BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Dream Unfolding

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Very good clean story

Without giving away anything, I am just going to keep it simple and say this historical Christian romance was very well written and well worth your time reading. This 756 page story of the two separate adventures to the Arizona Territory during the Civil War did not ge...
Without giving away anything, I am just going to keep it simple and say this historical Christian romance was very well written and well worth your time reading. This 756 page story of the two separate adventures to the Arizona Territory during the Civil War did not get too preachy and just the right amount of real history blended in. Be prepared to shed a few tears. This is book 1 of a 4 part series and I for one will be getting the 4 pack soon.

posted by my1perch on August 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Really ????

Who writes reviews as long as the book ?Always wonder if the author writes their own review when I see such a long detailed account of the book ,with all 5 stars , of course .

posted by 6605483 on October 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Very good clean story

    Without giving away anything, I am just going to keep it simple and say this historical Christian romance was very well written and well worth your time reading. This 756 page story of the two separate adventures to the Arizona Territory during the Civil War did not get too preachy and just the right amount of real history blended in. Be prepared to shed a few tears. This is book 1 of a 4 part series and I for one will be getting the 4 pack soon.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Western Romance

    This 756 page nook book is a western style romance. It is more a woman's book. Readers, ages 15 and up would enjoy this book. The language is clean, there is a reference of a married couple having sex but no details. There are several deaths from a varity of reasons as was common in the mid 1800s. It is also a christain book. I love Prescott Az. I was pleased about half of this book being located there. It felt like I was right there seeing the beauty of an area I love, once again. Many reviewers have written about the characters, plot and book details, so I do not think I should rewrite them once more. Suffice to say this is a wonderful read and I reccomend it.


    AD

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Wonderful

    This book had me hooked from page one. I love to read and so this was one of those books that took about two days. With over 700 pages i loved all the people and tge story line. It had some funny parts and at some points it would make me want to cry. I would rate this book pg. Over all i will keep this book and get more from the author. Dont stop reading.
    - alyssa 14 ;o

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Really ????

    Who writes reviews as long as the book ?Always wonder if the author writes their own review when I see such a long detailed account of the book ,with all 5 stars , of course .

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Excelant reading

    Enjoyed this book very much.. Almost wish there was a book 2 in this series.. over 700 pages and well worth the reading.. Thank you

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    I really enjoy watching Westerns and reading books that illustra

    I really enjoy watching Westerns and reading books that illustrate frontier life -- which wasn't easy, by the way! When I saw that "A Dream Unfolding" is the first in Karen Baney's "Prescott Pioneers" series, I just had to read it. I live in northern Arizona, not too far from Prescott -- which was the initial capital of the Arizona territory before it became a state. Ms. Baney's story line is wonderful and pulled me into the story right away. It is obvious that she has done much research into the harsh conditions of living while moving across the frontier in a wagon train, and the early days of Prescott's birth. I can't wait to read the next book in this series!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Pleasantly surprised

    I was quite pleased with the unfolding of this story. It started out somewhat uniquely by jumping back and forth between two storylines. The stories involved trust, faith, perseverance, challenges, loss, and holding onto dreams. The two stories blended together seamlessly, and in overcoming great loss, the characters unite in a new story together. Inspiring! Once I finished book one of this series, I couldn't wait to get the remaining three books. I was pleased to find all four books in one for the Nook. A bargain to boot! If you enjoy stories of the pioneers in the 1800s, I've no doubt you will enjoy this series immensley.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Very enjoyable

    Nice period piece that is Christian based and looks at the struggles in life realistcally.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Fair

    This was a fair story, too preachy overall. At the beginning there seems to be two separate stories, and just as you get interested in it, it changes to another. Very distracting. Woukd not recommend, and provbably wouldnt read anymore from this author.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    goood

    goood

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Great

    Excellent book!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    a dream unfolding

    love this book, couldn't read it fast enough. would of wanted it to go on for a lot longer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    To really

    Harriette must be at it again she tells the wholr book we really dont neef ti reaf when she is done she recks every book for all of us so get use to just padding the long reviews be guaranteed if you read it will reck the books for you

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    When two men from entirely different lives set out to follow the

