Customer Reviews for

Drake of Tanith

Average Rating 4.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

I've read all of Heather Killough Walden's books but this series is by far my favorite! Everything about this book is fantastic, from the action, to the romance. Heather has a way of making a book sooo steamy but keeping it totally pg13. She is a truly gifted writer and...
I've read all of Heather Killough Walden's books but this series is by far my favorite! Everything about this book is fantastic, from the action, to the romance. Heather has a way of making a book sooo steamy but keeping it totally pg13. She is a truly gifted writer and I can't wait for more!

posted by Jazmine__ on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

thrilled with this chapter of Raven's story

I received this book from the author, I was beyond thrilled to receive it and am equally thrilled to be reviewing it.
"The Chosen Soul" was the very first book I read by author Heather Killough-Walden. It was her first book I recommended and I have gotten rave enthusi...
I received this book from the author, I was beyond thrilled to receive it and am equally thrilled to be reviewing it.
"The Chosen Soul" was the very first book I read by author Heather Killough-Walden. It was her first book I recommended and I have gotten rave enthusiasm from everyone I've ever told about this book. They now come to me for book suggestions and I have recommended every one of Heather's books. Needless to say, I've been on pins and needles for this sequel since the beginning, and of course, I have recommended it to everyone I know. I read and re-read "The Chosen Soul" so I could be up to speed on everything that would happen in "Drake of Tanith" I have to tell you, I was not disappointed in the least.

"Drake of Tanith" picks up a month after the end of "The Chosen Soul". Of course your wondering what happened in that month. You wonder if you'll ever see Drake again for Raven's sake. Its amazing how the author can take you from realm to realm and describe everything so vividly that you could swear you've either been there before or your standing there now. That's how it is when you read Drake's perspective. It remarkable and engorging and you can't get enough. The fact that the love he feels for Raven is what has kept him alive and sane is beyond romantic (every girl wants this romance). I can't even imagine the loyalty he felt for her to agree to such a place in the first place. Of course Raven doesn't know this, but in the tradition of most romances, what girl does? I absolutely love the way the author has this book (like all her books) being told in multiple narratives. You hear from Loki's perspective, Drake's perspective, The elf prince, the elf princess, Raven, and any and all characters have their own say in this story. I love that you can see what is going on in Raven's mind then turn the next chapter and see what Drake was thinking at the same time. She's questioning him, he's admiring her, its wonderful. I often found myself wishing I was a character in this book with the dangerously handsome secret admirer, the off the wall beauty and of course all those cool kick ass magic powers. While you are left pining for the imminent traditional Heather Killough-Walden style love scene, you are also left with the promise of a third, extremely steamy addition to this addicting and wonderful series. I am beyond thrilled with this chapter in Raven's life and simply lack the patience for the third installment. If you haven't read this I highly recommend it. If you enjoy fantasy, paranormal, history, and just want to escape into another world for awhile, look no further. Of course while your looking at this, take a second to head over to "The Chosen Soul" page as well. You can't have your main course without your appetizer after all, now we sit back and wait for dessert...

posted by toe-wee on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Amazing!

    I've read all of Heather Killough Walden's books but this series is by far my favorite! Everything about this book is fantastic, from the action, to the romance. Heather has a way of making a book sooo steamy but keeping it totally pg13. She is a truly gifted writer and I can't wait for more!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Captivating

    This riveting second novel to The Chosen Soul series follows the same unique writing style shown in the first novel by Heather. The different perspective throughout the novel allows the reader to relate and connect to the characters and their different stages of the novel allowing her readers to share with the characters development throughout the novel. This style of writing keeps the readers wanting more. Following the storyline from the first novel in the series enchants the reader again from the first page allowing, the reader to incorporate themselves into the story, enveloping the reader into the world of Raven Gray and Drake of Tanith. Heather¿s realistic and detailed characters enchants the reader keeping them entangled in the story till the very end. The novel is jam-packed with adventure and romance that readers find intriguing. The breathtakingly written novel, Drake of Tainth is far from implausible. Allowing the readers to evade the confines of reality if only for a little while. I for one can not wait till the next installment of The Chosen Soul series.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Loved it

    LOVE THIS SERIES! I could not put it down until I hit the last page. I cant wait till the next one!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST READ!!! Yet another great book by HKW

    Drake of Tanith is yet another wonderfully written portal to the realms of fantasy Heather Killough Walden creates. In this sequel to The Chosen Soul you learn more about the characters you have come to love in the first book while meeting a few more characters your going to either love, hate or love to hate. Full of intriguing plot twists, adventure and surprises this book will keep you turning the pages wanting more. Be prepared to to get lost in the lives of Raven Grey, the beautiful chosen soul that seems to attract trouble, Drake of Tanith the mysterious and dangerously handsome bounty hunter fighting against the clock ticking down till he is forced to choose between losing his soul or the woman he loves, Loki Grey, Raven's twin brother who tries so hard to protect his sister even as he faces his own loss of faith and all the other masterfully written characters caught in a battle of good and evil between Gods, Devils, the the magical Fae. I couldn't put this book down all i can say is.... I loved it!! and i am sure you will too. I can't wait for the next book in this series. Like everything else Heather Killough Walden has written this book is a must read and a great addition to any book collection.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Fantastic!

