Customer Reviews for

Dream When You're Feeling Blue

Average Rating 3.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    absolutly LOVE this book!

    This book opened my eyes to so much. It made me wish my grandfather was still alive so I could ask him about the girls he wrote too while he was in the war, and ask him so many other questions. I'm 24 years old and really I didnt know much (or really care) about WWII but reading this book made me want to know, it made me wish I had grown up during it and been apart. I wanted to work on the planes and do the "mans" job while they were off to war. It was an amazing book that really pulled at my heart strings....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Must read!!

    Reading this book is like being transported back to WWII and living with an American family in day-to-day life. I picked this up at Barnes and Noble on a Publisher's Clearance table... wasn't sure whether it would be as great as I thought it might be... but it was summer so I went for it. It is FANTASTIC! I couldn't wait to get home to read it each day- not because it was an on the edge of my seat read- but because I wanted to be with the family in the book. It gives insight to American life during WWII that I have never had before... metal collection, limited food choices, military factories... all for "the sake of the boys at war." I am truly able to understand the life that my grandparents lived at that time. As odd as this may sound, I feel honored to have been "allowed" to be with the characters in this book. I have already passed it to my mother, who has added her name below mine on the inside cover and will pass it to another family member before sharing it with our community of friends. I do not usually write reviews... but this one was worth my time. If you enjoy character studies, you will love this book. ENJOY!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Novel, Not So Great Ending

    When I first picked up this book I fell in love with the characters and the life that they were leading. As I read I felt a connection with Kitty and with the confusion she was feeling over her work her family and her struggle between Julian and Hank. I loved the novel until I reached the chapter titled Valentines Day 1946. I read this chapter 3 times to full grasp the context and when I did finally get the full picture I was disappointed. I was also let down by the final chapter. A would have gladly read a few more chapter to understand how things changed so much between the end of the war and 1946.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    Definitly Worth Reading!

    I'm not going to lie, I picked up this book because I loved the cover, and the title is such a great song. The 1940's had the best music, and appariently the best romance, as Berg artfully illistrates. "Dream When Your Feeling Blue" is by far her best work--right after finishing it I read almost all the rest of her books, but none compared with this. The main character was very relatable, and the story is a fast and easy read. Its perfect for a day when one needs to unwind and escape into another world. Berg creates an ironicly "ideal world" for us, despite the raging war, the Heaney household is an image that every American is familiar with, even if they are familiar with it purely through books or tv/movies. By the end of the book one feels as if they really do know the characters, inside and out--you really fall in love with the characters and setting of the book. The end is a twist, which I must admit I very much disliked, but it shocked me and definitly made this book memorable, however much I disagree with Berg's choice. <BR/> There is a definite feminist tone to the novel and its plot, but ironically the feminist choice the main character makes seems to leave her slightly unhappy and definitly unfulfilled at the end of her life. Either way you want to look at it, the book and its ending are honest. <BR/> A definite read, I was most pleasantly surprised by how much I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    Not good. Had trouble staying interested and skipped huge sect

    Not good. Had trouble staying interested and skipped huge sections. The ending was abrupt and made mo sense in the context of the story line. Waste of money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Well Written

    This book was very well written and I enjoyed the authenticity of the dialogue and the events. Unfortunately for me, the book never really seemed to pick up. I also was not a fan of the ending. I would reccomend however it to someone who enjoys reading about this time period as much as I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    This is just wonderful------a must read

    Gee ----was just born at the time these girls were writing their letters and did not really live thru any of it----just listening to my mom and her sister tell stories---well this could have been their book. The food they ate, church, dressing all of that I do remember and it brought back some wonderfull memories. Loved it only I read it tooooooo fast-----but you just had to---could not put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    I hated the ending!

    I loved the book dearly i cried about micheal and yelled about hank and complained to anyone who would listen how odd,depressing, over all annoying the ending was i just don't understand how one could that great of a book with that horrible of an ending poor kitty. Poor tish. Poor micheal. The ending needs to be junked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Love love loved this book

    I loved this story of sisters during WW2. I would recommend this book to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    Ending a huge disappointment

    Well, I love books about WWII and for the most part, this book was great. The descriptions, the letters from the soldiers to the sisters and vice versa gave the ability to transport back in time. I was able to connect with the characters and form a bond with them. And then came the ending, which was a shock - and not in a good way. The lack of explanation for why Kitty, Hank and Louise came to their decisions was infuriating. Maybe I could forgive Berg for marrying Hank to the wrong sister if she had only explained what lead Kitty to her ultimate sacrifice and the life that she missed out on. Or why Louise wouldn't be fooled by it - they were so in tune with each other for the whole story! Why Kitty still felt the need to lie after sixty years...the ending ruined the whole book for me and I would not waste my money on it if I were you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    Dream When You're Feeling Blue

