Customer Reviews for

The Dream-Hunter (Dream-Hunter Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 392 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(191)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A must get! Dream Hunter

Sherrilyn Kenyon is one of the best writers I have come across she has a way of making you think the characters in her books are real people and you get so caught up in the story that you live it with them. Each book in the Dark Hunter and Dream hunter tell the story of...
Sherrilyn Kenyon is one of the best writers I have come across she has a way of making you think the characters in her books are real people and you get so caught up in the story that you live it with them. Each book in the Dark Hunter and Dream hunter tell the story of one main Character how they became the way they are and how love helped them conquer. At least so far in what I have read. I wish I could spend time with her and pick her brain to get insight in how she creates such wonderful stories. She would become a best friend. If you have a chance read all her books it is worth it. My personal favorite is the first book I read of hers which was Acheron I actually cried at what happened to Acheron and wanted to console him. I am sorry I don't like to tell the story cause it ruins it for me so If you choose this book or another Sherrilyn's you won't be disappointed Ok I will say the men in her books see beauty that comes from the heart. Each Man has a past that has been so brutal that they have close themselves off to love but then you have to read to find out. I like how even when someone deems themself unloveable someone finds something to love in them and it changes thier life.

posted by ImriFatone on January 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not good!

The entire story was lacking for me. I never really built up a like for most of the characters. Even though some favorites appear later in the story, it still wasn't enough for me to care for the overall storyline. Really quite disappointing. This didn't have that speci...
The entire story was lacking for me. I never really built up a like for most of the characters. Even though some favorites appear later in the story, it still wasn't enough for me to care for the overall storyline. Really quite disappointing. This didn't have that special 'magic' that previous books in series have. This was not good!

posted by Yvette4 on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh Boy!!!

    This is another one of Sherrilyn Kenyons' Drk Hunter series and it's great.I like the story line and the characters. I hope Sherrilyn does a book with tory in the future. That would be lots of fun

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    Love, love, love the Dark Hunter series....and this one did not

    Love, love, love the Dark Hunter series....and this one did not let me down. Zarek's (and Astrid) story was engaging, heartwarming, exciting and a guarenteed page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Oh My Greek Gods

    I wasn't sure if I would like this series although I am a fan of Kenyon's other books, but once I started reading it I of course had to fight myself to put it down so I could do other things I needed to (like eat and sleep lol). I love the stories involving the Greek Gods and the way Kenyon is able to bring love and romance into her writing with out needing long drawn out sex scenes. I even read a section to my 13yr old daughter who lives for stories about the Greek Gods and she can't wait to read them herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    Great read

    Dont listen to the ones who say this book is hard to get into or that geary or arikos are badly written characters. This book is just as amazingly written as all of kenyon's others. I liked it because this book was written after several of the were/dark hunter books but took place before any of the others (which you dont see until later on) but gave you necessary backround information to further understand the series and the many characters. You get more information about atlantis and appolymi that expands yourindersyanding and sets youup for morein coming books, and to the person wondering if aalcheron was named after the river of woe and suffering- i would assume so because his twin was named styx after the other river mentioned in the series, so its very likely

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Really good...

    Very good story. Liked how the Dark hunters were kind of noted in it (and if you have read them, you understand)...but how Tory (ash's now pregnant wife) and other familiar characters were incorporated.

    Good spin off. I hope she keeps up with this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great connection to the Dark/Were Hunter series

    This book was pretty good. Similar in content to the Dark/Were Hunters, but yet different enough to feel like you are reading something different yet connected to the Dark Hunter series. Kenyon brings into play the Dream Hunters who are the ones that go into the Dark Hunters dreams of their past that haunt them and take away their pains. But she shows you what can happen to them if they get to caught up in anothers dreams.

    I really like how she connected the 2 different series of the different kinds of Gods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    to complete the series read

    This book is a hard read for me. I love the series but this book is boring I will struggle through it to get to the next one . Usually I read the books in this series in 1 day and 1/2 but this will take longer,I just can not bond with this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    love this series

    Arikos is a dream-hunter a race of gods who were cursed by the Zeus to longer feel any type of emotions. After centuries of searching he finally found a woman whose dreams are so vivid he could feel her emotions as his own. He comes to her in her dreams over and over till it becomes an obsession. After being told that he has spent too much type on one human and that he must leave her and move on. He finds he can't and the strangest part for him is the fact he wants more than just what he can have in his Dreams. He wants to be part of her life feel her as a human man would. So In order to become human he must make a deal with a god and no god in Olympus would dare help him so the only one who he could ask to help is Hades. As with any deal with a god there is a steep price to be paid , And the price Hades is asking is the soul of the one person In This world he covets more than anything else.

    Dr. Megeara kafieri has watch most of her family searched for Atlantis and many died for the search. Her father died a laughing stock the world never believed his findings. On his death bed Mageara promised she would not let his research go to waste and would continue on he's quest to find the lost city. This promise was given half heartedly with no intentions of following though. Till she received a few items that he father left for her. They were irrefutable proof that the city was real and obtainable. Through her own need to proof her father right and the guilt of not believing him herself she set out to uncover his secrete city.

    Arik fell into the voyage with Geary quite latterly. After his deal with Hades he found himself drowning Geary jumping in to save him. Now he must help Geary on her quest to uncover Atlantis to gain her trust. But the gods have other plans they refuse to allow Atlantis be found and Apollymi inadvertently released causing an apocalypse.

    Arik is a bit stiff and how naïve he is of the real world is hilarious. He has a cute little boy charm and he finds more than what he thought he would in the real world. Geary is very driven a bit of a prude you know she wants Arik but she will not let down those guards wail she is awake. But my favorite is Solin he is soo funny. He sarcastic and he bring out a fun teasing personality in Arik. He tries to pretend that he doesn't care about anyone but himself but you can tell underneath it all he has a heart of gold. I hope to see more of him in the future. This was not my favorite book in the series but I must say even the slower books that are not my top favs they are still some of the better books I've read. There is not one book in this series I did not like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth reading

    I always enjoy reading the writing of Sherillyn Kenyon. Face it, the woman knows how to write great book crack. Admittedly, The Dream Hunter story was a little unique from the Dark Hunter novels, but still a good story with the same basic: messed up immortal guy meets messed up mortal woman, various complications occur, sex, love, and danger follows. Overall another good read, plus it always amazes me how seemingly effortlessly Kenyon intertwines the timelines and character of all her various novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    A nice bit of fluff

    This series is like bubble gum for the brain. A nice bit of escapism. Good, fun characters and interesting story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6