BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dragonwings (Golden Mountain Chronicles: 1903)

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hey!!!!!!!!!

I read this book for my 8th grade book report. I am also Chinese. I think that this book was very good and I am reading this book for the 6th time. Every one I know loved this book.

posted by Anonymous on November 9, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

terrible

This book is terrible. I hated it so much. It took me a long time to try to get into it. They swear and there are really grusome parts in the story. I do not recommend this book for childrean that are twelve. I thought this book was absolutly terrible. I think it is the...
This book is terrible. I hated it so much. It took me a long time to try to get into it. They swear and there are really grusome parts in the story. I do not recommend this book for childrean that are twelve. I thought this book was absolutly terrible. I think it is the worst book i have ever read. And i have have a lot of books and this one was the worst in history of terrible books. This book should have never been published.

posted by cookie40 on November 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    Hey!!!!!!!!!

    I read this book for my 8th grade book report. I am also Chinese. I think that this book was very good and I am reading this book for the 6th time. Every one I know loved this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    terrible

    This book is terrible. I hated it so much. It took me a long time to try to get into it. They swear and there are really grusome parts in the story. I do not recommend this book for childrean that are twelve. I thought this book was absolutly terrible. I think it is the worst book i have ever read. And i have have a lot of books and this one was the worst in history of terrible books. This book should have never been published.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    Great book!

    I think this book is a perfect story for anyone. Yes, it does take some time to get into, but once you do, you can't put it down. It's not very long, because I wish it was. I haven't read the unabridged version yet, but I plan to. An indepth story where you can take a look around, and feel guilty about chastizing someone for their ethnicity. Some ironic twists threw me off-guard, so if you plan on reading Dragonwings, be on your toes!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Dragonwings Takes Off with the Reader On Board!

    Laurence Yep paints such a vibrant picture of turn-of-the-century San Fransisco that for the few days I was reading this book, I felt as if I was there myself. Dragonwings is told from the eyes of a young Chinese boy, Moon Shadow, who leaves his mother in China to join his father in the United States. The book follows the boy through this strange new land and a journey within himself. Moon Shadow¿s road through the United States is far from paved with gold. He learns to deal with demons and dragons as well as his father and his fellow companymen. Yep¿s fluent use of figurative language makes Moon Shadow¿s story come to life on the page. I could hear the sounds and smell the smells. This book would make an excellent addition to any library, not just young adult. There are some adult themes such as racism and drug dependence so caution should be taken when introducing this to younger adults. With themes such as immigration, aviation and Yep¿s imaginative writing, Dragonwings could be related to many disciplines including the Social Studies, Science and Literature. Yep produces a complete package with this installment of his Golden Mountain Chronicles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2000

    A fabulous tale.

    I loved the suspense. I was quite glad for them when their 'flying machine' was finished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 1999

    Dragonwings, a story with a backround...

    Though Dragonwings may only be considered for a 9-12 year old audience but this story can be read, and enjoyed, by people from an assortment of ages. This story is about Chinese laborers who come to San Fransico to make a better life. They come over and have to live in their own section of the town, and weren't able to take part in American jobs. The main characters have to make it through all of their struggles. Through all of this, Windrider, the main character wants to pursue his dream, flying...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    /

    j

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    Not a Great Book . . .

    Dragonwings by Laurence Yep
    Dragonwings is about a young Chinese boy named Moon Shadow who has lived in a small village all of his life. He comes to America and with his father in a Chinatown. The book is shows the hardships that emigrants faced in the early 1900s.
    Moon Shadow and his father, Windrider, get to know each other. They also learn more about other characters like Uncle, Lefty and White Deer. They are the leaders of the company where they all work. Moon shadow learns a lot about hard work. The Chinese stay in their own village and stay away from the "demons", the white people. When Windrider goes to see the dragon king he finds out that in his former life he was a dragon that healed other dragons. He was reborn as a softskin after he decided to show off by trying to blow out the sun. The dragon king says that after Windrider was reborn he still had the power to heal in his hands. Windrider was very talented at fixing machines. The dragon king said he would make Windrider a dragon again if he passed a series of tests in his human life.
    Laurence yep did a good job portraying the hardships that emigrants faced in the early 1900s. Still, it was not the most exciting book I have read. In terms of vocabulary it was easy for me to understand. It does include some violence though, so it wouldn't be good for younger children to read. The book didn't really make me think because it doesn't really relate to my life in any way.
    Overall the book is okay but I really recommend it to younger children or girls. I think it is more the type of book a guy would read. The book did show me more about the San Francisco earthquake and gave a look into how the Chinese emigrants lived.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    DO NOT READ!