    When two men from entirely different lives set out to follow the path
    God is calling them on, neither believes it will be easy. Though neither
    expects the outcome of their obedience, they both submit their lives to
    God's leading and their paths cross in a way that they never imagined
    and certainly would have never hoped for. While the overall plot of
    this book was a touch predictable, the story was simply engrossing and
    even though I was able to predict the outcome, I never would have
    guessed the details. The characters were real and there weren't so many
    words that I had skim through it to find the important details as many
    fiction authors have been penning recently. Every word mattered and fit
    together perfectly to weave the story that unfolded through the pages. I
    enjoyed it thoroughly from beginning to end and can't wait to read the
    second book in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    The story opens in 1863. In Ohio, Drew, the town doctor, and his

    The story opens in 1863. In Ohio, Drew, the town doctor, and his wife, Hannah, are well respected and happily married-until his wild younger brother robs the town bank and the townspeople turn against them. Drew's medical practice collapses, and they need to leave town. Drew feels God leading them to Arizona Territory, and off they go by wagon train. Meanwhile, in Texas. Will, full of integrity and faith, is forced off the family land by his brother. He heads to Arizona with his half of the herd and inexperienced men and horses.

    The two intertwining stories of Hannah, Drew, and Will are filled with action and vivid detail. The reader can feel the emotional division between Hannah and Drew that neither seem able to breach, his demoralized struggle to maintain a sense of pride in light of his continued incompetence, and their stumbling attempts to reconnect as a couple. Will too is struggling with the responsibility for troublesome cowboys and animals in unknown territory, battling self-doubt and overwhelming fatigue. The personal misery of all three characters and the hardships of the long months of travel test both their physical and spiritual strength. At one point, Will states "we can't change the past; we can only change how we decide to move forward." This is a major theme of the book as well as the reminder that even when all seems lost, God has good plans for his children if they will just trust and follow Him. The second half of the book finds most of the characters settling in Arizona and tells of their lives there

    This is an engrossing tale of the very human, fallible beings that left their settled lives behind to tame the West. The characters are well developed as individuals dealing with loss and rejection in their lives and trying to make the best of the lot they were given. The reader feels empathy for their plights and easily identifies with them. Their story is an adventure, a romance, and a history lesson all rolled into one. I highly recommend this book.

    I received a review copy of this book from the author, but the opinions expressed are mine alone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Christian Historical Romance

    I never wanted this book to end! What a great movie it would make, but have the tissues handy!
    Hannah and Dr Drew Anderson live and Cincinnati Ohio, and are loving their lives together. Then their lives take a turn and the town turns against them. Drew makes the decision to move to Arizona, and thus beings their adventures West.
    Will Colter loves Ranching and living in Texas, when his Dad is suddenly killed and his life changes forever. He has never gotten along with his brother Reuben, and when his brother inherits the Ranch, and orders him to leave, his destiny is set. His Sister Julia, finds some correspondence that his Dad had had with someone in Arizona. He feels that God has answered his prayers and heads out to what will become Prescott.
    Karen Barney has written a wonderful story of perseverance and Love, and most of all trusting in God.

    I received this book from Karen Baney, and First Wild Card Tours, I was not required to give a positive review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Historical fiction at its finest!!

    When approached about reading this debut novel written by Karen Baney, I really didn't know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised by the superior storyline in this great historical fiction novel with a rich western theme. Cowboys, Indians, tragedy, passion, breathtaking scenery, heartache, and second chances. A Dream Unfolding is about the men and women who braved it all in their search for a better life in the wild west. Karen Baney has made this very difficult time in history come alive in a dramatic and heart-wrenching way that captivated my attention from the very first pages. Two separate groups of settlers are heading for Arizona, and it is inevitable that their paths will eventually cross. I loved the strong characters, and admired their faith in spite of tragic situations and hardships. Overall, I give this story 5 out of 5 and can't wait to read book 2 in the Prescott Pioneers series, which is titled A Heart Renewed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Mamasaint60

    Excellent book. I have all 4 of the series and know I will read them more then once. It is a christian book, very clean. But, with this one be sure to have kleenex close. JS (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Learning to trust God's Plan during the hardships of pioneer lif

