Customer Reviews for

A Dream Unfolding

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Very good clean story

Without giving away anything, I am just going to keep it simple and say this historical Christian romance was very well written and well worth your time reading. This 756 page story of the two separate adventures to the Arizona Territory during the Civil War did not ge...
Without giving away anything, I am just going to keep it simple and say this historical Christian romance was very well written and well worth your time reading. This 756 page story of the two separate adventures to the Arizona Territory during the Civil War did not get too preachy and just the right amount of real history blended in. Be prepared to shed a few tears. This is book 1 of a 4 part series and I for one will be getting the 4 pack soon.

posted by my1perch on August 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fair

This was a fair story, too preachy overall. At the beginning there seems to be two separate stories, and just as you get interested in it, it changes to another. Very distracting. Woukd not recommend, and provbably wouldnt read anymore from this author.

posted by 8888649 on October 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Western Romance

    This 756 page nook book is a western style romance. It is more a woman's book. Readers, ages 15 and up would enjoy this book. The language is clean, there is a reference of a married couple having sex but no details. There are several deaths from a varity of reasons as was common in the mid 1800s. It is also a christain book. I love Prescott Az. I was pleased about half of this book being located there. It felt like I was right there seeing the beauty of an area I love, once again. Many reviewers have written about the characters, plot and book details, so I do not think I should rewrite them once more. Suffice to say this is a wonderful read and I reccomend it.


    AD

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    goood

    goood

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Great

    Excellent book!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    a dream unfolding

    love this book, couldn't read it fast enough. would of wanted it to go on for a lot longer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    The story opens in 1863. In Ohio, Drew, the town doctor, and his

    The story opens in 1863. In Ohio, Drew, the town doctor, and his wife, Hannah, are well respected and happily married-until his wild younger brother robs the town bank and the townspeople turn against them. Drew's medical practice collapses, and they need to leave town. Drew feels God leading them to Arizona Territory, and off they go by wagon train. Meanwhile, in Texas. Will, full of integrity and faith, is forced off the family land by his brother. He heads to Arizona with his half of the herd and inexperienced men and horses.

    The two intertwining stories of Hannah, Drew, and Will are filled with action and vivid detail. The reader can feel the emotional division between Hannah and Drew that neither seem able to breach, his demoralized struggle to maintain a sense of pride in light of his continued incompetence, and their stumbling attempts to reconnect as a couple. Will too is struggling with the responsibility for troublesome cowboys and animals in unknown territory, battling self-doubt and overwhelming fatigue. The personal misery of all three characters and the hardships of the long months of travel test both their physical and spiritual strength. At one point, Will states "we can't change the past; we can only change how we decide to move forward." This is a major theme of the book as well as the reminder that even when all seems lost, God has good plans for his children if they will just trust and follow Him. The second half of the book finds most of the characters settling in Arizona and tells of their lives there

    This is an engrossing tale of the very human, fallible beings that left their settled lives behind to tame the West. The characters are well developed as individuals dealing with loss and rejection in their lives and trying to make the best of the lot they were given. The reader feels empathy for their plights and easily identifies with them. Their story is an adventure, a romance, and a history lesson all rolled into one. I highly recommend this book.

    I received a review copy of this book from the author, but the opinions expressed are mine alone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Learning to trust God's Plan during the hardships of pioneer lif

