Customer Reviews for

Dragon's Kin (Dragonriders of Pern Series #17)

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not every man on Pern can ride dragons

Holy cow. I mean, honestly. You can be a fan of the Pern novels without throwing a hissy fit because this particular book was not so focused on dragons you could count the flakes on a poorly oiled hide. For myself, I loved this book. It's a reminder that not every m...
Holy cow. I mean, honestly. You can be a fan of the Pern novels without throwing a hissy fit because this particular book was not so focused on dragons you could count the flakes on a poorly oiled hide. For myself, I loved this book. It's a reminder that not every man, woman, and child on Pern is a dragonrider. They cant be. And the people of Pern rely on miners, and crafters, just as much as they do the dragonriders. And since Lessa, WEYRWOMAN OF ALL WEYRWOMEN, was friends with a watchweyr, and hid in its den, I think people should take a second look. The watchweyrs are there for a reason, and there is a reason this book was written. After all... why else would there have been so much controversy about the watchweyrs when dragons were first being engineered...

posted by Anonymous on June 22, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

average

I have read all of the earlier books written by Anne. Todd is not as capable. This book was written more in a style that jr. high students would find easy. Not a total disappointment, but the story lacked depth.

posted by 4626328 on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    Not every man on Pern can ride dragons

    Holy cow. I mean, honestly. You can be a fan of the Pern novels without throwing a hissy fit because this particular book was not so focused on dragons you could count the flakes on a poorly oiled hide. For myself, I loved this book. It's a reminder that not every man, woman, and child on Pern is a dragonrider. They cant be. And the people of Pern rely on miners, and crafters, just as much as they do the dragonriders. And since Lessa, WEYRWOMAN OF ALL WEYRWOMEN, was friends with a watchweyr, and hid in its den, I think people should take a second look. The watchweyrs are there for a reason, and there is a reason this book was written. After all... why else would there have been so much controversy about the watchweyrs when dragons were first being engineered...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    Wonderful

    Loved it! It's great to know that we can continue to read about Pernese population. Though the story starts out sounding sad it quickly turned around and took us to a great new adventure with new characters and new creatures. We now learn that the watch-wher had a greater purpose and the people around them are just as interesting. Great story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    The best

    All Anne McCaffrey books, especially Pern, are great entertainment. Makes you want to live in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2003

    Dragonriders returns to the original skies

    Having been privileged to receive an advance copy of Dragon's Kin, I can only say SUPERB. Anne & Todd return to the characterizations that brought the series to prominence. The people are real not supermen/women. I only hope she will follow on with this line. BUY IT!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Mariah

    Yes Lydia hun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    New Author, New Take, Same Great Series

    This is what I say to customers who are skeptical of reading Todd McCaffrey's take on the Dragonriders of PERN: Anne had a huge history to work with. She wrote a little bit about the beginning, a little bit about the middle, but mostly about the 'present,' which includes F'Lar and company. As opposed to potentially angering diehard/hardcore fans of this series, Todd has taken a chunk of history that his mother did not touch upon and calls it his own. Perfect solution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Another good one.

    I liked the part where Kindan was taking care of the new watch-were.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    Anne McCaffrey

    Anything from McCaffrey is great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    Different, but certainly just as good as the others

    Though this book was not typical AnneMcCaffrey, probably due to the co-authoring by her son, this was still a classic Dragonriders of Pern read. I thought all the info about watchweyrs, which had until now been left in obscurity, was really cool! An awesome book, i can't wait to read Dragon's Blood to see what else Todd McCaffrey can do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2004

    Grand book. When does Todd's Dragonsblood come out?

    I had read the review and...like recommended...decided to check it out instead of by it. But man was I dissappointed by the reviews I read. It was a book that I couldn't put down. Everything a person expects of Anne. Her son has to be just as good. I'm looking forward to his solo book. Great job Anne and Todd. You outdid yourself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    Escape to Pern!

    Dragon's Kin is another excellent book in the Pern saga. There was no evidence of the addition of another voice in the story. In fact, it flowed smoothly in a way that showed Todd is as immersed in Pern as the rest of us. I found myself thinking of the characters long after I finished the book. I want more, and I do not want to wait - but wait, I must!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2