BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Drawing of the Three: (The Dark Tower #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 378 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Slow mid-read, otherwise good

    First off let me state, I am writing this from my Nook. I am not a fan of Stephen King. Many times I have sat down with a popular novel of his only to stop reading midway. However, with the Dark Tower series, I have read the first two novels and am going to purchase the third as soon as this review is written. The Drawing of The Three, for me, was not quite as engrossing. The addition of the three new characters was a mixed bag. Detta more specifically, had me skipping large chunks of words as her performance was over the top. This made the book drag and I found myself counting how many pages were left every time she spoke. The overall quality of the story shines through despite Detta. There is just enough action to conflict to keep you in suspense, wondering what will come next. Even if you are not generally a Stephen King fan I recommend giving this series a try. You will be glad, like I, that you did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    My first encounter with Roland was in the short story featured i

    My first encounter with Roland was in the short story featured in "Everything's Eventual".  I then read the first book in the series and needed to find out more about Roland and his quest.  After having read this second book I am hooked.  This book has a good amount of action and suspense, and it reveals more about Roland's back story.  I did not particularly care for Detta, but that, to me, is just a testament to how good a writer King is.  I'm sure if I had met her in real life I would have been equally as annoyed with her caricature of a horrible stereotype.  I really enjoyed this book, and I am really enjoying getting to know Roland more.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Wow!

    This book opens.the eyes of the reader to what jake ment at the gorge in the last gunslinger. There are more worlds than just the one. The new caractors each have their role to play in rolands quest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Better the second time.

    Reread it, better the second time around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    Again, the Dark Tower continues to be unlike any other book seri

    Again, the Dark Tower continues to be unlike any other book series that I've ever read. With the second installment (The Drawing of the Three) though, it appears to be gaining an idea of where it wants to go. It no longer lacks the decisiveness that The Gunslinger needed. In addition the writing is leaps and bounds above the first book. While I don't think The Gunslinger could be considered bad writing, I also don't think it would be considered good writing. The Drawing of the Three is most certainly good writing, and it can probably be agreed on that it is above simply good writing.

    When the story first starts up the reader is thrust into a completely new situation that doesn't appear to have much with the last book. Because Roland is in the same situation it really helps the reader to form some connection with Roland. This was lacking in the first book and really helps to get the ball rolling so to speak. The story begins to progress at a much more rapid rate than the previous book did and we soon begin to see what Rolands reading will lead to.

    With each card representing a different person who will be important to finding the dark tower it quickly becomes obvious that Roland will be forced to pull each of these people from their own worlds. The question is, are they all from the same world? It turns out that the short answer to that question is yes, they're all from our world. The long answer is, to an extent yes but they each have special circumstances surrounding them that show why they were picked as well as what the descriptions on the cards representing them meant.

    What really got me hooked on the book though was the masterful job that King does of showing Roland in our world; a world that he is completely unfamiliar with. It allows the reader to finally empathize with Roland. Prior to this Roland seemed like a quiet, unfeeling, cold character. But his confusion of the situations that he finds himself in allow the reader to put themselves in the character's shoes. How would you like to be transported into a world that is so different from your own? I think one of the best details that King includes is Roland's reaction to the paper being wasted. To him it's worth more than gold is, and yet how often do we carelessly throw it away?

    The story continues to progress, the characters continue to grow, and the reader slowly gains knowledge throughout the rest of the story. By the end of the second book we are still a ways from knowing how everything will play out, but it feels as if we have some stake in the world that King has built at least. It is no longer this purely confusing mystery, it is now a somewhat confusing mystery where you can see the different puzzle pieces but haven't quite figured out how they fit together (and you may only have about half of them as well.)

    Overall I greatly enjoyed this story, and give it a 4.5/5.

    P.S. I highly encourage everyone to read King's notes in the books. They really help to give the reader an idea of what his thought process is as well as recapping the previous book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    Very Good!

    Each volume gets better and better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    It was a hard book to put down once I got into it Like all Stephen King books, it is full of twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Big Improvement...

    So far The Dark Tower is pretty good. The Drawing of the Three is a very good book but not Kings best. it is a big step up from The Gunslinger. heard its gets good on The Wastelands...can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2003

    A Good Read

    This entry into the series left me with mixed feelings. At times I found it hard to press on and continue reading, but King's pure talent always brought me back. To me, it lacked the originality and focus that The Gunslinger had. A must read though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2002

    The tower is closer

    Readers who have only recently been rewarded with discovering Stephen King's Dark Tower Series will find, by far, that Drawing is the most action packed edition in the set. We first Meet Eddie and Detta/Odetta here, and it is in this place that we best understand them. I started the series with this book (the second of four so far) and would not have changed the order even if I could. A King fan is incomplete without the Tower experience...and even for those only loosely interest, its a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2001

    The Best of the Dark Tower Series

    Although I prefer King's horror and speculative/science fiction, The Drawing of the Three is the best of the Dark Tower series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5