Customer Reviews for

Dream When You're Feeling Blue

Average Rating 3.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Novel, Not So Great Ending

    When I first picked up this book I fell in love with the characters and the life that they were leading. As I read I felt a connection with Kitty and with the confusion she was feeling over her work her family and her struggle between Julian and Hank. I loved the novel until I reached the chapter titled Valentines Day 1946. I read this chapter 3 times to full grasp the context and when I did finally get the full picture I was disappointed. I was also let down by the final chapter. A would have gladly read a few more chapter to understand how things changed so much between the end of the war and 1946.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    I hated the ending!

    I loved the book dearly i cried about micheal and yelled about hank and complained to anyone who would listen how odd,depressing, over all annoying the ending was i just don't understand how one could that great of a book with that horrible of an ending poor kitty. Poor tish. Poor micheal. The ending needs to be junked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    Enjoyed it

    Read the book in a weekend. I wasn't that keen on the ending. Both my daughters read it also, and both liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    A beautiful book, but what, oh what, happened with the ending??

    I agree with most of the other reader reviews about his book. I thought it was beautifully written and I was intrigued and drawn in by the setting, characters, events, and the overall feel. But, of course I was shocked at the ending! I too was very confused while reading the second to last chapter when nothing had been explained about the changing in relationships! HOW could Hank end up with Louise? I just don't understand. I would have felt fulfilled after reading this book if the ending had been different so much more than after finishing the actual ending. Elizabeth Berg is a great author, and I am only a sixteen year old girl, but I would like to think stories do have a good ending sometimes. It seemed that Kitty's internal and external struggles and feelings were abandoned by everyone she loved. If Hank truly loved her, like he said in the end, why would he go off and marry her sister? I enjoyed the book, but I definitely wish the ending was different. Hopefully I will enjoy some of Berg's other novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2008

    Not bad

    After reading the reviews posted on here, I was very reluctant to finish reading the book. This was my first book by the author and I really enjoyed it. If this is bad by her standards, then I can only think her other books must be great. I do have a grip though--on the back cover description the couple are all mixed up. I will add this author my must reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2007

    I loved this book, but the ending was upsetting

    This is the story of the Heaney family of Chicago during the WWII years. At the center of the story are Kitty and her two sisters Louise and Tish. This book offers real insight into just how difficult life was back then for not only the those in the war zones, but also for those on the homefront. Many sacrafices were made on both fronts. I found parts of this story to be profound and moving, however the ending caught me by suprise and was actually somewhat upsetting. Overall,a good story of a time gone by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2007

    LOVED THE BOOK UNTIL THE END

    I did love the book, could not put it down. Elizabeth Berg is a wonderful writer, and I loved the characters. However, I have to agree that the ending came out of the blue, and was wrapped up way too quickly. I was left feeling that not only was Kitty way too unselfish, but her sisters were incredibly self-centered. Seems like she was the only one doing any sacrificing for family. Maybe if we had been given time to see that she actually wanted the path she chose, but it was apparent that she did not. The ending was unfulfilling to a reader who had become invested in the characters, especially Kitty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    War and its heartbreak

    Elizabeth Berg has succeeded in capturing for the reader a glimpse of the World War II homefront. The strength of this book lies in the poignant letters the sisters receive from the servicemen with whom they correspond. I agree with other reviewers who found the end puzzling and unsatisfying. That aside, the book is worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1