Customer Reviews for

The Dream-Hunter (Dream-Hunter Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 392 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(191)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A must get! Dream Hunter

Sherrilyn Kenyon is one of the best writers I have come across she has a way of making you think the characters in her books are real people and you get so caught up in the story that you live it with them. Each book in the Dark Hunter and Dream hunter tell the story of...
Sherrilyn Kenyon is one of the best writers I have come across she has a way of making you think the characters in her books are real people and you get so caught up in the story that you live it with them. Each book in the Dark Hunter and Dream hunter tell the story of one main Character how they became the way they are and how love helped them conquer. At least so far in what I have read. I wish I could spend time with her and pick her brain to get insight in how she creates such wonderful stories. She would become a best friend. If you have a chance read all her books it is worth it. My personal favorite is the first book I read of hers which was Acheron I actually cried at what happened to Acheron and wanted to console him. I am sorry I don't like to tell the story cause it ruins it for me so If you choose this book or another Sherrilyn's you won't be disappointed Ok I will say the men in her books see beauty that comes from the heart. Each Man has a past that has been so brutal that they have close themselves off to love but then you have to read to find out. I like how even when someone deems themself unloveable someone finds something to love in them and it changes thier life.

posted by ImriFatone on January 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not good!

The entire story was lacking for me. I never really built up a like for most of the characters. Even though some favorites appear later in the story, it still wasn't enough for me to care for the overall storyline. Really quite disappointing. This didn't have that speci...
The entire story was lacking for me. I never really built up a like for most of the characters. Even though some favorites appear later in the story, it still wasn't enough for me to care for the overall storyline. Really quite disappointing. This didn't have that special 'magic' that previous books in series have. This was not good!

posted by Yvette4 on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 394 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must get! Dream Hunter

    Sherrilyn Kenyon is one of the best writers I have come across she has a way of making you think the characters in her books are real people and you get so caught up in the story that you live it with them. Each book in the Dark Hunter and Dream hunter tell the story of one main Character how they became the way they are and how love helped them conquer. At least so far in what I have read. I wish I could spend time with her and pick her brain to get insight in how she creates such wonderful stories. She would become a best friend. If you have a chance read all her books it is worth it. My personal favorite is the first book I read of hers which was Acheron I actually cried at what happened to Acheron and wanted to console him. I am sorry I don't like to tell the story cause it ruins it for me so If you choose this book or another Sherrilyn's you won't be disappointed Ok I will say the men in her books see beauty that comes from the heart. Each Man has a past that has been so brutal that they have close themselves off to love but then you have to read to find out. I like how even when someone deems themself unloveable someone finds something to love in them and it changes thier life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What A Surprise!

    When I initially read the review on this book, I was enthralled. Being fascinated by Greek Mythology had something to do with it too. The names grabbed me as well. Arik & Geary. She has this thing for coming up with great names. To me the choice of a name for the hero and heroine is as important as the book itself. The hero, Arik, was fascinating in that he came from her dreams. How unusual and great is that? I was captivated by this concept. This story had me hooked from beginning to end. Sherrilyn Kenyon made me feel like I was there in Greece along with the characters. And what characters they were! Her secondary characters were as wonderful as the main ones. Especially Tory and Persephone. I loved them! All of the descriptions of the Greek Gods and Goddesses just came to life for me. Their interaction with each other made them very real. It was just a beautiful love story. I hated for it to end. Night Play is my favorite book by her and this one is next so far. I'm sure there will be others as I continue reading the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not good!

    The entire story was lacking for me. I never really built up a like for most of the characters. Even though some favorites appear later in the story, it still wasn't enough for me to care for the overall storyline. Really quite disappointing. This didn't have that special 'magic' that previous books in series have. This was not good!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh Boy!!!

    This is another one of Sherrilyn Kenyons' Drk Hunter series and it's great.I like the story line and the characters. I hope Sherrilyn does a book with tory in the future. That would be lots of fun

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ms. Sherrilyn Kenyon would never disapoint you!!!

    im glad id finally found myself to read this and got some of Tory's past. Sherrilyn Kenyon will always surprised you on her novel... you'll kept guessing what happen to them when you read Acheron and Tory's story... Sherrilyn Kenyon amazed me everytime i get a chance to grab one of her novel.... you'll love her characters she made... i swear im gonna miss Aric as much as i miss everyone in Sherrilyn's Dark-Hunter and Dream-Hunter Novels!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Squire

    Sherrilyn Kenyon is the best writer her best is the chronicles of nick series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Wonderful diversion. Well written

    I like this book and series because it is different from vampires, werewolves, and shadow hunters. I like the Ancient Greek mythology references.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Buster

    Was draged in and he was left there.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Good

    Great first dream hunter book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Highly Recommend!!! You will love them

    I was looking for a series to replace my JR Ward series since I was all caught up. Sherrily Kenyon has done this and more. I am so enjoying this series. I am now on book #8 and will continue reading them all until I have completed hers too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    A great book

    This, by far, is my fave dream hunter books. I love the charaters and the way they develop. And the oath that the book begins with set a great ton for the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    Love, love, love the Dark Hunter series....and this one did not

    Love, love, love the Dark Hunter series....and this one did not let me down. Zarek's (and Astrid) story was engaging, heartwarming, exciting and a guarenteed page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Absolutely recommend

    I am totally hooked on these books. Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Hunter to Love :)

    This is my first Drean-Hunter novel but it won't be my last. Sherrilyn Kenyon hits another homerun in her Dark-Dream-Were Hunter saga. I just can't get enough of these books. Love :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Oh My Greek Gods

    I wasn't sure if I would like this series although I am a fan of Kenyon's other books, but once I started reading it I of course had to fight myself to put it down so I could do other things I needed to (like eat and sleep lol). I love the stories involving the Greek Gods and the way Kenyon is able to bring love and romance into her writing with out needing long drawn out sex scenes. I even read a section to my 13yr old daughter who lives for stories about the Greek Gods and she can't wait to read them herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    I would highly recommended this book and all Sherrilyn Kenyon books

    I really love this book. All of Sherrilyn Kenyon books are great they get your attention. I read this book in a day that is how good this book was. You start reading and can not put it down. If you have not read this book or any of her other books, I would greatly suggest that you do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Where do I start...

    Let me start by saying I am a big fan of hte Dark Hunter series. I also started this series by reading book #3 'Dream Warrior' and loved it. I started this the other day because chronologically it is the next book in the Dark Hunter reading order.

    Now, I am about 1/3 of the way through the book and I have to say, I do not like Arik's character. There really is nothing in the heroine that is making me want to continue reading either. I like Solin, but he isn't one of the main characters. I want the story to start going around him because the others just aren't interesting.

    **deep sigh** that being said, I am going to try and be a trooper and get through the book so that I say I stuck it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Highly Recommended!!!

    I loved this book!!! The story caught me right from the beginning and keep me interested. I'm looking forward to reading more from Sherrilyn Kenyon. She is my new favorite author!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    must read

    love these books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 394 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20