Customer Reviews for

Dragon's Breath (The Tales of the Frog Princess Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Dragon's Breath by E.D Baker

Dragon's Breath is the second of the frog princess series. It is about a girl named Ella who is both a princess and a witch in training. The story starts out when a prince asks Ella for her hand in marriage, and she declines. But the prince doesn't give up there. he goe...
Dragon's Breath is the second of the frog princess series. It is about a girl named Ella who is both a princess and a witch in training. The story starts out when a prince asks Ella for her hand in marriage, and she declines. But the prince doesn't give up there. he goes to war with Ella's kingdom to try to make her give in. While this is all going on, Ella's grandmother turns Hayward (Ella's Aunt Grassinas' fiancé) into an otter and sends him far away. Ella's aunt goes looking for him and because she's the green witch, she has to defend the kingdom when bad things happen. While Grassina is away the king and his army are left to defend themselves from the opposing army. Ella is also away getting the ingredients to change Hayward back into a human. Ella goes under the sea, to a dragon Olympics, and to a magic market to find hair from the mother of Pearl, breath from a green dragon and the skins of magic beans (which are currently out of season).Once Ella gets all of the ingredients she rushes as fast as she can to the kingdom. but is it too late? Once Ella gets back to the kingdom she finds that the battle is already happening but, at least Grassina found Hayward! As quickly as possible Ella gives Grassina the potion and goes off to help her father in the battle. Once Grassina gives Hayward the potion he turns back into a human but something goes terribly wrong! All of a sudden... I will let you read the book to find out. There are many positives of the book including that it was very funny and suspenseful. Also, it was very intriguing and interesting! Another positive is that, the main character was a young girl who does magic which is very interesting. And finally, the last positive was that the book was an adventure and you could not possibly put down the book. Even though this book was amazing, there were still some negatives. In Dragon's Breath one of the negatives was that there were too many things happening at one time. Another negative was that there were lot of different settings and it was hard to keep up. Finally the last negative was that there were many characters which made it some-what confusing. E.D. Baker -the author of Dragon's Breath- is a very creative and distinctive writer. The writing style of E.D. Baker in the story is magical and exciting! Also the book is written in first person, and has longer sentences compared to short. Next, the writing style of the author is only semiformal but speaks with dialect. And finally the writing style of the author in this book is that she uses sensory details for example "the steam rising from the eggs wafted toward my nose drifting past Li'l. Smells good." I recommend this book completely to girls ages 9 and up! Also to girls who are just looking for a good book to read. And finally to people who like princesses, magic and witches. Some books that are similar to Dragon's Breath are The Frog Prince, Once Upon a Curse, No Place for Magic, The Salamander Spell and the Harry Potter series. Overall, Dragon's Breath, by E.D. Baker is an amazing novel about a princess and what happens when your grandmother is a former queen and is now a mean old witch.

posted by 1324144 on May 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

dragon breath

i liked this book because it had a nice story. But i think the auther could of used more bescription and explain who was talking and were the setting was.

posted by 6558948 on March 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    Dragon's Breath by E.D Baker

    Dragon's Breath is the second of the frog princess series. It is about a girl named Ella who is both a princess and a witch in training. The story starts out when a prince asks Ella for her hand in marriage, and she declines. But the prince doesn't give up there. he goes to war with Ella's kingdom to try to make her give in. While this is all going on, Ella's grandmother turns Hayward (Ella's Aunt Grassinas' fiancé) into an otter and sends him far away. Ella's aunt goes looking for him and because she's the green witch, she has to defend the kingdom when bad things happen. While Grassina is away the king and his army are left to defend themselves from the opposing army. Ella is also away getting the ingredients to change Hayward back into a human. Ella goes under the sea, to a dragon Olympics, and to a magic market to find hair from the mother of Pearl, breath from a green dragon and the skins of magic beans (which are currently out of season).Once Ella gets all of the ingredients she rushes as fast as she can to the kingdom. but is it too late? Once Ella gets back to the kingdom she finds that the battle is already happening but, at least Grassina found Hayward! As quickly as possible Ella gives Grassina the potion and goes off to help her father in the battle. Once Grassina gives Hayward the potion he turns back into a human but something goes terribly wrong! All of a sudden... I will let you read the book to find out. There are many positives of the book including that it was very funny and suspenseful. Also, it was very intriguing and interesting! Another positive is that, the main character was a young girl who does magic which is very interesting. And finally, the last positive was that the book was an adventure and you could not possibly put down the book. Even though this book was amazing, there were still some negatives. In Dragon's Breath one of the negatives was that there were too many things happening at one time. Another negative was that there were lot of different settings and it was hard to keep up. Finally the last negative was that there were many characters which made it some-what confusing. E.D. Baker -the author of Dragon's Breath- is a very creative and distinctive writer. The writing style of E.D. Baker in the story is magical and exciting! Also the book is written in first person, and has longer sentences compared to short. Next, the writing style of the author is only semiformal but speaks with dialect. And finally the writing style of the author in this book is that she uses sensory details for example "the steam rising from the eggs wafted toward my nose drifting past Li'l. Smells good." I recommend this book completely to girls ages 9 and up! Also to girls who are just looking for a good book to read. And finally to people who like princesses, magic and witches. Some books that are similar to Dragon's Breath are The Frog Prince, Once Upon a Curse, No Place for Magic, The Salamander Spell and the Harry Potter series. Overall, Dragon's Breath, by E.D. Baker is an amazing novel about a princess and what happens when your grandmother is a former queen and is now a mean old witch.

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    The frig princess 2

    The book was awesome! Oh and by the way whoever wrote ella as the name of the princess its EMMA! But most of all READ the BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2004

    Dragons Breath Rocks!

    I thought that this book was very interesting and fun to read. I read the Frog Princess and could not wait to see the rest of the book. In a few words, This Book Rocked!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    dragon breath

    i liked this book because it had a nice story. But i think the auther could of used more bescription and explain who was talking and were the setting was.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2004

    how great I think dragons breath is

    Dragons Breath is awsome!It is very very magical.I love reading about dragons, mermaids,witches,wizerds, giants,and ghosts.it's realy exciting!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Telephone to Yoshimacie

    WHAT DOES THE FOX SAY? The white wolf has the egg. the early bird gets the worm. The demon dog hunts no man. Ditch dat dog!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Loved it !!!!

    It was so good!!!!!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Best Book in the WORLD

    This is so awesome so u should read it. So much adventure is in it!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    dragons breath tot. Awesi O Dragons breath tot. Awesome!!!!!

    Best most beath taking /adventureous novel ever

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Read this book!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    ABBA ZOO

    GOOD SERIES.VERY FUNNY.KEEPS YOUR INTREST.I GAVE IT 5 STARS.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Dragons Breath

    I stayed to late reading it. I got trouble for that. It was so hard to stop reading it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    It is really good

    I dont hav it on my nook but i think it is asom u shud by it

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Help!

    I am confused about the seires. I love the books, but which comes 1st 2nd 3rd and so on.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Awesome

    Great book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Fun children's book

    We've been reading the series to our five year old. She loves it. We don't know what we'll do when the series ends or becomes too serious for her.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Great

    Amazing , fun and full of amaganation

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Why its good

    I only read the samppel of it and i cant wait to get all of it!lm 8and a leve 10 reader so it only took me about 1 min' to do / read it!!!!!!†!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Amazing

    This book is amazing!!!!!!!"

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Cool

    Cool

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6