Customer Reviews for

Dragon's Breath

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Dragon's Breath - A breath of fresh fantasy!

If you are an epic fantasy adventure lover, Dragon's Breath is a must read book. Not only is the style pleasantly simple yet delightfully eloquent, it is quite unique in its' genre. This is definitely an adult book, with exceptionally well-developed characters that enjo...
If you are an epic fantasy adventure lover, Dragon's Breath is a must read book. Not only is the style pleasantly simple yet delightfully eloquent, it is quite unique in its' genre. This is definitely an adult book, with exceptionally well-developed characters that enjoy intriguing, complex, and intimate relationships, which I found very refreshing and exciting. The story evolves around the effects of the evildoings of a very malignant dragon in a world where humans, elves, and dwarves exist in a parallel universe. As foretold by "the Prophecy", the Elves will have to do everything in their magical powers to prevent the total destruction and annihilation of the world. To that end they will have no choice but to reunite with the humans and dwarves, and to make things worse, their races have not coexisted peacefully for eons. The writer manages with very few words, particularly through lively dialogues, to create amazingly vivid images in our heads of these worlds and their inhabitants, yet always leaving plenty of space for our own imagination. It has all the richness, speed and humor it needs to make it a very enjoyable book. This is a fabulous debut of a writer I look forward to reading a lot more from in the future. Personally, I can barely wait for the sequel!

posted by Fantasychild on March 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Don't hold your breath

While the title seemed rather pedestrian, and possibly nothing more than a potent lure for trusting adventure seekers like myself, I took a risk and decided to expand my fantasy appreciation scope by picking up a copy of what I hoped would be a book for grown ups based ...
While the title seemed rather pedestrian, and possibly nothing more than a potent lure for trusting adventure seekers like myself, I took a risk and decided to expand my fantasy appreciation scope by picking up a copy of what I hoped would be a book for grown ups based on these overly generous reviews. Instead of an erotic adventure, I found a disappointing mixture of C grade Saturday morning cartoons and a juvenile preocupation for coarse descriptions of naked elves. The editing is so poor and the story line so flaccid, had it been a movie I'd have walked out. Requests for a sequel?? Did you read the first one??

posted by 1299147 on May 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Dragon's Breath - A breath of fresh fantasy!

    If you are an epic fantasy adventure lover, Dragon's Breath is a must read book. Not only is the style pleasantly simple yet delightfully eloquent, it is quite unique in its' genre. This is definitely an adult book, with exceptionally well-developed characters that enjoy intriguing, complex, and intimate relationships, which I found very refreshing and exciting. The story evolves around the effects of the evildoings of a very malignant dragon in a world where humans, elves, and dwarves exist in a parallel universe. As foretold by "the Prophecy", the Elves will have to do everything in their magical powers to prevent the total destruction and annihilation of the world. To that end they will have no choice but to reunite with the humans and dwarves, and to make things worse, their races have not coexisted peacefully for eons. The writer manages with very few words, particularly through lively dialogues, to create amazingly vivid images in our heads of these worlds and their inhabitants, yet always leaving plenty of space for our own imagination. It has all the richness, speed and humor it needs to make it a very enjoyable book. This is a fabulous debut of a writer I look forward to reading a lot more from in the future. Personally, I can barely wait for the sequel!

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Well very surprising.

    This was a gift from my friend who stumbled across this book because she was looking for something about dragons for her daughter.Good that she checked first, because her girl is not quite old enough for some of the content, but it does not say tht on the cover at all! My friend is not a fan of fantasy herself so she gave it to me, and I am so glad that she did! This story is very exciting! There are lots of great characters and the plot is very original, Which you can;t say for many others. The dragon is scary as hell. There is lots of drama and action and huge fight scenes. Really something for all fantasy lovers. I loved the humor. some of the dialogues had me reading out loud to my husband! I read the book in one weekend and was sad when I finished it, because you want to read more and find out what happens next. And I didn't mind the sex in it one bit as it was very erotic and sexy and different as well. I think only the prudes would mind, so they better not read it then.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very exciting fun book to read

    Admittedly I don't read all that many fantasy adventures, though Robert Jordan was (and still is) one of them. So when a friend told me to read this one, I was a little hesitant, seeing it was from a new author and someone not particularly well known. But I must say, I am delighted and pleased that I did. I will agree that there are some obvious typos that were obviously missed as stated by a couple of the other readers here. But I disagree strongly in that this truly was an exciting, and very easy to read novel. It was filled with lots of excitement, amazing dialogue, humor, not to mention some very fun exciting intimacy. A lot different than what I was expecting to find to be sure. I would strong recommend it to anyone who enjoys an adventure as this promises to be one of epic proportions. Glad I found this author and am already looking forward to reading the next book in the series!

