Customer Reviews for

Dream Lake

Average Rating 4.5
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A wonderful story. I have never written a review on a book befo

A wonderful story. I have never written a review on a book before but
this book touched my heart so I had to write about it. I love Lisa's
books and have pretty much read everything she has published. Once I
started it, I couldn't put it down. Lisa can describe emot...
A wonderful story. I have never written a review on a book before but
this book touched my heart so I had to write about it. I love Lisa's
books and have pretty much read everything she has published. Once I
started it, I couldn't put it down. Lisa can describe emotions better
than most writers out there, and because of that she doesn't need to
write graphic sex scenes which I get tired of especially after the
hoopla of Fifty Shades. This book is romantic and loving. I even liked
the ghost and the sub-plot with Zoe's grandmother.

posted by Goddess on August 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Huh?

I guess because we are getting older with Kleypas, she think that writing should be boring, not hot and sexy., or funny. I didnt mind the parnomal romance, i like it actually, but kleypas magic was nowhere to be found.

posted by 8854239 on August 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    A wonderful story. I have never written a review on a book befo

    A wonderful story. I have never written a review on a book before but
    this book touched my heart so I had to write about it. I love Lisa's
    books and have pretty much read everything she has published. Once I
    started it, I couldn't put it down. Lisa can describe emotions better
    than most writers out there, and because of that she doesn't need to
    write graphic sex scenes which I get tired of especially after the
    hoopla of Fifty Shades. This book is romantic and loving. I even liked
    the ghost and the sub-plot with Zoe's grandmother.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Loved it!

    This latest book about the youngest of the Nolan brothers was sweet, endearing, romantic, and whimsical. This storyline actually runs during the same time as Rainshadow Road, which I thouht gave it an interesting perspective.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Absolutely a "have to read" book

    Lisa Kleypas hits a home run with this book. Loved the first two books but this was absolutely great. Loved the development of the characters, the tie in to family obligations and the references to the other books characters. It gave a nice time line that this story happens at the same time as the other books. It really was intriguing. The story moves quickly and was hard to put down.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have really enjoyed all of the books in this new series by Lis

    I have really enjoyed all of the books in this new series by Lisa Kleypas and Dream Lake is no exception. The book tells the story of the third Nolan brother, Alex, a troubled man who is fast becoming an alcoholic. Alex is recently divorced and his bitterness about life and love makes him an uncomfortable to be around. He is on the brink of losing his business and agrees to take on the job of renovating a cottage for Zoe Hoffman. Zoe is a baker and is friends with Lucy who is the girlfriend of Sam Nolan, Alex’s brother.
    Zoe is moving into the cottage with her grandmother, Emma, who has recently been diagnosed with dementia. Zoe is instantly attracted to Alex and him to her but he is convinced that he is a bad bet and warns her off. Zoe ignores the warning and finds herself falling for Alex. Zoe has also been divorced and there is a brief side trip about that but it really doesn’t impact the story.
    Alex is having an interesting time during the renovation. A ghost has become attached to Alex and gives him a lot of unwanted advice about his relationship with Zoe. The ghost has no idea who he is or why he is stuck with Alex. When they get to the cottage, the ghost realizes that he is connected to Emma but is not sure of the circumstances. Alex, in the meantime, decides to quit drinking and discovers himself relying on Zoe and the ghost for support during the tough times.
    What is interesting about this book is that Alex really is a bad bet in the romance department as his marriage was extremely dysfunctional mostly due to him. Alex is the child of alcoholics and has all of the issues that go with that type of upbringing. Zoe has parental abandonment issues as well but has taken a different path when it comes to relationships, thanks to the loving support she had from Emma. There is a vignette with a family dinner including Zoe’s father that is painful to read. The major message of the book is that it is never a mistake to love someone but it requires strength and even courage to keep the love alive during tough times.
    All of these books have parts in common and this book also sets up the next one ,which will obviously feature Justine, Zoe’s cousin. It should be a nice wrap up to the series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    There are only few books with a great storyline. This was one of

    There are only few books with a great storyline. This was one of them. A great summer read.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really loved this book and it's characters. I couldn't put it

    I really loved this book and it's characters. I couldn't put it down! It
    was well written, heartfelt, and fun. I definitely connected with Alex
    and Zoe. The only thing I thought that was off about the book is the
    super over the top ending. I felt like it was not true to the character
    of Alex. But still wonderful nonetheless :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Highly recommended - can't wait for third book!

    Luv it. Can't put it down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Excellent

    I loved this book. Could not put it down. Can not wait for the next one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Huh?

    I guess because we are getting older with Kleypas, she think that writing should be boring, not hot and sexy., or funny. I didnt mind the parnomal romance, i like it actually, but kleypas magic was nowhere to be found.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    I like this brother the best

    I read all the books in this series and I wasn't disappointed in any of them. Great author!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Wow!

    I couldn't put it down! A great read from a truly great writer! Have a box of Kleenex handy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Great story

    Must read for Lisa Kleypas fans...must read for anyone who loves a good romance and happily ever after. And you get two stories. Happy reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    A terrific story

    This is the third book of the Friday Harbor series. I did not like Alex in the other two books. But this is Alex's story of a tragic childhood and the adult he became. I enjoyed his story most of all, and I like this story more than the others. A heartwarming story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Liked it!

    Loved Zoe Hoffman's personality and Alex...I have read the other Friday Harbor books and nice continuation of the Nolan brothers. Zoe Hoffman, an innkeeper (being in boutique hotel business, always love the setting) who has all but given up on love is a gentle, romantic soul, but has been so hurt in the past that she dare not trust her heart with anyone.

    Especially not Alex Nolan, who is the most haunted of all the Nolan brothers. He drinks to keep his demons at bay and not only has he given up on love, he has never, ever believed in it. Zoe and Alex are oil and water, fire and ice, sunshine and shadow. But sometimes, it takes only a glimmer of light to chase away the dark. Liked the ghost aspect and how the story related to past history and love affair with Zoe's grandmother and her illness and struggle with Dementia and Alzheimer's disease. Looking forward to Crystal Cove, which read teaser and sounds like it will be more about Justine, Zoe's Inn partner and possible a little witchcraft!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Eh just so so

    Did not care for the paranormal. I bought the book because i wad a fan of the authors previous style.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book. Was worth the wait.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    WOW! LOVED IT! Okay, I LOVE Lisa Kleypas! And, I have read every

    WOW! LOVED IT!
    Okay, I LOVE Lisa Kleypas! And, I have read every novel I can get my hands on. I don't even really have to read what they are before
    buying because, I know I will love it. I loved all the previous Friday Harbor books. And, although I did not really like Alex in the other 2
    books. I had to give it a try. Reading the back & realizing it was with a ghost was a little weird. Not, that I don't like books with that… I just
    wasn't use to it with her. The previous one had a little intro to magic & I found it sooo sweet. But, a ghost… Once I started reading, I fell in
    love with it. And, finally getting into the deep pain that Alex had, makes you love him. What great characters! Wonderful Story! Can't wait
    to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2014

    I really loved this 3rd book in the Friday Harbor series. It is

    I really loved this 3rd book in the Friday Harbor series. It is filled with so much magic. It has a great love story, even more than first expected. There are some bittersweet moments that Lisa Kleypas handles so beautifully. Definitely a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Austin

    Runs in and kisses her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Highly Recommended.

    Great reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9