Customer Reviews for

Dragon's Pupils - The Sword Guest (part 1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

It really is educational and fun!

More geared toward young teens, Dragon's Pupil's is a quick paced tale with magic, adventure and mystery. Liz learning something from her dad's stories was educational and the painted backdrop of beautiful China was a definite attention grabber. However, the character...
More geared toward young teens, Dragon's Pupil's is a quick paced tale with magic, adventure and mystery. Liz learning something from her dad's stories was educational and the painted backdrop of beautiful China was a definite attention grabber. However, the characters themselves were not three dimensional. They needed more depth, more emotion in their characteristics. That said, obviously the author has great knowledge about Kung Fu and it shines through in his writing. If you like reading an adventure story, or learning about other cultures, then definitely give this book a whirl. It really is educational and fun!

posted by Minding-Spot on July 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected

I thought this was going to be a well written, fascinating and indepth urban fantasy, taking place in modern day Australia. Instead, it's an incredibly flat book, with characters that are unrelatable and extremely dull and fake. (the main characters are supposedly 14......
I thought this was going to be a well written, fascinating and indepth urban fantasy, taking place in modern day Australia. Instead, it's an incredibly flat book, with characters that are unrelatable and extremely dull and fake. (the main characters are supposedly 14... for how it reads, they could be 4 years old to 84, and it wouldn't change anything with how they act.). I'm on page 300 of a 591 page book, and only plan on finishing it because I started it. It's still inane and a horrible way to spend my time. Don't both, even if it is free.

posted by Enonocchi on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    The Book

    This book is amazing!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Loved it

    I always love books like these i highly recomend this book and the next one to any one who reads. Period.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Realy want to read it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Bet it will be great!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Please read

    I love th book. I think you should get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Arianna

    Asome get it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!

    If i could,i d give this seven stars. It s great for people if they like adventure stories. It s free too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    War

    I posted my info at den then forgot the expectation for mates and put that on second result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Clodyeyes

    First I'm a shecat * she wakes up starteld and say's where am I* *och* she scremed

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    I LOVE this book!!!!!

    I LOVE this book!!!! It is really interesting and it has a lot of action. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Neytiri

    (Sorry, NOOK hasn't been working)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    I have a question

    Ok if you ask someone to join something like for example what is tangleclan and how do i join!?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    dragons pupils the sword guest

    this book was amazing. it was pretty long but very interesting.
    i would reccomend this book to anybody that likes fiction and magic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Very good book

    Nukes catz...DRAGONS RULE!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Join tangleclan

    Im ur awesome ruler tanglestar join my clan and u can be my warriors who will fighr in battles and we will conqure everyother clan no one could beet us beware other clans

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Sounds great havnt read yet

    Anounomous

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    High Potent Cocktail: Sci/fi, Fantasy, Speculative, Urban Legend.

    Half Chinese, half Australian magical world were vampires fight yellow cranes and giant panda bears. The action is fast and comes at you from the least expected places. Imagine Kung Fu Panda meets Buck Rogers and they have tea with Gandalf the Wizard while Aslan's army awaits their orders.

    A cliff hanger from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This was a no stop adventure from the first sentence. I was completely taken off gaurd as I thought it would just be yet another vampire story. I could not have been more wrong and I could not be happier. This is well worth it to pick up.

    From Amazon, a review by Free Book Reviews, Albert Robbins III, April 20, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    'Dragon's Pupils' is a fantasy story for teenage readers that centres on a fourteen-year old girl and her ancient Chinese Taoism wisdom and Tai Chi powers. It is set in Western Australia and its multi-cultural setting, as well as the male and female protagonists, ensures that the novel holds widespread appeal. The plot entails battles against alien intruders coupled with ancient evil monsters that are released by aliens from a magic prison. This original, creative and highly imaginative novel may lend itself to a series.
    The Prologue is a captivating, eloquent start that immediately sets the scene and entices the reader to continue. The main characters are a group of young teenagers who are lively, adventurous, and animated - their desire to embark on a quest would be alluring to teenage readers, particularly the feisty main character, Liz. The novel sustains its lively pace throughout while maintaining its cleverly woven and carefully constructed plot. The blend of Eastern and Western culture provides a beguiling layer of interest and intrigue. The author writes with conviction, flair and insight, creating a novel that deftly combines the cultures of East and West. This manuscript fits a niche in this popular genre. Manuscript Assessment by Susan Cutsforth 21 April 2008

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Hard to put down, unpredictable twists, good balance between humour and suspense. Thoroughly recommend to teenagers as well as being an enjoyable read for adults ! from Amazon UK by Susan Matthews 8 Oct 2009

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2