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2009

    Don't hold your breath

    While the title seemed rather pedestrian, and possibly nothing more than a potent lure for trusting adventure seekers like myself, I took a risk and decided to expand my fantasy appreciation scope by picking up a copy of what I hoped would be a book for grown ups based on these overly generous reviews. Instead of an erotic adventure, I found a disappointing mixture of C grade Saturday morning cartoons and a juvenile preocupation for coarse descriptions of naked elves. The editing is so poor and the story line so flaccid, had it been a movie I'd have walked out. Requests for a sequel?? Did you read the first one??

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Incredible adventure

    I have been an avid fantasy reader for a number of years. Because of that I simply stumbled on to this amazing book looking for something new to read. Having read the comments posted by others, I was led to try it, and boy was I glad I ever did! This story was amazing and held me spellbound throughout. I was delighted by the somewhat different writing style of most. It was simple, easy and fast paced. I honestly couldn't put this book down. Mr Lee has woven an intricate story filled with very believable characters. There is yes intimacy and raw sexual interaction between many of the characters. I loved how this was done however, erotic yes, but not over the top. I found it to be very much in the same vein as George R R Martin in his lusty style of writing. But Mr. Lee added a sense of humor during many of these encounters that had me laughing out loud. (I actually did so at work and had to put the book down because I was being looked at). For anyone who loves fantasy, Dragons (especially a really evil bad-assed one) you need to read this book! I was sad when it ended, I wanted so much to see where this was all going and look forward to the continuation of this adventure. Hats off to Mr. Lee for creating a new epic adventure!

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    Amazing story

    I just finished reading this. Couldn't put it down. Am a big fan of fantasy, especially anything having to do with Dragons and the like. This one had it all. Plus a few major surprises. It's certainly not for the immature, but the intimacy as portrayed was sensual, well done and far beyond anything else I have read in fantasy works. Well done. I am SO looking forward to reading Dragon's Breath book II whenever it comes out.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    Good bedtime read

    This is an all around good book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    Great Book!

    I just got the book this weekend, and I thought it was great. It is obvious that this writer understands what the reader likes and he catered his writing style to meet that need. Very exciting and a fast read, I would recommend it even for the hard core fantasy reader!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    Interesting adventure

    I almost didn't get this, now I am glad I did. I agree it has some re-editing that needs be done, but as far as the story goes, I thought it was extremely fun and entertaining. I loved the characters and the humor throughout the story. I wasn't sure about some of the intimacy as portrayed, certainly not for the immature. But the adventure itself was face paced, easy to read and kept me turning the pages. Perhaps this book isn't for purists, but I felt it was an interesting portrayal of life's struggles pitted against what appears to be a very evil dragon and his minions. I would recommend this book for someone looking for something out of the norm to read and enjoy. Again, rework some of the typos, they were the only minor distraction. Other than that, I truly enjoyed it.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    Horrible just plain horrible

    This book was very disappointing to say the least. I have been reading fantasy for nearly 45 years and this book was a far cry from anything of value in this realm. A weak story line and spotty charter creation is a constant theme and the editing was just pathetic. Clearly there is influence by many other authors as this work seemed to be an abomination of many other truly terrific stories I have read. I must admit that I could not even bring myself to finish this as I struggled getting through each page. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    Bought a stack of interesting looking books online for a long business trip, including this one. Read it in one go on the flight back from Sydney, didn't even sleep, I couldn't put it down. The dialogues are awesome, and at times I laughed so loud I was getting annoyed looks from the other passengers. The flight attendant came to see what was so funny, and I let her read some of it. She said she'd buy it when she got home, too! Would have let her have it, but I'm one of those weirdos who reads a book more than once if it's worthwhile, and this one certainly is. It was in fact better than some of the books I got from more established writers! It's funny, fast paced, easy to read, erotic, thrilling, and did I say funny? The humor reminds me of Eoin Colfer, the sex of GRR Martin. I would recommend it to anyone, fantasy lover or not. Let the fact that it's about elves not scare you off. These are very real characters, that capture and hold your attention throughout the story. Just a small note for the writer, find a better editor next time to take out a few minor errors. Nothing to deter from a great job well done, keep writing, I can't wait for the sequel!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hear hear!

