Customer Reviews for

DragonSpell

Average Rating 4.5
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I HIGHLY recomend these books for all ages!

If you love adventure, love, battles, Dragons and just pure excitement with every page, then you MUST read these books. The Dragon Keeper Series. I saw them in the store the cover grabbed me. I didn't even read what it was about. I was glad I bought all 5 books toge...
If you love adventure, love, battles, Dragons and just pure excitement with every page, then you MUST read these books. The Dragon Keeper Series. I saw them in the store the cover grabbed me. I didn't even read what it was about. I was glad I bought all 5 books together because I can't put them down.

When you read the first book, I have to admit I wasn't used to the style of writing so I had to re-read the first and second chapters and some paragraphs but once you get going WOW!!! It is right up there with the Inhertiance Cycles by Christopher Paolini. I will read these books over and over again and enjoy every minute of my quest. Donita K Paul also gives you a glossary at the back of the book that you can refer to as you read. I only hope that Donita writes more for the Dragon Keeper Series.

posted by GTG7197 on January 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining but does not balance story with message

Let's start with the good. The book was entertaining, easy to read, and engaging enough that I was willing to let a some of the not-so-good qualities slide. The dragons I found original, and I think that's not easy to do when such a subject has been so well written abou...
Let's start with the good. The book was entertaining, easy to read, and engaging enough that I was willing to let a some of the not-so-good qualities slide. The dragons I found original, and I think that's not easy to do when such a subject has been so well written about. However, while the other races of characters were often original, their personal characteristics often felt typed and stereotypical, especially Kale.

The writing style was also disappointing, though I'm willing to let that slide a bit since I think this is an all-ages book (despite it being shelved in adult fantasy). Still, I think even younger readers could benefit from a slightly more complex style, even down to the line level. Clarity is to be valued, obviously, but writing shouldn't suffer for it.

Finally, this book is incredibly heavy on Christian mythology and the Christian message. Now, I'm all for melding religion (or political view or whatever) to work. I understand that when something is important to you it's going to come out in the writing, but this book often felt like I was being hit over the head with it and it often got in the way of the story (which I'd have enjoyed more had the religious ideas been incorporated subtly). And I hate to use the word but there were times when the book felt more like propaganda than story to me, like the author was writing more for the message than for the story, and that's not a positive thing.

posted by kathrynth on February 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I HIGHLY recomend these books for all ages!

    If you love adventure, love, battles, Dragons and just pure excitement with every page, then you MUST read these books. The Dragon Keeper Series. I saw them in the store the cover grabbed me. I didn't even read what it was about. I was glad I bought all 5 books together because I can't put them down.

    When you read the first book, I have to admit I wasn't used to the style of writing so I had to re-read the first and second chapters and some paragraphs but once you get going WOW!!! It is right up there with the Inhertiance Cycles by Christopher Paolini. I will read these books over and over again and enjoy every minute of my quest. Donita K Paul also gives you a glossary at the back of the book that you can refer to as you read. I only hope that Donita writes more for the Dragon Keeper Series.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Entertaining but does not balance story with message

    Let's start with the good. The book was entertaining, easy to read, and engaging enough that I was willing to let a some of the not-so-good qualities slide. The dragons I found original, and I think that's not easy to do when such a subject has been so well written about. However, while the other races of characters were often original, their personal characteristics often felt typed and stereotypical, especially Kale.

    The writing style was also disappointing, though I'm willing to let that slide a bit since I think this is an all-ages book (despite it being shelved in adult fantasy). Still, I think even younger readers could benefit from a slightly more complex style, even down to the line level. Clarity is to be valued, obviously, but writing shouldn't suffer for it.

    Finally, this book is incredibly heavy on Christian mythology and the Christian message. Now, I'm all for melding religion (or political view or whatever) to work. I understand that when something is important to you it's going to come out in the writing, but this book often felt like I was being hit over the head with it and it often got in the way of the story (which I'd have enjoyed more had the religious ideas been incorporated subtly). And I hate to use the word but there were times when the book felt more like propaganda than story to me, like the author was writing more for the message than for the story, and that's not a positive thing.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    M

    They need to make a movie out of this
    Press yes if u agree

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    DRAGONSPELL by Donita K. Paul - A Review

