon is also very appealing (not that it's terribly original). However, that's where my approval ends...

    McCaffrey, whether it's from time or personal beliefs, created a series of pseudo-strong female leads. Lessa is cruel and manipulative at times, most of her interactions involve her falling into a domestic role: pouring klah (whatever the hell that is. Seriosuly, McCaffrey, tell us what it is, not just the name), clearing the table of dishes, etc. Kylara is just as manipulative, but possesses a sexual nature that is shown to be negative. In this world, it's fine for the men to enjoy a lot of sex, but the women cannot.

    Lessa's defiance is admirable enough, but not redeeming. There's also the sexual problems: F'lar states that it is akin to rape, but brushes his actions off because he's good in bed (essentially: male privilege. He's the Weyrleader, she's Weyrwoman, he can do what he wants because he's good at it). I can ignore, begrudgingly, the "dragon decides, rider complies" aspect of the dragons mating, but F'lar's actions go beyond that. In addition, he is shown to shake and slap Lessa to calm her or silence her. I brushed past the first "shake" that Lessa experienced as she was talking quickly, shown to be excited. F'lar grasps her shoulders and from what I understood, gives her a light shake while expressing his excitement. I didn't feel this was too bad, as it is a very common action in general used to punctuate moments of excitement. However, Lessa does show fear that he will shake her. It's treated as if it's normal and she needs to put up with it. Not something she should be getting away from.

    Then there's Jaxom, who actually does force himself on his girlfriend.

    Let's not ignore the gender roles and gay rights issues here either. Lessa is only there because the golden queens only impress heterosexual females. Ergo: heterosexual females are only fit for leadership positions. Bronzes, the breeding males (usually), only impress heterosexual males. As we know, the rider of the dragon that knocks up the queen gets to be the "Weyrleader. Thus: heterosexuals are the only ones fit to lead. Despite the queen being the dragon with all the power, she's breeding stock, nothing more. It pretends to give women authority, but quickly snatches it away and transfers it to the men.

    On the technical aspect side: Dragonflight had the poorest writing I've seen in a while: not enough description where it counts and too much where it doesn't; flowery prose; underdeveloped plotline. Good, I get that Lessa has long hair and a skinny frame and is somehow quite pretty, but what on earth do the dragons look like? Their descriptions were given to the reader in pieces with phrases like "wedged shape head" on one page and then "split tail" ten pages later. This gets better in Dragonquest and The White Dragon (only marginally).

    I've rambled a bit, I think. In short: psychic alien dragons are awesome, the limiting gender roles and p

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    excellent writer, poor author (at least for this trilogy)

    the characters in the book are well written and believable. though the story is kinda hard to get into. the idea of fighting things without sentience really doesn't work for me. what got me through the first two books in the trilogy was the authors writing ability and interplay between the characters.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Ok

    An ok series. A very novel concept but the writing is not great. I enjoyed it as a teen but expect more now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2015

    One of the most creative sc fi writers now put aside

    For special effects. Many writers have gone on to copy her various worlds her list of books is not complete here many series forgotten and out of print and now over shadowed by those who have borrowed freely

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    I wont be a hater

    I wont be a hater but it was hard for me to read.i only got the sample to try this series out but i dont think it is for me.way too much detail for my liking.if you try this book out i recommend you get the sample first, just to make sure.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Good enogh

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    I never read this book but i was tempted to. However I named my favorite stuffed animal Jaxom which i got from the book can anyone tell me what he was in the book because i forget.I think its a dragonrider,

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2