Customer Reviews for

Dragon's Time (Dragonriders of Pern Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

IT is on the Nook!

It is on the nook! Release date is the same for Kindle, Nook, hardback and all the rest! June 28, 2011.

posted by 8318109 on May 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I love the Dragonriders of Pern series, but I have to say I liked Anne McCaffrey better as the lead author. I found this book to be alot of little speeches and not much action. The characters are not as likable or developed as the series with F'lar, Lessa, and Robinto...
I love the Dragonriders of Pern series, but I have to say I liked Anne McCaffrey better as the lead author. I found this book to be alot of little speeches and not much action. The characters are not as likable or developed as the series with F'lar, Lessa, and Robinton. I enjoyed Dragonblood, and Dragon's Kin, but this was a big letdown for me.

posted by 4907008 on July 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    IT is on the Nook!

    It is on the nook! Release date is the same for Kindle, Nook, hardback and all the rest! June 28, 2011.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Keep them coming!!

    I don't think I have shed this many tears, this often, through a book. I can not wait for Dragonrider! Wonderful follow up to the story line! I do recommend going back and re-reading the other two previous books, as you might get a bit confused if you havn't read them since last year.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    McCaffrey mother and son team up smoothly with the latest entry in a classic epic saga

    On the planet Pern, plague was killing the dragons just as the deadly Thread began falling from the red orb. Lorana found a cure at the cost her beloved queen dragon, but the toll is devastating as the surviving dragons cannot even fill up a weyr. Since all the dragons and their riders of Telgar Weyr were lost in between, Fiona and T'mar become the new Weyr leaders. Understaffed and under-skilled, each time they go out to fight thread, more die or are crippled. Unless they come up with a solution soon, human and dragon life on Pern will be extinct.

    Although pregnant and without her dragon, Lorana borrows the Bendon weyr dragon to go to the future to plead for help. The Brendan Weyrwoman provides her with coordinates as to where she should land. When she arrives at the location she meets Trader Tenniz who is dying. She remains at his side until he passes, but now knows she must figure out what he hinted at. Lorana returns to Fiona two times from her location and she brings F'Jan to be with Terin in her hour of need butt F'Jian does not explain how or why since he was killed fighting Thread. As they put together the clues, they begin a plan to save the planet by hopefully cheating time

    In this final of the latest Pern miniseries (see Dragon Blood, Dragonheart and Dragongirl the threads (no pun intended) come together to create a stirring exciting sci-fi thriller. Readers will admire the characters especially Fiona, a natural leader lacking experience and firepower at a time of dire straits yet gets riders to follow her in spite of what appears is a suicide mission. McCaffrey mother and son team up smoothly wit the latest entry in a classic epic saga.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    pretty good not as good as his mom's

    I have read all of Anne McCaffrey's book and I think I can tell when she writes them and when she colaborates. Todd does a good job of following his mom but he isn't there yet. But Todd keep trying.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    highly recommend

    As with all of the dragon books this one is great, part of a series and best read in order, most stand alone but this one needs the others for script and charactor development. I have loved all of the books no matter whether Anne Todd or the two together wrote them. Can't wait for the next by either or both.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    Disappointed

    I love the Dragonriders of Pern series, but I have to say I liked Anne McCaffrey better as the lead author. I found this book to be alot of little speeches and not much action. The characters are not as likable or developed as the series with F'lar, Lessa, and Robinton. I enjoyed Dragonblood, and Dragon's Kin, but this was a big letdown for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    So so book

    way too many characters and going back in forth in the story made it very confusing. Also felt it to be a bit too much over the top.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    A great continuation...but

    For anyone who has kept up with the series this was a great continuation which helped to solve a lot of mysteries, but it left with just as many others! I expect another book Mr. McCaffrey, and I expect it soon! :-D All in all, another great addition to the world of Pern.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I haven't read it yet but I WILL buy it when its first out!!

    I read the excerpt and am so excited to read this book. I am a fast reader >.< so I have been waiting for this book since 4 days after Dragongirl was available to buy.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Anne McCaffrey's works, dragons, and or riddles.
    If you like Elizabeth Scarborough, S.l. Viehl, anything sci fi/sci fi fantasy try the first few chapters and more than likely you'll buy the book!

    I would definitely recommend this to book discussions there are many themes in the book that provoke thoughtful discussions.

    If you read this book and like it you will want to read all the others books by Todd and his mother, each one is unique and memorable in its own way!

    Thanks, so much, Todd for continuing your Mother's series. I am SO glad you are, my mother and I shall continue reading and enjoying them as long as you guys can write them!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Help me :, (_

    Whats the order of the series get the book switched and read Dark Werewolf saga ( Book #1 ) thanks again wait i just thanked you oops

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    My names in there

    My name is Tenzin and his nam is Tenizz

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Looks cool

    It looks cool but i added it to my wishlist to get later... but it looks like a nice book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Baby dragon

    Crys.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Flamewing

    You are beautiful girl

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Garrock

    Becomes a baby version of himself " MAMMA!"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    The rare baby

    Flies away forever.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    To fans of Pern this is a marvelous continuation of the Pern story. Very inventive insights to the beginnings of Pern as related to current events on Pern in the 506-7 years AL. It provides updates on happenings shortly after landing and wonderful insights into more recent happenings. Great reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    From the same peep from below me

    Anne u will be missed deaply! R.I.P :( Todd be the man in the family and take over what ur mom did so amazingly! Heres some advice: connect with the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Nnnjjbu

    ?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Da'ny

    He becomes a big black dragon that isnt seen in the sky and is silent and deadly.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6