    DragonSpell is the first novel in a 5 book series by Donita K. Paul called the "Dragonkeeper Chronicles". It is a Christian allegorical fantasy in the tradition of C. S. Lewis and J. R. R. Tolkien and introduces you to a world rich with characters that will soon feel like old-friends. In a timeless tale of good vs. evil, adventure, self-discovery and eternal truths DragonSpell is destined to be a classic read and beloved by the whole family. DragonSpell is the story of Kale, a young o'rant slave girl, who orphaned at an early age has lived among a village of marione's where the only things expected of her are obedience and hard work. Her life is changed drastically when she is drawn by forces beyond her control to a dragon egg. Kale is sent to deliver the egg to The Hall in Vendela and there she is also to be trained for service to Paladin. "Are ye sure ye won't ride all the way into the city?" That one question is the pivot point upon which Kale's new life in Vendela is diverted into a quest to rescue a precious meech dragon egg from the evil Wizard Risto. Afraid and with feelings of inadequacy and unworthiness Kale embarks on a journey to self-discovery, faith, and acceptance. A journey filled with untold danger, fainting dragons, teasing doneels, and an absentminded old wizard, Kale discovers she is not just a slave and that being in service to Paladin is more than being a servant. I was surprised and delighted by DragonSpell. The story is rich in detail, full of subtle humor, adversity to overcome, lessons to learn and characters I didn't want to leave behind when the book was finished. I will definitely be putting DragonSpell on my "to keep" list and will be adding the rest of the series to my library as soon as I can. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group does not require a positive review. All opinions expressed in this review are my own.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Dragonspell by Donita Paul

    Dragonspell by Donita K. Paul is a Chronicals of Narnia-type allegory about a young girl named Kale. The book opens as Kale, who was just released from slavery, is about to enter the capital city of Vendela. But before she gets there she is attacked by ogre-like creatures then rescued by servants of Wulder (God). It is learned that Kale has a talent for finding dragon eggs and that talent is needed to defeat an evil wizard named Risto.

    The book is about 300 pages long but very easy to read so it is perfect for a younger reader who likes fantasy books. And although the book did have some weak spots, it easily makes up for them in other areas. The dragons, for instance, are protrade far different by Ms. Paul than by any other author I have read.

    In short this book is great for kids who like books filled with adventure, dragons, and evil wizards. Also, parents should encourge their childern to read this book because of the clean/Christian content. In most cases I would say I would recommend this book to others, but since it was recommended to me that doesn't seen quite right. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Engaging, character-driven fantasy novel. (& there be dragons here!)

    Donita K. Paul's 2004 novel Dragonspell is a finely woven, character-driven tale that introduces us to a unique new world while paying distinct homage to classic fantasy.

    Kale is a 14-year-old o'rant girl who is uprooted from the only life she's ever known - that of slavery in a remote village - after the town council realizes she has a special talent that will need to be honed at a religious training facility called "The Hall." Naive to life outside her small town, she is quickly abducted by creatures she thought were only from fairy tales, and just as rapidly rescued by a party sent out from The Hall to find her. As Kale discovers the depths and dangers of her newly discovered talent, she begins the transition from 'slave' to 'servant', in the service of the Creator of the seven high races, Wulder. She also becomes familiar with evil Pretender and his seven low races, as she works on learning the difference between the Truth, and lies crafted to sound like truth.

    This engaging coming-of-age story is a smooth read populated with characters and situations that are both new and familiar to devotees of fantasy fiction. As Kale and her new friends of various races quest together to find a meech egg deep within the stronghold of the powerful and evil Risto, we meet a young dragon who faints every time he's startled, a delightful but all-too-familiar flighty wizard, and a preening doneel who has furry ears and an outfit (and musical instrument) for every occasion. Dragon-lovers will also find no shortage of dragons here, each with his or her own individual quirks, talents and personalities.

    As in other fantasy novels, the Dragonspell world divides rather neatly into Good versus Evil, and if you've played Dungeons and Dragons, you'll recognize this as a book that revolves around clerics and other character classes in service to a common deity. Rather than utilizing the more mythical deities of many of the classic fantasy and gaming worlds, however, Wulder and Paladin and their moral code have been modeled after the Christian religion, with the moralizing present in the book (and there is some, a little heavy in spots) reflecting some traditional Christian values. I was aware of this before reading the book, thanks to comments in front of the book; I would love to know how far into the book I would have gotten before recognizing that for myself. But you certainly don't have to be Christian or looking to convert in order to enjoy this well-woven story, and enjoy spending a few hours inhabiting this delightful fantasy world along with Kale and her companions.

