BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dream New Dreams: Reimagining My Life after Loss

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

Every bit as honest and compelling as The Last Lecture, Jai Pausch tells her love story and journey as a caregiver of her late husband Randy Pausch. Her courage and love for her family are inspiring.

posted by Booklover13LF on May 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Yet Disappointing

I anxiously awaited the arrival of Jai's book, as I wondered how the family was doing since Randy's passing. The book was good for an update; Jai seems to have lived a lifetime of travel and events in the past few years. It was also good to share what it is like to be...
I anxiously awaited the arrival of Jai's book, as I wondered how the family was doing since Randy's passing. The book was good for an update; Jai seems to have lived a lifetime of travel and events in the past few years. It was also good to share what it is like to be a caregiver of someone with cancer for which there is no cure.

I first learned of Randy Pausch when he was on Oprah with Dr Oz and on ABC news. I kept up with Randy's blog and was sad when he passed on July 25, 2008. He was so inspiring and I bought several of his books as gifts and told everyone I knew about him, the Last Lecture video and book. How ironic it was in 2010 when a family member of my own was diagnosed with Pancreatic Cancer. I can only thank Randy in heaven for it was him that made my family aware of PANCAN, which ultimately gave my family excellent information that saved our family member's life - they are still alive 2.5 years after diagnosis.

As far as disappointment, I personally believe some things should have been left between Jai and Randy and not published. A dead man really can't defend himself, can he?

All in all it was an interesting read. Not the quality or inspiration of The Last Lecture, but rarely is a book like that written.

posted by Clara_Smith on June 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Every bit as honest and compelling as The Last Lecture, Jai Pausch tells her love story and journey as a caregiver of her late husband Randy Pausch. Her courage and love for her family are inspiring.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Good Yet Disappointing

    I anxiously awaited the arrival of Jai's book, as I wondered how the family was doing since Randy's passing. The book was good for an update; Jai seems to have lived a lifetime of travel and events in the past few years. It was also good to share what it is like to be a caregiver of someone with cancer for which there is no cure.

    I first learned of Randy Pausch when he was on Oprah with Dr Oz and on ABC news. I kept up with Randy's blog and was sad when he passed on July 25, 2008. He was so inspiring and I bought several of his books as gifts and told everyone I knew about him, the Last Lecture video and book. How ironic it was in 2010 when a family member of my own was diagnosed with Pancreatic Cancer. I can only thank Randy in heaven for it was him that made my family aware of PANCAN, which ultimately gave my family excellent information that saved our family member's life - they are still alive 2.5 years after diagnosis.

    As far as disappointment, I personally believe some things should have been left between Jai and Randy and not published. A dead man really can't defend himself, can he?

    All in all it was an interesting read. Not the quality or inspiration of The Last Lecture, but rarely is a book like that written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    I loved Randy Pausch's Last Lecture, so I was looking forward to

    I loved Randy Pausch's Last Lecture, so I was looking forward to reading
    this one as well. Written by his wife this is the story of his diagnosis
    and death from her perspective as wife, mother, and caregiver. Jai
    Pausch comes across as a likeable, intelligent woman who, even before
    meeting Randy, went through a divorce and some tough times. Certainly
    she is no slouch. Because of Randy though she has financial means that
    most of us in her situation would not. She does not have to work
    full-time, although she is very busy with speaking engagements and is on
    the board for a pancreatic cancer institution. At times I felt myself
    getting frustrated with her complaints about how stretched she was when
    in fact, she had more resources than I would ever have in the same
    situation. That said, this is an excellent read and plenty of good insight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Worthwhile and insightful

    The author tells her family's story very well. Although there are many sad aspects to Jai's journey, for caregivers or for people who have someone suffering from pancreatic cancer, there is much to identify with in terms of compassion and the human experience.If you read The Last Lecture, it's so interesting to read about the perspectives of the patient/husband in contrast to the caregiver/wife.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    After seeing the you-tube video and reading the "The Last Lecture", as well as following Randy and Jai's journey, I had often wondered how the family was doing. Was so happy to see that Jai had written a book and pre-ordered it. It is a very well written and honest book about Jai's journey with Randy and her life since he has passed. Although parts of the book are obviously sad it is a great read and so nice to have caught up with how this family is doing.I am happy that Jai is Dreaming New Dreams!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Amazing!!!

    I would recommend this book to anyone who has been through something like this. It gives a real insight to what one person can go through when something such as this happens. It is not only hard for the person trying to survive the cancer. But it is also hard for their family.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Dream New Dreams

    A very good book and touching• i
    I suggest that you either read The Last Lecture first or watch it on you two• A true story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cleanly written and a good book club book

    This was a good reference for many who grieve or have lost loved ones through cancer. The 'flow' of the book is written slightly sporadic and dragged out. It is interesting in reading of Jai Pausch's experience.
    Many people will be sure to benefit from it.
    Book clubs can feel safe in reading and discussing this book.
    I won this book and am appreciative of the opportunity to read and review it.
    Otherwise, I am sure I would never have purchased it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Vn

    Nvyu .gjbmghbygjyi

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    A must read for caregivers, mothers, spouses of academics, and many others

    Wonderfully written, honest accounts of their last years together. I am hopeful that this will not be Jai's last book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    I bought a copy for a friend who just lost her husband to prosta

    I bought a copy for a friend who just lost her husband to prostate cancer and a copy for myself to make sure I was sharing the right kind of reading for her. Jai shares a heart and soul experience which is informative to anyone who is the caretaker of someone with any kind of illness, not just cancer. She helps the caretaker understand that "It's not just me who feels this way". Others can learn much from the book to help understand what a caretaker lives through; sort of a 'walk a mile in my shoes'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    suggest reading

    Really agreat book with lots of information. I also took care of my husband with bone marrow cancer. Luckily he's been in remission for 3 1/2 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Have yet to read it

    Have yet to read it

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Excellent book

    What an insightful book. The book sends a renewal message for dealing with and overcoming great loss. Jai Pausch is a very courageous woman. Thank you.
    I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    For all survivors

    Losing a sibling to cancer isn't the same as losing a spouse, but I found a lot in here I could relate to. It's a great primer on losing, preparing to lose, or helping some one else who's lost someone, whether it be to cancer, stroke, car accident, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1