    I had to read this in school and i completly HATED it! Well, if you have to read it, don't argue with your teacher but really, this was TERRIBLE! It was really violent and gross. The ending was terrible and the story didn't even come together. Hope this is helpful!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2007

    Your Dreams Will Fly

    Dragonwings by Laurence Yep is an outstanding book. A Cinese boy and his father live and work in America so that the rest of their family in China have enough moneyto live. The boys father has a dream. A dream to fly! The two go to live with a white demoness. whil they are living there a terrible earthquake hits that town. Are the two going to live? Are they going to fly? You will have to read the book to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    GREAT!

    I love all of the Yep Books, Especially the Land of the GOlden Mountain ones. Dragonwings was a touching story which i can relate to.One of the greatest books alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    Wow

    okay i can read really quick but it took me such a long time to read this book. I have to admit i fell in love w/ the company. but still it was very boring. I even read 2 books while i was still reading this. some peple are saying that they are being horrible towrads Americans. Calling them demons for almost the whole entire book. I relly don't appreciate it , but you also need to think that this was set during a time where immigrants( our main char.) were not treated right. And their families in their homeland didnt have much contact except a ltter once in a while. overall, i think this book was written well and it was based on a good story. But i also have to say that it was boring and long.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    Dragonwings, a great one to some but not to many others

    As this book is a class novel at my school UNIS, the bulk of the class think of the book as a boring and too descriptive book. I, being Chinese, admit the racist words but saying that it is a true feeling for some Chinese and that it was a feeling of the PAST. Those who read shouldn't take it as a truth but a joke. More to the story, it wouldn't be what someone would expect, being un-needingly specific in detail. Don't be expected to get lost or bored (Unlike us, we were FORCED!!!) but you may try to enjoy it. Not the good type of book for me, and many others I think, even with a boring and obvious twist.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    its alright

    all the 7th graders going to 8th grade have to read this book.so far i bearly finished chapter 1 it is okay.but the problem is that the chapters are to long.an their is alittle bit of raicisim on the the tang people wich are he chinesse people.but its an alright book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2003

    It was awesome!!!

    I felt this book was intresting, and had a very good storyline. Not only, this book had a lot of conflict of famlies,and life itself. I also felt this book was a diary. This book was great and I recommend this to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2003

    Not Good

    Parents and Children be warned! This book is very racist. Americans are called demons and other names and the Yang people are almost perfect. I did not find the book heartwarming at all. Think twice before buying this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2003

    It was OK

    I felt this book was very dull and at sometimes confusing. It didn't like it much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2003

    Dragonwings

    Dragonwings is an excellent, well-written story. It portrays the struggles that a boy and his father faced, and it elegantly reflected the message that it is important to dream. The plot captured my heart, and I thoroghly enjoyed this touching, heart-moving story. It must be read my everyone!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2002

    The beauty of dragons

    Although Dragonwings in not a riveting page-turner, especially in the beginning, it is a beautifully written story that provides a thoughtful look into the lives of Chinese-Americans. It is based on the first flight of a Chinese-America in 1909, but since the details of his life are sparse, Yep characterizes this book more as historical fantasy. It is also, however, included in the Asian multi-cultural genre because of the description about the Chinese-Americans in early 20th century San Francisco. Moon Shadow, the main character and narrator, travels across the ocean from China to meet and live with the father he has never met. While in America, Moon Shadow eventually learns how to speak and write English as he helps his father and other relatives in their laundry company. He discovers firsthand the cruelty of prejudice and the importance of family ties in surviving difficult situations. Gradually, as he comes to know and respect his father, he learns of his father¿s dream to fly- to make Dragonwings- because of his belief that he was once a great Dragon healer. This book traces the lives of Moon Shadow and his father as they work to reach their goal¿and make friends with two American ¿demons¿¿while it simultaneously conveys to the American reader the Chinese people¿s sense of loyalty, determined work ethic, and persevering strength. Yep also integrates many Chinese myths or legends (such as their perception of dragons) to give readers a better understanding of an unfamiliar culture. This book is both interesting to read and important as a multi-cultural novel for young adults. I recommend it to anyone who has ever aspired to do something that everyone else said was unattainable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2002

    A great book

    Laurence Yep provides a twist of history and suspense in this novel. Eight year old Moon Shadow sails from China to join his father in America. Moon Shadow leaves his mother and grandmother behind to meet his father, Windrider, for the first time. Moon Shadow immediately grew close to his father and supports his father's courageous dream. Windrider sacrifices many of the amenities of life to pursue his dream of creating a "flying machine". During the trials of their newly created relationship, they were also consistently facing obstacles created by their fellow Chinamen. Windriders dedication is extremely inspirational. This historical novel leads the reader through a great experience. The dialogue represents realistic and precise conversations that a father and son would have. The language of the book has a smooth and clear flow . Yep also creates suspension of disbelief throughout the book. This book would provide a great tool for teachers to use in the classroom. It provides great opportunities to introduce an array of different topics. Some of these topics include immigration, aviation, and the effects of earthquakes. This novel is a pleasure to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2