    Heather Killough-Walden does it again! Drake of Tanith is a wonderful sequel to The Chosen Soul. Killough-Walden successfully weaves a dramatic and suspenseful story of numerous "pawns" who continuously get caught up in things much bigger them. This book is very detailed, descriptive, and simply amazing...a must read!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    The one I've been waiting on!

    This is the one series of Heather's that I have been waiting on pins and needles for...The Chosen Soul was intriguing and mysterious and I loved how Heather manipulated the conspiracies and dangers to bring Raven and Drake together. I was looking forward to this same style with Drake and she did not disappoint me! I love how this book picked up where The Chosen Soul left off and how the focus was more on Drake's perspective giving the reader the ability to better understand his motivations and actions, thus fall more in love with his character...including his evil side. My only disappointment in this was with Raven Winter. She's a strong character, a strong woman and a powerful demon in her own right, but tends to act like a wuss unless she's ticked off and can be a little to naive for what¿s expected of her character. I'm hoping that we'll see Raven Winter grow up a little in both maturity and emotions, learn to master her powers better, and use what happened in Drake to grow a little more backbone and fight for what she wants and her man instead of hiding all the time! However, I did see growth in her character since The Chosen Soul, so I don't think I will be disappointed at all in the coming installments... except now I have to wait forever for the next book and she's left us hanging at the end¿well played. I hope she doesn¿t wrap this series up to quickly, there's a lot more story here to tell! Thanks Heather!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    As Expected

    I have yet to come across a book of HKW that I do not like. This is a continuing story with strong characters. Like the first book, The Chosen Soul this is a page turner and I am on pins and needles for upcoming book(s).

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Read it!

    I loved this book! I loved how it picked right up after Chosen Soul and continued the pace right through. I loved how it showed the different facets of Drake and his depth of character. I loved how the book drew me in and didn't let me go until there was no more words on the page. I am eagerly awaiting the next in the series. This book stuck in my mind and I tried to think what I would have liked to see different...I had to honestly answer: nothing. I loved it and will be rereading it many many times.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Really entertaining like the first book of the series!

    I enjoyed this book as much as I enjoyed CHosen Soul. The characters are all interesting and you really get to know them as the story develops. The world that Killough-Walden created is complex and intriguing. You can never guess what is going to happen next.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Excellent book!!!

    I loved The Chosen Soul and the author really kept the ball rolling in this book. We are introduced to the God of Magic and I must say he is by far my favorite! Drake turns out to be a lot more complicated and we learn a great deal about his character and his horrible father. The fae are as tricky as ever and I'm not sure how I feel about the Prince, his sister on the other hand is despicable. At any rate, this is a great adventure and I look forward to the next edition to this series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Highly Highly Recommended

    Must read....enjoyed first page to last!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Also read the chosen soul. Fantastic reads both. But a little fr

    Also read the chosen soul. Fantastic reads both. But a little frustrated with the ending and not liking the wait for book 3. Actually, if i had known it was a series, i never would have gotten it. Im so tired of series. I just like to read a good story from start to finish in one book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    HKW does it again!! =)

    Drake of Tanith picked up where The Chosen Soul leaves off and left this reader immersed in the same delicious chemistry that I recalled from book one. Drake and Raven are strong, beautiful characters that you just root for! The fantasy world that HKW creates is second to none, and honestly, I don't know where she comes up with this stuff!! :) It was a great book....but knowing the quality of Heather Killough-Walden's other work, that was no surprise!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Wonderful, wonderful

    I was thoroughly enthralled by this book. It is so much more than just a quick romance read. Such deep insight into what is good and what is evil. Can't wait for the next installment for Drake & Raven to satisfy their love for each other and find a way to be together as the soul-mates they were meant to be.
    Please do not keep us waiting to long for the next installment.
    Great writing...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Keeps you wanting more

    This book captures you from the moment you start reading and you will not want to put it down! The only negative thing I can say is I am sad I read it so quickly and can't wait for the next installment!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    The characters and plot were well developed and the story overal

    The characters and plot were well developed and the story overall was well thoght out. When is the next in this series due out?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Love this series

    Can't wait for the third book. Had a hard time putting the first two books down. If you like romance, suspense, and excitement you will like this series. Wish I knew when the third book comes out!!!!!!!"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Highly recommend reading this one!

    Action packed and riveting, but it's killing me to wait to see what happens in the next book. Cliffhangers drive me crazy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Highly Recommend!!

    I hope those to get together!!! Cant wait to read the next one!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Even better than the first

    This second book of the series is great. I couldn't put it down. Totally fell in love with Drake!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5