    Dragonspell is the first book in a series, and I'm already looking forward to reading the second installment. Readers from middle school on up will enjoy it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    A tale to be told around the fireplace

    After reading the likes of Salvatore, Weis & Hickman and Brooks for several decades, Donita Paul has touched my imagination in this book. The vivid details given of scenes brought alive a world that I had yet visited until I read Dragonspell. The amount of information that could be delivered about a world so rich could fill volumes but Paul has limited it to deliver and carry forth the plot for our main character Kale. To some it may be disappointing but if the reader takes it in stride and revels in the details given the experience is all the more for it.
    The characters in the book are easily identifiable to us who are older but can have relevance even to the youngest reader. We get to watch a slow transformation of a girl having been raised as a slave being immersed into a world with frightful adventures and creatures to boot. Kale is a character I empathized with in all aspects but Fenworth is my favorite of the book. His discombobulated way of thought and action was a refreshing interjection into the characters and plot line. Crazy doesn't always mean crazy and when you read of Fenworth this will ring true.
    I didn't want to put this book down and read through it in a 8 hour long period taking the time to go back and read over passages to both understand the plot and characters but also to regenerate the scenery that was described. I well intend to read the rest of the series and will be looking into Ms. Paul's other works. :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    An honest review

    This book was great! Entertaining christian fiction is tough to find. This book is an exception. The story is very gripping and has plenty of battles. (No blood or gore) Now the allegory is great. I know there are bad reviews about that but the whole moral is trusting God in the good times and bad. Overall I think the author earned her five stars. But thats not quite true, is it? Solie deo gloria! (To God alone be the glory)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I found these books very entertaining. Donita K Paul did a fant

    I found these books very entertaining. Donita K Paul did a fantastic job throughout the entire series! I highly recommend these books for anyone looking for a good, clean story with a little Christianity included.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    It's an okay book.

    The entire book revolved around the main character, Kale and her journey to find the Meech dragon egg, and along the way trying to find herself and her place in the world. The book tells a great story that children and young adults would enjoy. However, I doubt it'll be a great number that would love this for it's obvious religious undertones. The story is mostly teaching Kale the way of Wulder while developing herself into her own person with the guidance of Wulder. Basically the allegories were pretty obvious that when Paladin and Wulder were introduced they represented Jesus and God. It would have better if the allegory was remove in the beginning and appear in the end, that way readers reactions would be in awe and surprise when they make the connection. So to me it felt a little dull every time someone mention or talk about them. Even though there were things about the book that were boring and obvious I just loved Gymn and Metta, the two little minor dragons. The characters were all very different creating an interesting group to follow but some were a little flat then others. But this is only the first of the series so I wouldn't be surprise if the characters and the story gets better. It's an okay book. Not terribly bad but also not amazingly good, just decent. I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Great Fantasy Fiction!

    When I picked up the book Dragonspell by Donita K. Paul, I knew I was in for a treat. This book, although most likely geared toward the 10-14 age group, I believe is a book for all ages. It has fantasy and fun and a great character building story line. In much the same way many Christian authors have in the past (C.S. Lewis being infamous for) she builds a fairy tale around God's love and provision for us.

    This story takes place in a fictional world filled with 7 races of people and creatures. In just the first few chapters you come across half the races that include half animal/half human like creatures, giants, dwarfs, dragons and soon there after, a creature called a "kimen" who is almost a spirit like being that reminds me of a traditional "fairy".

    The tale weaves Kale, Dar, Leetu and others into a quest to search for a missing dragons egg that has been stolen by the "black magic" wizard of the country. It takes a simple girl who thought her only life was that of a slave, to a point of being chosen by the creator and placed on a mission that could save lives of many and change their world.

    I love the simple way Ms. Paul creates each of the characters and gives them personalities that suit their physical descriptions. The tale is fast paced and an easy read and I am definitely looking forward to purchasing more of her works in the future.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves fantasy or fairy tale stories and to those who love reading about magical kingdoms and strange beautiful creatures.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    Great read with wonderful book cover!