    Learning to trust God's Plan during the hardships of pioneer life

    Karen Baney has crafted an inspirational and heart-warming Christian Historical Romance in her debut novel, A Dream Unfolding (Prescott Pioneers #1).  She covers wagon train rides, cattle drives, and military expeditions – oh my!  Her research of these true events is evident by both the author's descriptive details of setting throughout the book in the different places of Ohio, Texas, and Arizona, and by Baney accurately illustrating many of the challenges pioneers encountered during the 1860s.
    Reminiscent of the Little House on the Prairie books and TV shows, Baney's first novel in a four-book series covers many adult situations such as romance and death, but A Dream Unfolding is written in a clean, "rated PG" format.  Author Baney also incorporates in almost every chapter some mention of God or a Scripture passage, but not in a way that is overbearing.  These spiritual references enhance, and truly fit, how a character during that scene is feeling about God's Plan in his or her life—and whether or not they want to trust God's Grand Design at that particular moment.
    The story opens in Ohio, where Dr. Drew Anderson and his wife Hannah live.  The doctor's brother Thomas causes trouble, leading the townsfolk to become angry with the Andersons by association.  This leads Drew to decide to start a new life far away from home, in the newly formed Arizona Territory.  How to get there?  By wagon train, of course.  This type of travel is quite a challenge for a man with soft hands, and for a woman who has never cooked over an outdoor fire—having to use buffalo dung, no less, when wood sources are not available.
    During the trail ride, the Andersons become friends with the Lancasters, who include widowed mom Betty, and her adult son Paul who is also a widow.  They intend to open a boardinghouse and restaurant in Arizona.  Betty, who is in her fifties, has been on wagon train trips before, and teaches and encourages the younger ladies how to make do with what's available while traveling through wilderness that offers few chances for food supplies, and little in the way of protection from the weather—and Indians.
    About six weeks into the trip, the wagon train stops to restock at Fort Larned, Kansas.  Here, another wagon train camp is encountered, those traveling with the governor of the Arizona territory.  Another important character to A Dream Unfolding is introduced at this point, Lt. Joshua Harrison.  Dr. Anderson is asked to take care of Lt. Harrison after the soldier receives a bullet wound. 
    While the wagon train ride events are unfolding, the author reveals a separate storyline, in about every other chapter, that involves the Colter family.   Texas cattle rancher Ed Colter passes away, leaving behind his teen daughter Julia, and his sons who are in their thirties, oldest Reuben, and second-born Will.  Ed's will decrees his oldest son gets the ranch house and land, so Reuben—who has never gotten along well with his younger brother—demands that Will move off the property pronto.  Will, who inherited half of the herd of Longhorns, gathers up what men and supplies he can in order to lead a cattle drive to Arizona to try to make a new life there.
    The main members of the wagon train ride cross paths with those from the cattle drive when they all are in Arizona, the first encounter occurring at the Lancaster's boardinghouse.  An interesting twist to the novel now takes place, and the author does a great job keeping the reader captivated by revealing just morsels in each chapter of what might come as one continues to turn the pages.  It is during this point in the story that the characters slowly realize they must trust God's Plan—and not their own—even at times of deepest despair, and even if His Design is not the exact answer the characters expected from prayers.
    When I read the last page of A Dream Unfolding, my very first thought was, "What a lovely book."  I hardly ever use the word "lovely," and it might seem strange that a Western tale would be described as "lovely," but that really is how I felt when the story ended.  I was impressed by the author's ability to create a clean, uplifting, Christian story that was inspired by true events and characters, during a period in our nation's history that held many more instances of struggles and sadness than triumph and happiness.
    I had read author Baney's Christian Contemporary Romance Nickels before I read A Dream Unfolding.  Although I enjoyed Nickels, as novels set in the present day are usually what I read, I admit I liked this Christian Historical Romance better.  In fact, I've already purchased the second book in the Prescott Pioneers series, A Heart Renewed, which the summary reads is about Julia Colter, the young sister of the Texas ranchers from this book. 
    If you enjoy novels about passionate pioneer doctors, handsome Texas ranchers, upstanding military men, and strong frontier women, and stories that have an underlying theme about God's Plan, then you'll love the #1 book in Karen Baney's Prescott Pioneers series, A Dream Unfolding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Beautiful

    This was/is truly a wonderful story. I cried, laughed, cheered and really felt like I experienced a great adventure. Thank you Karen for all your hard work! This was the first book of yours I've read, can't wait to start the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4