Customer Reviews for

Dragon's Keep

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Carrie Spellman for TeensReadToo.com

Rosalind's fate was written in the stars, read by Merlin, some 600 years before she was born. A direct descendant of the Pendragon line, her ancestor, Evaine, was the younger sister of King Arthur. Evaine married an outlaw and was banished to Wilde Island and erased fro...
Rosalind's fate was written in the stars, read by Merlin, some 600 years before she was born. A direct descendant of the Pendragon line, her ancestor, Evaine, was the younger sister of King Arthur. Evaine married an outlaw and was banished to Wilde Island and erased from family history, setting Rosalind's destiny in motion. Three things are said of the twenty-first queen of Wilde Island; "She shall redeem the name Pendragon. End war with the wave of her hand. And restore the glory of Wilde Island."

Rosalind knows the prophecy well. She has been groomed for it her entire life. The way her mother sees it, England is in the midst of a civil war and Rosalind will marry Prince Henry, future king of England, thereby fulfilling all aspects of the prophecy. There are just a few problems. Having never met the Prince, what if he and Rosalind don't get along? Not that the Queen of England has officially contacted them yet, though it is assumed she is aware of the prophecy. With the recent dragon attacks on Wilde Island their military force is depleted, and may not be much help to England. Oh, and there's the little matter of Rosalind's ring finger. Instead of a finger it's a dragon's claw. So far she and her mother have hidden it behind golden gloves, but that won't work when Rosie is married. They MUST find a cure soon. A cure that is made harder to find due to the fact that the healers are never told what the exact problem is. Things are beginning to look bleak.

When an envoy from England comes to visit Wilde Island, things may be looking up a little. Especially since they've managed to slay the dragon that has been harassing the Island forever. It doesn't hurt that the one who killed the dragon is a handsome boy around Rosalind's age. At least in Rosalind's opinion, but her mother might not see it the same. Not that it's a concern for long. What should be one of the most triumphant moments in their history turns horrifying when the dragon's mate returns to punish the people, and takes a special interest in Rosalind. Before long, Rosalind's life will never be the same, and it doesn't look like the prophecy could ever possibly be fulfilled.

There is so much more to this book than I can tell you here! So many more levels and layers to the story. If I tried to fit it all in it would not only ruin the story, but end up nearly as long as the book! The relationships between the characters are so multi-leveled and very realistic. Rosalind may be a Princess with a dragon's claw in a faraway time and place, but her relationship with her mother is something you could see in anyone's life. Her desire to be normal and accepted are the same things everyone experiences as a teenager. So while the circumstances aren't something we experience every day, the people in them, and their reactions to them, are completely realistic and easy to relate to.

Part fairy tale, part mythology, part legend, all around fantastic! Read it! You'll be glad you did.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

As deadly George RR Martin...

I liked the book, choppy and misbegotten beginning and all. However, she was as fatal to her characters as Martin. Don't become attached to anyone and you'll like this story just fine.

posted by 5300356 on October 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Carrie Spellman for TeensReadToo.com

    Rosalind's fate was written in the stars, read by Merlin, some 600 years before she was born. A direct descendant of the Pendragon line, her ancestor, Evaine, was the younger sister of King Arthur. Evaine married an outlaw and was banished to Wilde Island and erased from family history, setting Rosalind's destiny in motion. Three things are said of the twenty-first queen of Wilde Island; "She shall redeem the name Pendragon. End war with the wave of her hand. And restore the glory of Wilde Island." <BR/><BR/>Rosalind knows the prophecy well. She has been groomed for it her entire life. The way her mother sees it, England is in the midst of a civil war and Rosalind will marry Prince Henry, future king of England, thereby fulfilling all aspects of the prophecy. There are just a few problems. Having never met the Prince, what if he and Rosalind don't get along? Not that the Queen of England has officially contacted them yet, though it is assumed she is aware of the prophecy. With the recent dragon attacks on Wilde Island their military force is depleted, and may not be much help to England. Oh, and there's the little matter of Rosalind's ring finger. Instead of a finger it's a dragon's claw. So far she and her mother have hidden it behind golden gloves, but that won't work when Rosie is married. They MUST find a cure soon. A cure that is made harder to find due to the fact that the healers are never told what the exact problem is. Things are beginning to look bleak. <BR/><BR/>When an envoy from England comes to visit Wilde Island, things may be looking up a little. Especially since they've managed to slay the dragon that has been harassing the Island forever. It doesn't hurt that the one who killed the dragon is a handsome boy around Rosalind's age. At least in Rosalind's opinion, but her mother might not see it the same. Not that it's a concern for long. What should be one of the most triumphant moments in their history turns horrifying when the dragon's mate returns to punish the people, and takes a special interest in Rosalind. Before long, Rosalind's life will never be the same, and it doesn't look like the prophecy could ever possibly be fulfilled. <BR/><BR/>There is so much more to this book than I can tell you here! So many more levels and layers to the story. If I tried to fit it all in it would not only ruin the story, but end up nearly as long as the book! The relationships between the characters are so multi-leveled and very realistic. Rosalind may be a Princess with a dragon's claw in a faraway time and place, but her relationship with her mother is something you could see in anyone's life. Her desire to be normal and accepted are the same things everyone experiences as a teenager. So while the circumstances aren't something we experience every day, the people in them, and their reactions to them, are completely realistic and easy to relate to. <BR/><BR/>Part fairy tale, part mythology, part legend, all around fantastic! Read it! You'll be glad you did.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Gf

