Customer Reviews for

Dragonswan

Average Rating 4
( 497 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(192)

4 Star

(139)

3 Star

(97)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

supernatural and romantic

Amazingly interesting... This is a book that you will not want to put down till it is finished. It captures the readers attention and absorbs the reader in its pages. You'd escape the reality and become part of Kenyon's supernatural and extremely romantic reality.

posted by NeferetTG on March 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

No stars on this rating! Don't waste your time!

All show and no go, Ms. Kenyon is obviously going for the cash reward. Soft-core porn with a minimal story line. Had a lot of promise but a 68 page letdown. Leaves more questions than answers. no comparison to earlier dark hunter items.

posted by 4497810 on September 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    SO VERY COOL!!!

    I've read more recent offerings in Sherrilyn Kenyon's delightful Dark-Hunters series, but I recently stumbled across this earlier segment, a novella previously published as part of a collection. This one starts off seemingly like any other paranormal romance: quiet, mousy girl meets exotic, darkly sexy guy and they hit off great -- but then at the end of the first chapter, it kicks into high gear, and we find the darkly sexy guy is a shape-shifting, time-traveling dragon prince in search of an artifact she has been studying, not knowing it is a vital treasure he needs to save a loved one. It's a good, quick read, maybe even a little too quick: the snappy dialogue is a blast and the world just begs to be developed a little more, which leaves you with an 'Aww, ending so soon?' feeling as you turn the last few pages, but it still leaves you satisfied. I love the pamphlet size of this book: reminds me of the old-style serialized novels from the early days of popular fiction.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Great quick read...

    This was a great quick read. The only disappointment was that this wasn't a full length book~

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Dragons

    ?........

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2012

    good book

    I enjoyed this book fast paced

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Cute n short

    68 pages but worth the 99 cents!!! Loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Short read with likeable characters Review brought to you by OB

    Short read with likeable characters

    Review brought to you by OBS staff member Heidi

    Dragonswan is a novella in the Dark-hunter series that introduces us to Sebastian and his race, the Drakos, which is a species that is part human and part dragon. He was tricked by an enemy and it cost him his sister’s life and caused him to be banished from his race. Now he is traveling into the future (one of his many powers) to our current time to recover a tapestry his sister had created showing their history in order to save his brother’s life.

    While staking out where the museum keeps the tapestry, Sebastian stumbles upon a female, Channon, who is studying the tapestry. He can’t take the relic until midnight so he decides to spend the time with her.

    Sebastian and Channon have a great time together and Sebastian doesn’t want to leave her, but he has a job to do. Little does he know the fates have more in store for them. While stealing the tapestry he notices, by a telltale mark that appears on his hand that he has been mated to Channon. He now must protect her until the mark disappears or he must bond with her.

    He takes her back to his time in the middle ages. The man side of him and his dragon side are fighting each other over what to do with Channon, causing Sebastian to lose his powers. And wouldn’t you know that that’s when his enemies appear. He now must try to protect her without his powers, but it could cost him his life.

    This book starts off with Sebastian and Channon’s sexual attraction right away and it made me inwardly groan as I figured that this would just be another smutty romance book with no real storyline. Luckily, I was pleasantly surprised that I ended up really liking this book. It’s a short book and fast read and the characters are likable, although Channon is a bit on the bland side. What she lacks, Sebastian more than makes up for in yummy-ness!! You can’t help, but like him and root for the couple.

    Also, I love mythology and loved how Kenyon tied a little bit of it into this story, but not so much that you get overwhelmed by it.

    I do think that it did get a bit to wordy with Sebastian explaining how Channon can claim him (if she chooses to), but other than that the book flowed well and made me want to continue with the series.

    I think some short stories try to rush too much and the story suffers or longer novels tend to drag out to long and don’t keep my interest, but I felt this book was like baby bear’s things in Goldilocks and the Three Bears and was just right… a perfect length. I can’t wait to delve further into the world that Kenyon has created for us.

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Dark Hunter Fan

    I gave it a four because it was too short. A dragon deserves a detail storyline. But still a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    check it out

    Have read many of Sherrilyn Kenyon's books and would recommend them.
    Dragonswan was a fast read and very short but I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys Dark Hunter Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great little addition to this series

    This is a great short book or Novella that introduces one of the Princes of the man that created the Arcdian and Katagorian races. It similar to the other Dark Hunter books Kenyon has written, but as usual delivers a great plot with sexy, warrior type men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    Good, too short.

    I liked the story, wished there had been more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Dragon fan already

    If you have a thing for Dragons as well as romance this would be a good quick read for you. Not the best in her series but has some nice chemistry moments. It also has some great reference to learning self-confidence, and beauty in the eye of the beholder. I love Kenyon's Dark Hunter Series so I thought I would try this book. I was hoping she would come up with a character for the dragon that lived upstairs in Sanctuary. But I really wish at least one of the author's I read so much would have come up with an Asian Man for one of the heroes in one of their immortals series. That would be cool, seeing I have a attraction to Asian men and it seems it is always white guys that are the heroes. Latin might be cool too. No offense to white guys your handsome too, but there is something to be said for the exotic. Here was a great opportunity, I mean come on a Dragon... wide open for Asian Male!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    Great Short Book

    This book was so interesting I like how at 1st Channon was all entralled with the Dragon Tapestry until Sebastian walks in and all of a sudden her attention turns to him. I would love to see this made into an actual full length novel, it was definitely worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is a short novella. I felt the book could have gone further in the plot if it was longer. It had great potential, but fell short. When I finished it, I felt let down. 'Is that all there is?' I have read other S.K. books and really enjoyed them. This is a good book, and a quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    Too Short

    I loved the book (it had a good story and loveable characters, per norm for Sherrilyn Kenyon), but it was so short! There was enough potential there for a full-length novel...oh, well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7