Customer Reviews for

Dream Lake

Average Rating 4.5
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A wonderful story. I have never written a review on a book befo

A wonderful story. I have never written a review on a book before but
this book touched my heart so I had to write about it. I love Lisa's
books and have pretty much read everything she has published. Once I
started it, I couldn't put it down. Lisa can describe emot...
A wonderful story. I have never written a review on a book before but
this book touched my heart so I had to write about it. I love Lisa's
books and have pretty much read everything she has published. Once I
started it, I couldn't put it down. Lisa can describe emotions better
than most writers out there, and because of that she doesn't need to
write graphic sex scenes which I get tired of especially after the
hoopla of Fifty Shades. This book is romantic and loving. I even liked
the ghost and the sub-plot with Zoe's grandmother.

posted by Goddess on August 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Huh?

I guess because we are getting older with Kleypas, she think that writing should be boring, not hot and sexy., or funny. I didnt mind the parnomal romance, i like it actually, but kleypas magic was nowhere to be found.

posted by 8854239 on August 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Loved it!

    This latest book about the youngest of the Nolan brothers was sweet, endearing, romantic, and whimsical. This storyline actually runs during the same time as Rainshadow Road, which I thouht gave it an interesting perspective.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have really enjoyed all of the books in this new series by Lis

    I have really enjoyed all of the books in this new series by Lisa Kleypas and Dream Lake is no exception. The book tells the story of the third Nolan brother, Alex, a troubled man who is fast becoming an alcoholic. Alex is recently divorced and his bitterness about life and love makes him an uncomfortable to be around. He is on the brink of losing his business and agrees to take on the job of renovating a cottage for Zoe Hoffman. Zoe is a baker and is friends with Lucy who is the girlfriend of Sam Nolan, Alex’s brother.
    Zoe is moving into the cottage with her grandmother, Emma, who has recently been diagnosed with dementia. Zoe is instantly attracted to Alex and him to her but he is convinced that he is a bad bet and warns her off. Zoe ignores the warning and finds herself falling for Alex. Zoe has also been divorced and there is a brief side trip about that but it really doesn’t impact the story.
    Alex is having an interesting time during the renovation. A ghost has become attached to Alex and gives him a lot of unwanted advice about his relationship with Zoe. The ghost has no idea who he is or why he is stuck with Alex. When they get to the cottage, the ghost realizes that he is connected to Emma but is not sure of the circumstances. Alex, in the meantime, decides to quit drinking and discovers himself relying on Zoe and the ghost for support during the tough times.
    What is interesting about this book is that Alex really is a bad bet in the romance department as his marriage was extremely dysfunctional mostly due to him. Alex is the child of alcoholics and has all of the issues that go with that type of upbringing. Zoe has parental abandonment issues as well but has taken a different path when it comes to relationships, thanks to the loving support she had from Emma. There is a vignette with a family dinner including Zoe’s father that is painful to read. The major message of the book is that it is never a mistake to love someone but it requires strength and even courage to keep the love alive during tough times.
    All of these books have parts in common and this book also sets up the next one ,which will obviously feature Justine, Zoe’s cousin. It should be a nice wrap up to the series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    I like this brother the best

    I read all the books in this series and I wasn't disappointed in any of them. Great author!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I wasn't expecting the ghost, nor was Alex, the male protagonist

    I wasn't expecting the ghost, nor was Alex, the male protagonist to whom the ghost attaches himself. As far as I know, this is the first story in which a ghost which has been haunting a location is able to detach himself and then gets stuck haunting a person.

    Zoe is lovely in every sense of the word. She was abandoned by her mother, and then by her father, and THEN by her gay husband. Still she goes around unfazed, sprinkling happy vibes and amazing food on the world, including Alex, who is a mean and nasty drunk. AND Zoe finds a way to take care of the grandmother who raised her, as said grandmother is "sundowning" after a series of strokes. She was a little too unflawed for me to really connect with her.

    And Alex finds his way from inside of a bottle without much effort, or really, hitting bottom. Really, child of TWO alcoholics, someone who's been drinking for years? Sure, he has a few days of withdrawal, but some of Zoe's home cookin' fixes that right up.

    What pushed this to an extra star for me was the lush descriptions of the food, and the mystery/love story behind the ghost and Zoe's grandmother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    Ms Kleypas delivers

    Always like to see old friends in another book Fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    To book reviewers

    Is this book good? Is it a good fit for me? I read the description and everything but i need to know more. I am eleven but i am an advanced reader. I like fiction realistic fiction fantasy historical fiction i LOVE funny ones love stories and yeah. Plese tell me if this book would be good. By the way i have some suggestions for you to read. The fallen star series, the need series, the warriors series(i just had to put that in!), Dog on it, dark world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Interesting

    Loved the setting and characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet sweet Zoe, beautiful inside and out! Rating 4.5 As posted

    Sweet sweet Zoe, beautiful inside and out!
    Rating 4.5 As posted on Mina's Bookshelf on September 5th, 2012
    I enjoyed this third installment in the Friday Harbor series. I was very eager to see how Lisa Kleypas would handle the magic realism after her first introduction to this genre in Rainshadow Road (read my review here). As I expected, “those gentle touches of magic” that in the previous installment seemed almost superfluous, blend in the Dream Lake realistic world in a more organic way and play a major role in the storyline. Having said that, I still believe that historical and contemporary romance novels are Kleypas’ strongest suit: unless the next installment (Crystal Cove is to be released in early 2013 ) radically changes my opinion about the way she is exploring this interesting genre, I believe she should stick to those fields where she has achieved an unrivalled mark of excellence.

    Now, whereas on the paranormal front Kleypas incorporates the magic element in the very fibers that make the canvas of Dream Lake storyline, from a sheer romantic standpoint Zoe and Alex’s love story blooms at a slow pace. This lead couple reminds me of some of the most beloved characters Lisa Kleypas has ever portrayed: Alex is a modern version of Derek Craven (for those who are not familiar with the dark and tormented hero of some of her classic HRN, see my review of Dreaming Of You) and Zoe has the same vulnerable, sweet and yet strong willed and patient nature of Evangeline Jenner. The chemistry between the unassuming, shy, gentle-natured bombshell and the cynical “human version of an iceberg” reminds me also of Devil in Winter…love when and where you least expect it. It’s a pity though, that Alex and Zoe don’t get together at an earlier stage of the narration. Because of the very nature and back-stories of our characters, love doesn’t unfold as sweetly as we may hope: every time things finally pick up speed and steam between them, a new obstacle will land on their way to happiness.

    The few love scenes took my breath away…nothing puts me in the mood for love like a Lisa Kleypas novel. They are magical and emotionally charged, explicit and yet tasteful.
    Alex is a tad too cold and cynical for me. It’s true that the more broken and flawed the characters, the more rewarding the love story, but Zoe is just too sweet, too generous, too selfless not to deserve an immediate act of faith and love from her man. She is extremely adorable and endearing, so easy to root for.
    All in all, quoting a line from the next installment of the Friday Harbor series (Dream Lakes includes a brief preview of Crystal Cove’s first chapter), “a good happily-ever-after is worth reading more than once.” Lisa Kleypas remains my all-time favorite romance author and I will read whatever she writes with an open mind and an open heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Great Book

    LOve this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    I Love Lisa Kleypas

    I have read just about everything Lisa Kleypas has written and enjoyed every book. This book was no exception. If you enjoy a well written story of life and love with a little magic thrown in, you will love this book to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3