    Is prince bion in it?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    As deadly George RR Martin...

    I liked the book, choppy and misbegotten beginning and all. However, she was as fatal to her characters as Martin. Don't become attached to anyone and you'll like this story just fine.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Amazing

    I had to read it for a reading compitition and I found it surprisingly very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Awesome

    The book was amazing!!!!!But there were alot of sad parts. However the good and happy parts out numerbed the sad and upseting parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Good book but...........

    I loved this book, it was really good and easy to feel like you where there. But, there was a lot of people and animals who died. At the end, i counted at lest 11 people or animals who where close to the main characters dead. Also, the very end was a little hurried. The rest of the book great because of it's detail bit the end, well, the end let that detailed book down. It's just pretty easy to see that the author had to rush the end to finish the book. It was a wonderful book and you feel for the main character, but if this book is more geared for girls then the author could have made the book a best seller without all tye people dead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Anonymous

    Amazing! Words cannot be put into detail on how well this book is. I have read it twice. Its so enthralling and makes me want to be Rosellin, caring for some of the last dragon kind while slaving away for the sake of the lives of her loved ones. I recomend this book to any one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    this book blew me away with the detail and i absoluetly loved it

    this book blew me away with the detail and i absoluetly loved it. i havent read the second book and i cant wait to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    From what i read

    From qwhat i read the book is amazing. Perfect for ambitious young readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Books recommended for you by me

    I recently read the book Dragons Keep by Janet Lee Carey and i have to say that it was an amazing book and you wont waste any money when buying it!!!!!! The book was so good that it took me two days to read because i couldnt put it down and i loved turning every page!!! I think thag Janet Lee Carey deserves a huge round of appluase!!!!!!!! Please report back to me when you have finished reading the book. The way you can let me know that the review is from someone who read mine is to title the headline for the review is: Brfybm1. Thx for reading!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Really good

    I am so glad that the heroine is not some damsel is distress. She is smart and capable. The ending for me is a bit rushed, i hope there will be a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Rosalind is a bright, young, beautiful girl with a bright future

    Rosalind is a bright, young, beautiful girl with a bright future ahead of her. Her prophecy is destined to redeem the Pendragon family after her ancestor, Evaine, was banished and erased from the family history once she married and outlaw. Rosiland&rsquo;s parents have groomed her in order for her to fulfill this prophecy since she was born, and she is also destined to marry the Prince of England, whom she has never met. However, an obstacle has been encountered. On her ring finger, there lies the finger of a dragon which she has had since birth. Only her mother knows about this, and they both wear gloves to conceal it from everyone. A cure for this must be found in order for her to marry the prince.
    What&rsquo;s not so much help are the dragon attacks that have been happening recently, delaying the process to find a cure. Even once that dragon is slain, it&rsquo;s friend turns to attack Rosiland as well, putting not only her life in danger, but the chances that the prophecy will be fulfilled is also becoming less and less likely. The question doesn&rsquo;t become if she can ever bring the Pendragon family back to high honors, but if she can survive.
    I recommend this book to teens ages 15-20 for the fact that the old language can be hard to interpret and any age older than around 20, the book can seem childish due to the fantasy aspect of it.
    Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    this book was annoying. I give props to the author for keeping i

    this book was annoying. I give props to the author for keeping it medieval in both language and terminology, but other than that it was just weird.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Good book

    This book is every good. I loved reading it and it wasnt what you expected. Give it a chapter or two and you wont be able to put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    TEAM KYE!

    I liked the character kye. He protected her fro the wolves.

    -reviewed by midnightangel :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Cooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooioool

    Hi

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    O.K

    I think this book is O.K. But it was good.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    good book

    enjoyed it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    This is a very very well written book.

    This book is very suspensful. It was a definate page turner. The plot of the story is extrordinary. It took some very unexpected turns. As well as emotional changes. Rosalind had an intense life. It was by far the best book I ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    very good

    This book is a great read for a rainy day. The story takes some unexpected turns and keeps you on the edge of your seat. I would highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3