    Nice to hear someone else voice my opinion. Let's get real here, if you don't like a book, fine, we all have different tastes, but to give it a 1, anonymously? Come on!!! Jealous of a good new face on the fantasy block? Me, I loved this book from the somewhat slow start (a lot needs to be explained) to the fast paced epic ending, and personally can't wait to see how this fun story continues. How anyone can give this book a negative review is beyond me. Seriously! The characters are very well developed and believable. The tale unfolded itself magically and masterfully. I dig the humor, the fast pace, the sexy elves, the whole nine yards. Nine bloody hells, I'd sign up for a debut like this in a heartbeat!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A little response to weird negative anonymous comments

    It really irritates me, to see people anonymously bash books and authors on this site. It is nasty, rude, and disrespectful, to say the least. Everyone is entitled to voice their opinions, and not everyone will like this book. That's the way it should be, but, could you at least be constructive in your criticism instead of just blurting out some verbal vomit?! There, I've said my piece. I am one of the majority here, who thoroughly enjoyed this book. The dialogues are fast, brilliant and funny, the characters strong and interesting, the sexual encounters intimate and steamy, the pace incredible, and the plot creative and nicely quirky. I have read fantasy since I was a kid, and in my opinion, all fantasy books tend to have things in common; it is almost impossible not to have overlaps (even the big authors suffer from that problem) but I found this story more than different and unique enough to keep me spellbound until the last page. The bonding ceremony was simply breathtaking! I am very much looking forward to the sequel. To the author I would like to say: "Dear Mr. Lee, do learn from the negative reviews, but concentrate on and be proud of all the fantastic and enthusiastic things said about your first book. You did an amazing job! I suggest you find a better editor, for all the purists out there, but keep up the good work and please don't make us wait too long for the sequel! Thank you for a great read. Good luck!"

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful story!

    This is not really my favorite genre (although I am fascinated with dragons), but my niece insisted I read this book, and despite my usual aversion to anything "elvish", I have to admit I was totally reeled in by this story. It has nothing of the airy-fairy elves I feared! Easy to read and fast paced, I finished this book in two nights and couldn't put it down towards the end (in bed, which my wife did not appreciate all that much! However, she is now reading it herself, and I had to cook dinner when I came home from work last night because she completely forgot!). Great characters, interesting plots, vivid sex and naughty imps, fiery action, history, mystery and magic - it's all there. Realistically, I probably should have given it 4 stars because of the somewhat poor editing, but I figured that it is not so much the writer, but rather the publisher and editor who deserve a slap on the wrist for that! I would like to add that I am quite in awe of the picture on the cover. Fantastic artwork! This is certainly an interesting debut, Mr. Lee! I do hope you will soon produce a sequel, because my wife and I have a bet on what will happen next!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Fantasy

    Bought this book at the store, cause the cover and the authors picture appealed to me. Not much information on the story itself, but I thought what the heck. Good to trust my gut cause I totally loved it. Have not enjoyed a story this much for a long time, laughing out loud at times, biting my nails as drama and action unfolded. The characters and dialogues are totally wacky, just my kinda humor, and the sex is hot! I get the comments about the editing, but just put that out of your head for a minute and just read the book for what it is: a awesome first book of a new author on the fantasy horizon. Kudos Mr. Lee for your creative imagination and fast fun writing style. When's the next book due?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    A Magnificent Surprise

    Dragon's Breath was loaned to me by a family member of Rick Lee. I was hesitant at first to read it because I thought that the opinion of the book presented to me was overly biased because of the close relationship to the author. Although. I started reading it and found it to be a brilliant book that was so filled with fantasy and intrigue that all my daily stresses seemed to vanish.
    I wish there was more out there written by this author. I need it for my daily escape fix!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    Great little read

    Good read, very surprised by this new writer, well done

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1