Customer Reviews for

Dragon's Bait

Average Rating 4.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of my Personal Favorite Stories!

I originally borrowed this book from the library a couple of years ago, and really liked it. In fact, I read ALL of Vivian Vande Velde's stories after Dragon's Bait.

Anyway, just a couple of monthes ago, I decided to re-read Dragon's Bait just because I missed the b...
I originally borrowed this book from the library a couple of years ago, and really liked it. In fact, I read ALL of Vivian Vande Velde's stories after Dragon's Bait.

Anyway, just a couple of monthes ago, I decided to re-read Dragon's Bait just because I missed the book. Anyway, when I was finished reading it again, I my love for the book was renewed because of its originality, it characters, and the moral message of it. It is a wonderful story that definitely deserves more praise.

posted by Night_Owl92 on May 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

good

the book was pretty good but needs to be longer.

posted by Anonymous on March 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    One of my Personal Favorite Stories!

    I originally borrowed this book from the library a couple of years ago, and really liked it. In fact, I read ALL of Vivian Vande Velde's stories after Dragon's Bait.

    Anyway, just a couple of monthes ago, I decided to re-read Dragon's Bait just because I missed the book. Anyway, when I was finished reading it again, I my love for the book was renewed because of its originality, it characters, and the moral message of it. It is a wonderful story that definitely deserves more praise.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    A Constant Classic

    Dragon's Bait has been one of my favorite stories. Every once in a while I take it out to reread it again and every time I enjoy it. Most people doubt that it's possible to write a good book in less than 300 pages. And usually I would agree, but this book is an exception. Dragon's Bait is a well-written, fast paced and unusual book, with an extraordinary plot, brilliant characters, and superlative creativity. The characters, rather than being strictly good and bad, are shades of gray. It avoids most, if not all, of the fantasy clich¿s I can think of and throws some subjects for thought in as well. If that isn't good enough for you, it has a strong-minded and realistic heroine who, as far as I know, isn't blonde. The dragon is a very cool character, and you have to guess throughout the entire book just who's side he's on. So, to end the review, I will say that I'd recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy books, dragons, or just a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    good

    the book was pretty good but needs to be longer.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The only problem with this book...

    ...it's over too quick. A really fast, fun, romantic read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Dark and Fun

    Anyone who likes a strong, believable female protagonist will love this story. Alys has determination, wit and the gall to take on a brooding, hansome creature. A story with a lesson I could not put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Quick Read

    I love how the book is a quick read, yet is filled with excitement.
    Although I over hyped myself with this book, I still think it is a well-written book.
    The characters are well-developed, and a good laugh.
    The plot in itself is in a span of four days, but when you read, it doesn't feel that way, since the plot is stretched out to seem like it was all in a day or two.
    Despite that, the characters are fun to read about, and in the end, you wish there was another book, to see how it went for the two main characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2000

    Medieval novel

    I think think this book is a great book based on the medieval times. A young girl named Alys was falsly accused of wichcraft and is tied to a stake at the top of a hill for a midnight snack for a dragon.Unsuspectedly the dragon named Selendrile transformed into a handsome teenage boy.With Selendriles help Alys trys to get revenge to the townspeople who tied her up,but Selendrile take the show away from Alys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    My favorite book!

    Absolutely love this book. I love rereading this book on my spare time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Great

    This has always been one of my favorite books. I do wish that there was more characterization, particularly for the dragon. Even by the end you don't really know his motivations or his relationship with the protagonist although that could have been intentional since he is supposed to feel alien. Other than that it is a great read. I love revenge tales, particularly ones featuring female characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Read

    Has anyone else noticed how short the overview is?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Best book!

    This book was and still is my favorite book sense high school! Awesome read for kids and adults. A mustvread along with her other great works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Personally I love this book. It does have a few 'flaws',for lack

    Personally I love this book. It does have a few 'flaws',for lack of a better word, though. The ending kinda screams sequel although Velde has said she won't write one; and only Alys is really fleshed out as Selendrile doesn't show to much of his personality, and we only really see the bad nature of the other characters like Gower. It's a short story and despite any criticsims it's without a doubt one of my favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Short and Amazing!

    I do wish this story was longer or had a second book, but none the less this book was amazing and totally worth buying. I just finished reading it and loved it so much that I am going to re-read it!!! You will love the characters, the story and can easily finish this in a day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    how many pages is it?

    I have not read this book yet

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    When a dragon becomes an allie what happens?

    Alys the tinsmith's daughter is accused of witchcraft by a greedy neighbor's family and is convicted by a greedy/corrupt clergyman and left as a tribute/offering for a dragon. Selendrile the dragon is capable of taking on other forms and speaking the language of that form so when he takes on human form and offers to help Alys get revenge the trouble really starts. There is the start of romance it seems between Alys and Selendrile as they learn that revenge is not all it's cracked up to be and as they learn to trust one another. Love the humor and the resourcefullness of Selendrile!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    Dragon's Bait

    I loved it! It is short, true, but it is so entertaining! I loved the fact that the dragon was a good character this time, and i liked the ending very much... It is an amazing book, really.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2008

    One of the best books I have ever read.

    This book, although short, was one of the greatest reads ever. I have read many books in my short 13-year life, and this is one that I read over and over again. The character's personalities and the setting draw you in quick, and the plot keeps you reading. 3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    Read this book if you like disappointment.

    This book was very misleading from it's description. It begins terrible and the revenge that is building during the entire books NEVER plays out. No romance occurs, not even a decent friendship between the main character and her new found companion. There is no substance to this book, only description of surroundings, not characters. I hoped for a decent ending, but it never happened. I wouldn't suggest this book for anyone unless you like disappointing books.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    That was like the shortest book in the wor d but it was sooooo good!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    A Good Quick Read!

    I thought this book was a really good story. It's one of those books that you can read really quick if you don't have the time to get into a real long story line. But you really want to read something. It had a very interesting story line.That keeps you attention. The only thing is that I wish they had a follow up to this book. I would have like to see what happens to the characters I've come to know by reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6