Customer Reviews for

Dream of Night

Average Rating 5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    My favorite book!

    I love this book so much! It is the best book ever, and I hope every one who loves horses has a chance to read it! I was tuched by it, and I am re-reading it!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

    I was really touched. I do horseback riding and i love horse!!!! I loved how the girl was so fearless. But i was confused about the mother, was she bad or good. But i like how she let you decide. I recommed his book to any ohe who loves horses!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    This book is very powerful; I could not put it down.

    “‘I hate you!’ Like a fist punching. Right in the gut.” Shiloh, a twelve year old girl, is abused by her mother’s boyfriend. She has been in many foster care homes, but this last one is special. She meets and cares for an abused horse that helps open her eyes about life.
    When I first read this book, I really felt for Shiloh. She is continuously hurt by her mother’s boyfriend. This book definitely changes my view of what orphans go through, and what they feel like. This book is very powerful; I could not put it down.
    By writing Dream of Night, Heather Henson creates an incredible mixture of suspense and sadness. After reading this book, I will never see the world the same way again. I would recommend this book to readers, ages eight and up, who want a suspenseful story.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    horse fav

    i totally love this book to death

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for Teens Read Too

    Dream of Night was a thoroughbred horse with memories of his racing days in his head. He hates man because all man has done to him has been neglect him, starve him, and beat him with the chains. Shiloh has been bounced from one foster family to another. She's at her last stop before the locked doors of the reformatory. Jessalynn lives simply, rescuing horses and living on her old farm. She has taken in foster children in the past, but she's getting too old and has agreed to take just this one last case. When Shiloh arrives, Jessalynn knows that there are secrets and horrors in the child's past and she will need to take it slow. Shiloh is full of anger and does everything she can to get Jessalynn to react. But nothing Shiloh does seems to get a rise out of the old woman. Jessalynn hopes that by going slowly, she can draw Shiloh out. But it turns out that the wild black horse in the field is what finally gets to Shiloh. Dream of Night doesn't attack when Shiloh ventures to his fence. And, slowly, the two of them form a bond, learning to trust again. What a wonderful novel! Told in alternating voices with Jessalynn, Shiloh, and Dream, the reader experiences what each of the characters are encountering. I loved getting to look inside Dream's thoughts; I could imagine the horse thinking exactly those things. Shiloh is portrayed as any troubled teenager would be...cautious, caustic, and distrusting. But it's Jessalynn's simple, relaxed manner that brings the entire story together.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I highly reccomend this book to readers 9 and up. This book is the bees knees. I am lost for words on how ro describe this book. If you know what's good for you, read this book. It is worth the money! {)i(}

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Couldn't resit it

    I saw this book and just by looking at the cover and title made me want to read this book. And i'm so glad I did read this book because now I see the world from a different perspective. I'd give this book a million stars if I could Heather Henson is one of the best authors yet to come! Shiloh is my favorite character because she is really tough and strong through everything she's been through I LOVE DREAM OF NIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! - Angelena

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Awesome book

    I really enjoyed this book and the settings and events .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Good Book

    This book is about a foster child and an abused racehorse. Very touching.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Chance to think

    This is my second review of this book. The last time I reviewed the book was the one with all the O's. But hopefully this review will be a little more helpful. So I really enjoyed spending time to read this book. I will say now that at first it seems hard to understand. But if you keep reading you will get use to it. With all the sorrow Shiloh goes through it gives you a chance to think about the kind of world we really are. I do recomend this book to a teens and middleschoolers ages 10-16. Trust me you know a good writer if they change your emotions and this is a sign to me that Heather Henson is a wonderful author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    I read this when i was 13 and it sent me back into my wonderful

    I read this when i was 13 and it sent me back into my wonderful need to read! <3 this was simple but a very good read, i recommend for young girls

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Hi

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVERRRRRRRRR!!!

    I have read this book soooooo many times and i dont normally re-read thing. Words can not describe how good this book is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Grateful

    Beautiful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Sad story great book

    Such a sad story. Sad girl. Sad horse.:(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1