Customer Reviews for

Dramarama

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute but...

    This book was really cute and held my attention to the end but then it kind of left me hanging. It seemed like there would be some huge blow out or something really big and amazing would happen, but the end just sort of petered out. Otherwise it was a fun, easy read. Great for anyone into theaters, musicals, summer camp, or just another winner written by E. Lockhart. She is a great author and i know she could have given this book more of a closing, unless she is thinking of having a sequel, but i am kind of doubting that. But as i said, if you are looking for a fast, fun read, check this out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    Dramarama

    Lauren H
    English 9- aquas
    Mrs. Zurkowski
    September 21, 2009
    Book Review- Dramarama by E. Lockhart
    I think this is a great book, what I liked about this book was it showed how to be a real friend , for example when Demi got caught drinking alcohol on the roof top Sarah took the blame for it, and she got kicked out of wildewood instead of Demi. I think only a true friend would do this. In this book Sarah was razzle dazzled deprived and wanted to get away from her home town Brenton, so she went to wildewood academy for the summer, along the way she made a friend, Demi. They did everything together. But when they arrived at wildewood Demi was a star, and for once he could be himself, and Sarah wasn't and seemed to be jealous, therefore her and Demi fought a lot and started to grow a part. In the end of the story Sarah made a sacrifice for her friendship. Honestly I think this was a good book, it can teach you how to be a good reliable friend; also it shows that anyone can be your friend. It doesn't matter what color they are, or what they look like, or there sexuality. I feel this way about this book because I really liked it, for example this book has a meaningful theme, don't be selfish and always put you first, think about other people. I think wildewood was a good plot for this book; it made the book more interesting and kept the reader wanting to read more. This book has a great message that good friends are hard to find, don't take advantage of them because one day you will regret it. In conclusion I would recommend you to read this book I think it is a must read! And if you like drama it's the book for you, it will keep you wanting to read more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Great Book......Only problem is the ending!!!!

    I have been having issues finding books lately,but yesterday I went to BN and had more luck! I finished Dramarama in a day! It was so good---funny,lighthearted,and a little sad! There was only one thing I didn't like about the book---the ending. It was unexpected and a little depressing. All and all, if you are looking for a good summer read, Dramarama, is the book for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    Fiona M. Book Review

    Dramarama by E. Lockhart is an exciting story for teens. I enjoyed Dramarama so much because it had a lot of material that I, as a teen, could relate too. The story had a lot of detail and it even felt like you were watching a movie! The story's main character, Sadye, goes to a top-notch drama camp with her best friend. She struggles to fit in, impress all her acting coaches, and try to keep her best friend. She also learns many important life lessons through these events. It is a powerful story and expresses a lot of emotion. E. Lockhart really put a lot of thought into this book by making it teen-friendly. I really enjoyed the parts when Sayde and Demi were talking to their camera, recording all the details and events happening at the camp. I got to see their conversation and it made the book more fun to read. I liked reading about the plays the drama camp students were performing. I enjoyed it because I've seen some of the plays, and other ones I've heard of. It got me more into the book because it was something I knew about. Another part that made the story very interesting was the part when Demi gets into some trouble. Both Sadye and Demi had to be brave people and face this difficult situation. Each part of this story is intriguing and exciting! I really recommend this book to all teens. It was a lot of acting and drama material, but that wasn't what the whole story was about. Overall, I think it was a 4 out of 5 stars on my book rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    Excellent Book!

    Dramarama was a wonderfully written book by E.Lockhart which conveys the problems teenagers have growing up such as making friends, finding their identity, and underage drinking. I really liked how the author made sure the reader could relate to the characters. The plot was gripping and I did not want to put the book down. Dramarama is a story about Sadye who goes through obstacles while at her drama summer camp. She meets new friends, but goes through difficulties in keeping them. Sadye has to watch while her best friend, Demi, gets all the good parts in the play and has an awesome time at summer camp. Unlike Sadye, who talks back to directors and does not get the parts she wants. Even though she gets in trouble for talking back, I admired Sadye for sticking up for what she believed was right. Lockhart did a fine job in making sure Sadye spoke her mind.
    There are many events in the story young adults can relate too for instance, talking behind people's backs. This is a common high school experience for teenagers. Sadye experienced the harm in talking about one of her friends and had to go through the hardship in fixing the problem. Many teenagers "recreate" themselves to try and be cooler or different then who they normally are, when they go to new places such as schools or summer camps. Sadye does not tell the whole truth about herself and she fabricates stories about who she wishes she was. In the end, all her mistruths are exposed. Underage drinking is also a problem that relates Sadye and Demi to teenagers today. Peer pressure can lead teenagers to drink. Sadye and Demi's friends brought back beer and pressured them to drink it. The drinking resulted in Sadye getting kicked out and she could not finish her summer camp. Even though she could not finish out the summer at camp, she realized who was. This was a really fantastic book that shows the problems teenagers have growing up and that in the end they can work out okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    Dramarama was a great, realistic book, and it showed what a true friend really is.

    In the book Dramarama by E. Lockhart, the adventures of a group of teens at Wildewood Academy for the Performing Arts lived up to its namesake. For best friends Sadye and Demi, going to summer camp was indeed filled with drama. In between acting, singing and dancing classes, and rehearsal for the plays, there was still plenty of time for friendships to flourish and deteriorate, and for relationships to blossom and wither. Written in Sadye's point of view, Dramarama surely kept me on my toes throughout the entire book. After an audition in front of the instructors at the camp, the teens were given parts in at least one of three musicals and one play -Little Shop of Horrors, Show Boat, Bye Bye Birdie, and A Midsummer Night's Dream. The actors with the most potential were placed in the 10-day wonder play, Guys and Dolls. Sadye always managed to find some way to mix things up, from arguing with her instructors to arguing with her friends, old and new. In the end, though, despite her many disputes with Demi, her true character shined as she did something only a true friend would do for Demi, which I think is a great moral for this story.
    I thought this book was amazingly realistic, but it did contain some modern, widely-debated topics. This would not be a good book for someone who does not like homosexuals or African Americans, because of the diversity of the characters. It really displayed how grueling auditioning and practicing for a play was, but it would be all worth it for the end result. As a whole, I thought Dramarama was a really good story that demonstrated all aspects of friendship. It is great for high school students, and it was the perfect balance of real-life scenarios and drama. E. Lockhart is an amazing author, and Dramarama gets an 8 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    a REALLY good book

    Okay. This book was soooo good. You will fall in love with the characters fast!¿Personally my favorite was Demi. I wouldn't say it was the best, best, BEST book I've ever read, but it was defiantly an exciting and really cute book¿ Sadye and Demi were amazing characters, and I think people will really be able to relate to them... or at least they reminded me of my best friend and me. The best part of this book was that it was all about theatre... Dramarama is a lot better then most of the other books that I have read¿ It is really funny and has a great plot. Also, E. Lockhart is an amazing writer and she really knows how to write a good book. I have read multiple of her books and they are all good. The main idea of his book is that our lives are FULL of drama, and that¿s the way it'll always be. This book really shows the goods¿ and beds to the whole drama and theater experience. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes drama/theater because the book really takes that whole experience and 'makes fun of it'¿ in a good way. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    Perfect

    This book totally hits home because i am a total drama geek. It shows the goods and bads to the whole drama experience, and there were so many times when i laughed out loud. In public. People stared. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes drama because the whole thing feels like some sort of inside joke. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1