Customer Reviews for

Dragon's Oath: A House of Night Novella

Average Rating 4.5
( 267 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(168)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

CAn't wait to read this

I love the series. Can't wait to read this one.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Too pricy

I can't believe that B&N is charging MORE for the Nook version than the paper version! That's insane. Add to that the fact the price for this novella is the same as a full length book and I won't be buying this one.

posted by 5863353 on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is as enthralling and as spellbinding as the main series.

    Dragon Lankford is the Sword Master of the Oklahoma House of Night in St. Louis. He is also a vampire wrapped up in enigmas and aloofness, but he was not always that way. In 1830 England, he was called Bryan, the third son of the Earl of Lankford. Tired of his misbehaving and bailing Bryan out of trouble, his father exiled his teenage son to America. Before he went on the shop a vampire Marked him. He has to go to school for four years and if the fledgling survives the Change he will be a full fledged vampire.

    Dragon attends the school at the Tower Grove House of Night where several of his student peers have crushes on him. In 1833 twenty-two years old Professor of Spells and Rituals Anastasia casts a spell to enable those fledglings who are attracted to the nobleman to see him as he really is. He is interested in her and surprises her when he helps her with the spell focused on him. They fall in love, but the human Sheriff Biddle and a dark magical creature want to destroy him and they believe killing Anastasia will do that. He comes at his enemies with vengeance though he promised an oath of mercy to his perfect love Anastasia the former Quaker who was and still is his soul mate.

    The fencing master in the young adult House of Night series, Dragon has always been a riddle to readers and fledglings. This is the beginning of his "biography" mostly in St. Louis during the Jacksonian Era. The paranormal historical story line is exciting as the unlikely pair of Dragon the sword master (even as a student) and Anastasia the pacifist Quaker of spells fall in love, but are Destined for trouble. This is as enthralling and as spellbinding as the main series.

    Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Good read

    My only complaint is that this is too short, i could read about the house of night characters forever. It des help explain someof wht is in Dragons head. It isnt a must read as part of the story line but it is a good bit of extra interesting background info on Dragon :)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Seems good

    Its pretty

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Characters

    It's amazing to finally see these side characters develope into an actual being rather than just a name and face. The book was very refreshing, and completing for Lankford's character.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    This book was really good. It really helps the reader to understand the dynamics of Dragon's character. However, I wish that it would have maybe been a little longer so it could explain how Dragon and Anastasia ended up in Tulsa or went into maybe just a little more detail about their life together. All in all it's almost a must to fully comprehend what is going on in Dragon's head in Destined.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Good Book

    This book is kinda short but really good. I liked it a lot. GOOD BOOK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    short but good reading

    I was glad to get the prelude to the other novels of who Dragon, sword maste, to the Acadamy was. Good reading like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Ok....

    The story is too forward and short. It would be great if there was more detail and it was a bit longer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Highly recommended...awesome book

    This books takes you back & you understand why Dragon the way he is. I can't wait till the next novella comes out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I thought at first I wouldn't be interested, but P.C. and Kristin Cast hook you fast and keep you wanting more, rounding out the minor characters of Dragon and his beloved Anastasia. Everyone who loves the series should be sure they read this before the 9th book comes out-it will explain why Dragon made the choices he did at the end of the 8th. The authors are truly incredible building the House of Night world!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Great quick read

    Fun to get to learn more about the characters pasts

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love it

    Although this was short I felt this book was pretty interesting. I felt in love with Dragon Langford. The ending was very sad and it left me now eager for Destined. To short 89 pages should have been cheaper

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Wonderful

    Definetly a good read! Its also a book to keep you excited for the next book to come out. I read it in about 2 hours, was hoping for a bit more but it is a good addition to the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interestingly ..... short

    I felt this book was pretty interesting despite the short length it was which left me with a blank stare like is this really it?! But overall, I like how Cast brought you back into the history of how Dragon and Anastasia's love first began and how cocky and arrogant he was as a child until Anastasia came into his life and taught him how to temper his strength with mercy. The ending was quite sad and it left me even more eager for Destined to just come out already since it seems now Darkness has gained yet another ally sadly but hopefully that changes in Destined.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    News Cat to Chief

    You didnt even mintchen Slash...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Herobrine

    He walks to her "

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Gingerfang

    I will think about joining thx for the offer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you love the House of Night Series, It's a must read.

    I have read Lenobia's Vow and I'm almost done with this novella. I really enjoyed them both. I liked getting some insight to the relationship of Dragon and Anastasia's relationship. This whole series has been one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3