Customer Reviews for

Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Love

    Natasha is my millde name

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge Mark Batterson, au

    Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge
    Mark Batterson, author of The Circle Maker has written a devotional for readers participating in 40 days of prayer. He has collected stories containing answered prayers. He draws on his own experiences and those of others. Each daily selection is an encouraging and faith-building devotional. He style is conversational and easy to read. His enthusiasm and faith is contagious.
    I found myself looking forward to reading the next selection every morning. This devotional is a great way to focus on prayer and God’s faithfulness. I heartily recommend it for those readers who want a lively and enthusiastic shot of faith. I received a free copy from Zondervan and this is my honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    The 40 Day Prayer Challenge...This book was inspirational and co

    The 40 Day Prayer Challenge...This book was inspirational and convicting. I read through it quickly so that I could post a review on it but I know I need to read it again. I may even share this with my church's small group.

    Last year my pastor had a short sermon on drawing circles. He even passed out a piece of chalk which I still have in my Bible. He talked about Mark Batterson's book The Circle Maker, which I have not read. When I saw this book I felt drawn to read it and I am so glad I did.

    My prayer life is lacking and I wasn't even sure how to go about it nor did I have the conviction to follow through with it. This book has inspired me to pray more, to pray more specifically, to pray better and to expect God's work.

    The key words there are "God's work". I have to learn to discern what God wants to happen not what I want to happen. If it isn't God's will the answers will almost always be no.

    This book is so easy to read and enjoyable. This is set up to be read over 40 days. Each day is meant to challenge the way we pray, what we pray for and how long we should pray. Which is, by the way, for as long as it takes to get an answer. The back of the book asks: " Do you pray as often and as boldly as you want to? There is a way to experience a deeper, more passionate, persistent, and intimate prayer life. "

    This book contains many testimonies from faithful prayer warriors. It is meant to encourage us and give us a desire to become bolder in our prayers and experience growth in our faith. The prayers we are to pray are for God's glory not ours. They are to further His kingdom and to draw us and others closer to Him.

    I definitely recommend this book. I wish I had read this book years ago.

    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Draw the Circle :The 40 Day Prayer Challenge by Mark Batterson i

    Draw the Circle :The 40 Day Prayer Challenge by Mark Batterson is part of a growing genre of 40 day devotional books. The 40 day wilderness account in the new testament gospel of Matthew chapter 4 has inspired countless books and devotionsls based on the 40 day principle of changing one's life and growing closer to God. Though the themes vary- the 40 day devotional pattern is significant. In contrast to yearly devotionals, 40 day devotionals tend to be more focused in a specific themed and can be complered in a more managable amount of time.

    Batterson's devotional is based on his original book- The Circle Maker. Nevertheless, those readers who never read the previous book can still enjoy this independent devotional. As the bible teaches prayer can change lives. It is a wonder how so many Christians overlook something so basic as prayer. The author brings to light the real power of prayer for the individual and the lives around him or her. Based heavily on personsal anecdotes and scripture the reader is empowered to seek out the power of prayer for himself. Many of the stories center around how the reader can minister to those around him- strangers as well as familiar faces alike. It teaches the reader to be in tune with the proddings of the Holy Spirit. This book is certainly not to encourage the introverted solitary individual. The author encourages the reader to take a chance- a risk- and leave tge confines of his circle of comfort- to discard social norms of personal space and privacy- in order to reach out to those in need, The idea is that we are tools of the Holy Spirit sometimes called to do a work or deliver a message for others- even strangers. For those who want a comfortable book while sitting at home - for self help- this isn't it. This book is for those who want to get out and make a difference.

    As a blogger for booksneeze I received this book published by Zondervan publishers for the purpose of writing this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Repetitive

    Much of the book repeats the original.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Chapter 13: Ezumalid's Journey

    Days Earlier....
    After Omereg had found Ezumalid by the waterfall, he led Ezumalid down to his house by the end of the stream. Ezumalid had really thought Omereg was dead from the growing giant's bane, but at that time, Omereg seemed very determined. "Here," Omereg told him, and they entered. Ezumalid had hunger pains, and he felt really empty there. "I guess you're hungry," Omereg looked at Ezumalid's hungry face. "Ye-a," Ezumalid said weakly. Omereg snapped and food started appearing all over the long table in the cabin. "Help yourself," Omereg laughed at Ezumalid's surprised expression. "Wow...how?" Ezumalid asked, shocked. Omereg waved his hand away and told him to eat. There were meat roast, mash potatoes, peas, blueberry pie and custard, and tons of other delicious servings. Ezumalid almost ate every single serving. After he ate, Omereg told him, "Get some sleep. I'll see you tommorrow. As Ezumalid slept, he dreamed about Brianna, Wenalt, and this boy named Dion and Mantala. He dreamed about Brianna, and saw her walking around the dungeon, pacing back and forth, Mantala laying weak on the stone ground. "Oh no," Brianna cried, "I'm going to be executed tommorrow morning!"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    So Excellent!

    I'm re-reading it again! Powerful insights about the nature of prayer and about our powerful awesome God!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Circle Maker prayer challenge

    A must read if your prayer life is stagnant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Awesome!!

    Awesome!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1