    I have bought several copies for friends. One of the best books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of the Best Books I've Read - Ever

    With characters that draw you in and scenarios that pique your interest, I quite literally did not want this book to end. I borrowed it from the library at the suggestion of a friend and purchased it for a gift. It's amazing to capture the day to day life of a typical WWII family with such clarity.

    Be prepared to want to finish in one sitting. This book won't rock your world, but it will take you away to another place and time with vivid realism and personalities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    Enjoyed it

    Read the book in a weekend. I wasn't that keen on the ending. Both my daughters read it also, and both liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    A beautiful book, but what, oh what, happened with the ending??

    I agree with most of the other reader reviews about his book. I thought it was beautifully written and I was intrigued and drawn in by the setting, characters, events, and the overall feel. But, of course I was shocked at the ending! I too was very confused while reading the second to last chapter when nothing had been explained about the changing in relationships! HOW could Hank end up with Louise? I just don't understand. I would have felt fulfilled after reading this book if the ending had been different so much more than after finishing the actual ending. Elizabeth Berg is a great author, and I am only a sixteen year old girl, but I would like to think stories do have a good ending sometimes. It seemed that Kitty's internal and external struggles and feelings were abandoned by everyone she loved. If Hank truly loved her, like he said in the end, why would he go off and marry her sister? I enjoyed the book, but I definitely wish the ending was different. Hopefully I will enjoy some of Berg's other novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    started off great and then became a great disappointment

    Started off great and then became a great disappointment. I spent the day reading this and I wish that I could get that day back. It started out great the plot was going well I really started to love the characters and wanted the best even thought I could tell from the begin who was going to come back and who was going to die I still rooted for the family. But then I read Valentines day 1946 and after and felt like I was robbed. I didn't want lite and fluffy but there was no build up to Valentines 1946 and then the dance at the end of the book was a disappointment. All in all the ending ruined the whole book for me.I would give away the ending just to save someone the disappointment but then I would have to relive it and like the book I would rather move on a try to purge my mind of the book all together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    wonderful story, disappointing ending

    I just finished this book and was transported to another time. World War II when men were gentlemen and good girls were swell kids. I think of it as the time my parents became engaged, before my own father went off to war. Loved the family dynamics but was so confused by the very abrupt ending that did not feel authentic. I certainly would have written the neat, more predictable ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    Disappointed at Ending - Hope Elizabeth Berg reads feedback

    I have read most of Elizabeth Berg's novels because I love the way she writes. I enjoyed this book except the ending. It was almost as if she was tired of writing and just wanted to end the book and send it to her printer. At first I could not figure out what was going on when Kitty was helping her sister Louise with her wedding dress. It abruptly went from Louise being sad about her husband dying to Louise marrying Kitty's fiance'and then they abrubtly aged to 80 something. I was very disappointed. It did not make any sense. I was happy to read that other people here felt the same way. I hope Elizabeth reads these reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    Worst Ending in the History of Endings

    I liked this book, a lot. I got attatched to the charactors and perhaps even put myself in the place of Kitty, which may be the reason I am so mad about the ending to this book! It made no sense. How does a man engaged and in love to a woman end up marrying her sister just because the sisters fiance died in the war? Not to mention he STILL loves her even when they've grown old and he'd been married to the womans sister for 40 years!!! The author gives no explanation and I found it extremely upsetting. I've decided to completely ignore the authors written ending and write my own, because I find her version extremely frustrating. Besides that, the book is worth the read, if only for the emotional drama you'll experience afterwards :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2008

    What was she thinking?

    I am a great fan of Elizabeth Berg ever since I discovered her but I too found the ending very disappointing. As other reviewers have written, the ending seemed rushed and almost like it was an after thought. Berg did a wonderful job in taking us to the past with her attention to details and then bam! It was an ending that did not at all seem to fit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2008

    Not bad

    After reading the reviews posted on here, I was very reluctant to finish reading the book. This was my first book by the author and I really enjoyed it. If this is bad by her standards, then I can only think her other books must be great. I do have a grip though--on the back cover description the couple are all mixed up. I will add this author my must reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4