Customer Reviews for

Dream Lake

Average Rating 4.5
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A wonderful story. I have never written a review on a book befo

A wonderful story. I have never written a review on a book before but
this book touched my heart so I had to write about it. I love Lisa's
books and have pretty much read everything she has published. Once I
started it, I couldn't put it down. Lisa can describe emot...
A wonderful story. I have never written a review on a book before but
this book touched my heart so I had to write about it. I love Lisa's
books and have pretty much read everything she has published. Once I
started it, I couldn't put it down. Lisa can describe emotions better
than most writers out there, and because of that she doesn't need to
write graphic sex scenes which I get tired of especially after the
hoopla of Fifty Shades. This book is romantic and loving. I even liked
the ghost and the sub-plot with Zoe's grandmother.

posted by Goddess on August 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Huh?

I guess because we are getting older with Kleypas, she think that writing should be boring, not hot and sexy., or funny. I didnt mind the parnomal romance, i like it actually, but kleypas magic was nowhere to be found.

posted by 8854239 on August 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Liked it!

    Loved Zoe Hoffman's personality and Alex...I have read the other Friday Harbor books and nice continuation of the Nolan brothers. Zoe Hoffman, an innkeeper (being in boutique hotel business, always love the setting) who has all but given up on love is a gentle, romantic soul, but has been so hurt in the past that she dare not trust her heart with anyone.

    Especially not Alex Nolan, who is the most haunted of all the Nolan brothers. He drinks to keep his demons at bay and not only has he given up on love, he has never, ever believed in it. Zoe and Alex are oil and water, fire and ice, sunshine and shadow. But sometimes, it takes only a glimmer of light to chase away the dark. Liked the ghost aspect and how the story related to past history and love affair with Zoe's grandmother and her illness and struggle with Dementia and Alzheimer's disease. Looking forward to Crystal Cove, which read teaser and sounds like it will be more about Justine, Zoe's Inn partner and possible a little witchcraft!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Disappointed

    I loved the first book and enjoyed the second. It had a touch, just a touch of magic in it. This one was just plain strange in my view. It was about 220 pages long and the main character was a ghost. It was a paranormal book which I was not expecting. I wasted $10.00 on this as I do not care for the paranormal genre. The first book was made into a Christmas movie by Hallmark. It was a really nice Christmas romance. The second book had just enough magic to make me think perhaps magic could exist in a small unseen aspect of everyday life and make us dream, what if. If I had not paid such an obscene amount for this e- novel, I would not have finished it. Three stars for editing, conclusion and the author's perserverance in completing such an inane novel. Recommend for ages 18 and up due to sexual content and some cursing. Taking the Lord' s name in vain was not needed.
    Please go back to your original style of writting.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Different from the rest

    I have read Lisa Kleypas' other books set in Friday Harbor. Her writing skill is exceptional and she instantly creates empathy for her characters. I was expecting this story to be like the others: humorous, touching and just-downright-good-stories. But she goes off on a bit of a tangent with this one. The characters are still believable and there is enough tension to keep you reading through whatever else you should be doing. But she introduces some fantasy and a touch of witchcraft that somehow throws the balance of the story off. Perhaps trying to follow in the success of Garden Spells, but after the previous two, the whimsy is neither expected nor needed, almost bordering on the pointless. I understand that the plot is intimately based upon fantasy, but it didn't seem to follow in the same spirit as the previous books in the series. Great writing, but a little out there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Its september 3rd and pre-ordered..wont download

    Lol...i meant to write this about james patterson's The Zoo!! Very frustrating!!

    This book, is very good so far tho wud put down if i cud open Zoo!! ):

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I very much enjoyed reading Dream Lake. Since we've been read

    I very much enjoyed reading Dream Lake. Since we've been reading
    about Alex for 2 books now I really wanted to know his story. Pairing
    him up with Zoe was a match made in heaven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Solid But Not Stellar Effort By Kleypas

    I have a soft spot for tortured heroes in romance novels, and Alex Nolan definitely fits the bill. The youngest of alcoholic parents, he bore the brunt of their abuse when the other Nolan siblings left home, and the resulting emotional damage has had a lifelong effect on him. Not only has he never been in love, he doesn't even believe in it. He's also an alcoholic. And broke. And surly. Be still my beating heart. So why the three stars? Well, the book also features a ghost, and while I'm not opposed to one, I've got major paranormal fatigue. I'd love to be able to read a romance novel that doesn't involve supernatural elements, and I thought I could count on Lisa Kleypas for that. The timeline in this book is also a little weird as it runs almost parallel to the events in the earlier books so the beginning dragged since it was basically a rehash of what had already happened. And finally, a critical moment at the end is completely eye-rolling. On the plus side, there's a sensitivity to Kleypas's writing, and her handling of Alex's alcoholism and subsequent withdrawal was believably done, similar to how she wrote about the aftermath of Haven's spousal abuse in Blue-Eyed Devil. Which is why she doesn't need to resort to adding paranormal touches to her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1