    I absolutely loved this book- I immediately called my nearest bookstore to find the second one! It has a lot of (obvious) Christian elements, but you can overlook the 'Christian' part and think of it as moral elements (didn't bother me but if you aren't into that kind of thing it's still a great read). I would recommend this to readers of most ages- there's no adult content. It does have some parts that would be kind of scary for a little kid. One of the parts that immediately drew me to the book is that it is a part of a series, which I love. Also, the book cover is beautiful and all of the books look like that! Definitely a wonderful book/series to put on your shelf and show off.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    wonderful! simply wonderful!

    This book is wonderful! It'a perfect for dragon lovers!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Amazing and imaginitive

    A very wonderful book. The characters are so loveable, and the world around them is rich and imaginitive! This is a great read for people of any age. It is hopeful and inspiring!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful story

    Kale is a lowly servant girl from River Away who has found a dragon egg. She is immediately sent to the City of Vendela to see the rulers there. Kale is excited to enter the city as she has never seen anything like this before, but during an attack is drawn into a cave and to more dragon eggs. She soon discovers that she is expected to go on a quest with Leetu and Dar to find a meech egg. She is the mighty "Dragon Keeper," although she doesn't believe it. Through their travels they meet good dragons, the kimens, some Urohms, and Wizard Fenworth, as well as a three-headed monster and other evil beings. She also discovers that the evil Risto is out to defeat her and her companions. Will the strength of Wulder and Paladin be enough to help her? Will she discover the meech egg? What other dragons will hatch and share their powers with the company?

    This fantasy is interesting, colorful, and drew me in immediately. I enjoyed reading about the different races and peoples, with characters realist and life-like. Donita K. Paul has a wonderful way with words. It was especially neat to read about the birth of each dragon and find out what their special gift was. My favorite quote is found on pg. 237. "Frightened," Leetu continued. "Well, it is a lie to face scary things and pretend you are not frightened. Just as it is deceitful to look at the beauty of that scene" --she nodded toward the mountain range-- "and pretend the grandeur does not stir your soul. Perhaps not false, but folly, to take in with the eyes and deny with the heart."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    Great Series!

    I was looking for a change from the usual Stephen King/Dean Koontz books that I usually read to something with more of a Fantasy edge to it and I definitely found it with this series. She brings the characters to life and makes you feel like a part of their adventure. I would recommend this series and any of her books to anyone that needs a little adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A quest for a missing dragon egg

    After a lifetime of slavery, fourteen-year-old Kale is set free. She travels to The Hall in Vendela where she will receive her training as a servant. Before she can reach her destination, ogres attack her. She escapes into a cave where she finds seven small dragon eggs. When she comes back outside, she is rescued by Paladin servants. They inform her that Paladin has given her a gift, the ability to find dragon eggs, and persuade her to leave her journey to The Hall for another quest: find a missing meech dragon egg and fulfill her destiny as a dragonkeeper. <BR/><BR/>Donita K. Paul crafts a wonderful adventure into an amazing fantasy world. It¿s no wonder why this book won a Christy award. I found the characters marvelous, my favorites being Gymn and Metta, two dragons so tiny they often ride on Kale¿s shoulders. I highly recommend his novel for boys and girls of all ages. Looking forward to book two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    An amazing quest!

    DragonSpell by Donita K. Paul hooked me from the very beginning. I love Kale and all of the amazing characters! When Kale find a dragon egg and her masters turn her over to go to The Hall, where she is to be trained, her life is changed by Dar, a doneel, and Leetu, an emerlindian save her from a murderous band of grawligs 'creepy trolls' she find that her course and life are changed. She learns that she has special powers, but is still afraid and wary of questing. Along with her comrades, she goes of to rescue a dragon egg from the evil Wizard Risto. This is a book I highly recommend to readers of all ages! It has a great Christian message, with colorful creatures, and a wonderful quest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    Great story

    This is a great book with lots of adventure, mystery, and love. Join a thirteen year old on a quest for a race that is near death, known as Dragons. Laugh, sigh, exclaim, enjoy, and Love all the characters. Donita K. Paul has created a fantastic story for children and adults.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    Read it!

    This book, I was able to identify with. It was funny and intriguing I couldn't put it down. Dragonspell is a great start to an even better series. Telling the story of a freed 'slave' girl going to serve a man named Paladin, ruler of Amara. She discovers an interesting gift within herself to speak with her mind, and find dragon eggs. Will she learn to use these gifts correctly and well? and will she succed in her quest? That's for me to know...and you to hopefully find out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9