Customer Reviews for

Dragon's Oath (House of Night Novella Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 272 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(170)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

CAn't wait to read this

I love the series. Can't wait to read this one.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Too pricy

I can't believe that B&N is charging MORE for the Nook version than the paper version! That's insane. Add to that the fact the price for this novella is the same as a full length book and I won't be buying this one.

posted by 5863353 on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 272 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    Too pricy

    I can't believe that B&N is charging MORE for the Nook version than the paper version! That's insane. Add to that the fact the price for this novella is the same as a full length book and I won't be buying this one.

    35 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    REALLY

    How about the authors finish the house of nights books first before they go adding to them, really, they have been dragging out for so long it is ridiculous. At first I loved the house of night books but the last few have been quick reads and leave you hanging, only to wait a year for another small part of the story.

    27 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Disappointed

    I felt that this was way over priced. The story was okay, but if i had realized what it was before i bought it i would have never spent that much on it. Definitely not worth the money.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    CAn't wait to read this

    I love the series. Can't wait to read this one.

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Save the money

    This is a short story, priced as a novel. An obsene grab for money, whether by Barnes and Noble or the author, it's inexcusable.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is as enthralling and as spellbinding as the main series.

    Dragon Lankford is the Sword Master of the Oklahoma House of Night in St. Louis. He is also a vampire wrapped up in enigmas and aloofness, but he was not always that way. In 1830 England, he was called Bryan, the third son of the Earl of Lankford. Tired of his misbehaving and bailing Bryan out of trouble, his father exiled his teenage son to America. Before he went on the shop a vampire Marked him. He has to go to school for four years and if the fledgling survives the Change he will be a full fledged vampire.

    Dragon attends the school at the Tower Grove House of Night where several of his student peers have crushes on him. In 1833 twenty-two years old Professor of Spells and Rituals Anastasia casts a spell to enable those fledglings who are attracted to the nobleman to see him as he really is. He is interested in her and surprises her when he helps her with the spell focused on him. They fall in love, but the human Sheriff Biddle and a dark magical creature want to destroy him and they believe killing Anastasia will do that. He comes at his enemies with vengeance though he promised an oath of mercy to his perfect love Anastasia the former Quaker who was and still is his soul mate.

    The fencing master in the young adult House of Night series, Dragon has always been a riddle to readers and fledglings. This is the beginning of his "biography" mostly in St. Louis during the Jacksonian Era. The paranormal historical story line is exciting as the unlikely pair of Dragon the sword master (even as a student) and Anastasia the pacifist Quaker of spells fall in love, but are Destined for trouble. This is as enthralling and as spellbinding as the main series.

    Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Great book but too short

    This was a really good book and gave much needed info into who Dragon is and was but it would have been better if it was longer to give us more. I also liked tgat it told us more about Anastasia. The sad thing is that it is only 84 Pages and the same cost of the other >200 page books in the series.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Good read

    My only complaint is that this is too short, i could read about the house of night characters forever. It des help explain someof wht is in Dragons head. It isnt a must read as part of the story line but it is a good bit of extra interesting background info on Dragon :)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Seems good

    Its pretty

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Good but we need more

    Very short i liked but would have been better named a short story not a novl

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I learned backgroung knowledge about a character in the series House of Night. This helps in knowing the why a character is acting the way they are in the other books. This was very enjoyable and I am looking forward to the next one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Characters

    It's amazing to finally see these side characters develope into an actual being rather than just a name and face. The book was very refreshing, and completing for Lankford's character.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Great

    Great book get to know other charatcers in the series!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    This book was really good. It really helps the reader to understand the dynamics of Dragon's character. However, I wish that it would have maybe been a little longer so it could explain how Dragon and Anastasia ended up in Tulsa or went into maybe just a little more detail about their life together. All in all it's almost a must to fully comprehend what is going on in Dragon's head in Destined.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    It was okay

    I liked it but I would of rather seen an ending to the original series first, before they explain everyone else's stories. I do wish it was longer for the price it was.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Any SheKit

    I Can rp any she-kit!! just tell me the name descripton and clan

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    To lunarheart

    Do you know where lilyfang is~clodyeyes

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    A litle kit

    She crawls in hurt

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Good Book

    This book is kinda short but really good. I liked it a lot. GOOD BOOK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    The Cast team does it agian.

    In this novella, P.C. and Kristin Cast have revealled the early life of Dragon. This story was so lovely and well written. Dragon's change is incredible, and Anastasia was a wonderful character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 272 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14