    Learning to trust God's Plan during the hardships of pioneer life

    Karen Baney has crafted an inspirational and heart-warming Christian Historical Romance in her debut novel, A Dream Unfolding (Prescott Pioneers #1).  She covers wagon train rides, cattle drives, and military expeditions – oh my!  Her research of these true events is evident by both the author's descriptive details of setting throughout the book in the different places of Ohio, Texas, and Arizona, and by Baney accurately illustrating many of the challenges pioneers encountered during the 1860s.
    Reminiscent of the Little House on the Prairie books and TV shows, Baney's first novel in a four-book series covers many adult situations such as romance and death, but A Dream Unfolding is written in a clean, "rated PG" format.  Author Baney also incorporates in almost every chapter some mention of God or a Scripture passage, but not in a way that is overbearing.  These spiritual references enhance, and truly fit, how a character during that scene is feeling about God's Plan in his or her life—and whether or not they want to trust God's Grand Design at that particular moment.
    The story opens in Ohio, where Dr. Drew Anderson and his wife Hannah live.  The doctor's brother Thomas causes trouble, leading the townsfolk to become angry with the Andersons by association.  This leads Drew to decide to start a new life far away from home, in the newly formed Arizona Territory.  How to get there?  By wagon train, of course.  This type of travel is quite a challenge for a man with soft hands, and for a woman who has never cooked over an outdoor fire—having to use buffalo dung, no less, when wood sources are not available.
    During the trail ride, the Andersons become friends with the Lancasters, who include widowed mom Betty, and her adult son Paul who is also a widow.  They intend to open a boardinghouse and restaurant in Arizona.  Betty, who is in her fifties, has been on wagon train trips before, and teaches and encourages the younger ladies how to make do with what's available while traveling through wilderness that offers few chances for food supplies, and little in the way of protection from the weather—and Indians.
    About six weeks into the trip, the wagon train stops to restock at Fort Larned, Kansas.  Here, another wagon train camp is encountered, those traveling with the governor of the Arizona territory.  Another important character to A Dream Unfolding is introduced at this point, Lt. Joshua Harrison.  Dr. Anderson is asked to take care of Lt. Harrison after the soldier receives a bullet wound. 
    While the wagon train ride events are unfolding, the author reveals a separate storyline, in about every other chapter, that involves the Colter family.   Texas cattle rancher Ed Colter passes away, leaving behind his teen daughter Julia, and his sons who are in their thirties, oldest Reuben, and second-born Will.  Ed's will decrees his oldest son gets the ranch house and land, so Reuben—who has never gotten along well with his younger brother—demands that Will move off the property pronto.  Will, who inherited half of the herd of Longhorns, gathers up what men and supplies he can in order to lead a cattle drive to Arizona to try to make a new life there.
    The main members of the wagon train ride cross paths with those from the cattle drive when they all are in Arizona, the first encounter occurring at the Lancaster's boardinghouse.  An interesting twist to the novel now takes place, and the author does a great job keeping the reader captivated by revealing just morsels in each chapter of what might come as one continues to turn the pages.  It is during this point in the story that the characters slowly realize they must trust God's Plan—and not their own—even at times of deepest despair, and even if His Design is not the exact answer the characters expected from prayers.
    When I read the last page of A Dream Unfolding, my very first thought was, "What a lovely book."  I hardly ever use the word "lovely," and it might seem strange that a Western tale would be described as "lovely," but that really is how I felt when the story ended.  I was impressed by the author's ability to create a clean, uplifting, Christian story that was inspired by true events and characters, during a period in our nation's history that held many more instances of struggles and sadness than triumph and happiness.
    I had read author Baney's Christian Contemporary Romance Nickels before I read A Dream Unfolding.  Although I enjoyed Nickels, as novels set in the present day are usually what I read, I admit I liked this Christian Historical Romance better.  In fact, I've already purchased the second book in the Prescott Pioneers series, A Heart Renewed, which the summary reads is about Julia Colter, the young sister of the Texas ranchers from this book. 
    If you enjoy novels about passionate pioneer doctors, handsome Texas ranchers, upstanding military men, and strong frontier women, and stories that have an underlying theme about God's Plan, then you'll love the #1 book in Karen Baney's Prescott Pioneers series, A Dream Unfolding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Light

    I loved the historical details, the deep message of faith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Great

    Well written and exciting story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Very good and an easy read. Learned a lot about the Wagon Trains that went out West with their difficult living conditions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    This book will pull you in form the beginning and keep your atte

    This book will pull you in form the beginning and keep your attention all the way through. It details the struggle of one american woman as she struggles to make a home for herself and stay true to her christian beliefs. Set in a time when women were not reconized for their strength. Hannah is a very strong character and she faces her trials with faith of a better tomorrow. I especially like the fact that a story like this could be told from the woman's point of view. It was as if you were there with her facing the hard times and the joyous ones. Great Read. Couldn't put it down!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    This is a great book, I could hardly put it down. Very well wri

    This is a great book, I could hardly put it down. Very well written and I loved the romance with a touch of Christain values. This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Christian Historical Romance worth reading!

    What a thought out story! This a story about a couple heading out west to start a new life away from the problems they were dealing with in Ohio. Dr. Drew Anderson and his wife Hannah had nice home and lots of friends until the day that Drew's brother caused trouble and got put in jail. The town then reacted poorly to Drew and his wife, so they decided to pack up and head out to Arizona to start a new clinic. Then there was the story of Will. His parents both passed away and that left him, his older brother Rueben, and his younger sister Julia alone. When the will was presented Will found that he was no longer welcome on his father's property but was still given half the cattle and horses and some money to start a new life. He decided it was time to pursue his dream of having his own ranch so he headed out to the Arizona territory also. When I first started reading the story I got really involved in the characters and the love between Drew and Hannah was very surreal and passionate. Once they started heading out west things took a different angle and the story was very descriptive of what it would have been like to travel during that time. Somewhere in the middle of the story, I have to admit I did lose interest, but that was mostly because there was a lot of facts in there and a lot of history involved and I was more interested in the relationship aspect of what was going on. Things changed greatly when everyone was settled in Arizona and the story got back to the relationships! That's when I really was drawn in. Although I felt like the history was a bit too much for me, I respected that the author held true to making sure she was accurately portraying the history. Karen Baney did a lot of research, as noted in the author's note of the book, and her passion for that era and Arizona was visibly displayed throughout the entire book. I felt very connected to the characters in this story, especially Hannah. You always know it's a great story when you feel your heart breaking along with the character. There were a lot of inspirational messages throughout the story within all the characters and their relationships with God and learning how to move forward after tragedy and hurt. A Dream Unfolding reminded me that when you feel like God has forsaken you or left you, you realize he never had or never will. God is always there to pick up the pieces and help you to continue your dream even if it changes along the way. If you are a fan of Christian historical fictions or just enjoy reading about the westward journey you will really enjoy this inspirational story. I can't wait to hear about Julia, Will's sister, in the sequel to a Dream Unfolding. I received a copy of this book to read and review from the author. My review is not biased by the fact that I was given this book. I HONESTLY read and review any book whether bought or given to me. If I did not like the book I would definitely not give a rave review or recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Recommend-wonderful story

    This story was both well-written and well-researched. The author leaves you watching for a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2