Customer Reviews for

Dreamcatcher

Average Rating 4
( 377 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(174)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

not for those with a weak stomach....

It took major effort on my part to actually put this book down once I picked it up. I just lost myself in this story! Dreamcatcher contains a lot of thrills to say the least. There are UFO's, aliens, a strange virus and an even stranger parasite that flourishes in the h...
It took major effort on my part to actually put this book down once I picked it up. I just lost myself in this story! Dreamcatcher contains a lot of thrills to say the least. There are UFO's, aliens, a strange virus and an even stranger parasite that flourishes in the human intestines. There's a wonderful boy with Down's Syndrome and four boys (who grow to be men) who are connected to him telepathically. The plot of Dreamcatcher is marvelously strange and it works! The character of Duddits (boy with Down's Syndrome) is one I will never forget. He is so beautifully innocent and sweet and yet he holds the weight of the world on his shoulders. Stephen King, without a doubt, shows off his knack for storytelling in Dreamcatcher. A word of warning: beware those of the sensitive stomachs.

posted by songcatchers on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

i have to read this book for school

I'm a Sophmore and i have to read this book for school can anyone give a good hint if i should read thus book or pick a different bvook for school to read?

posted by 6418776 on January 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 377 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    not for those with a weak stomach....

    It took major effort on my part to actually put this book down once I picked it up. I just lost myself in this story! Dreamcatcher contains a lot of thrills to say the least. There are UFO's, aliens, a strange virus and an even stranger parasite that flourishes in the human intestines. There's a wonderful boy with Down's Syndrome and four boys (who grow to be men) who are connected to him telepathically. The plot of Dreamcatcher is marvelously strange and it works! The character of Duddits (boy with Down's Syndrome) is one I will never forget. He is so beautifully innocent and sweet and yet he holds the weight of the world on his shoulders. Stephen King, without a doubt, shows off his knack for storytelling in Dreamcatcher. A word of warning: beware those of the sensitive stomachs.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    very good

    i thought this book was very good. some parts were funny, some graphic, sometimes it actually made me itchy. i liked needful things, but i think this was better. it slowed a bit between pages 400 and 500, introducing some new people to the story but then picks right back off non stop to the ending. great book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    One of my top three favorite King books.

    This is a really great story. It is intense, interesting. And like most of kings novels makes you stretch out the borders of your mind a bit to fit everything all in. For those of you who have only seen the movie version of this story, it was a pretty good appoximation of the story. If you even liked it at all you will love the book. Lets face it folks, if you like reading King novels, you know its going to be long. He packs his worlds with so much detail that i live there while im reading his stories. If a long book scares you off, why are you reading a novel in the first place?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    A Bit Graphic, But GREAT

    Eight Hundred Ninety Six pages is a troubling length of pages to finish. After around three weeks i finally finished it. This is a great book and should be treasured by many readers to come. ANd certainly not my final Stephen King. Probably just one of my first!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    i have to read this book for school

    I'm a Sophmore and i have to read this book for school can anyone give a good hint if i should read thus book or pick a different bvook for school to read?

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Good Book to Read for Middle School

    It was good book. I really like this book. A long time ago, in a haunted city of Derry for boy stood together. They did something that changes them. Twenty -five years later they live separate lives and have separate troubles. Each hunting season the foursome reunites.
    The theme of the book is Man vs. thing, and it holds my attention throughout the story. The book was good, and I really like this book. I recommend this book for young readers; people will really enjoy this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Easy read

    There is no confusion, just an incredible book.
    So sit back grab some coffee and enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent science fiction

    Though at times the world seems more like a place filled with terrible marmalade, unselfish acts occur to remind everyone that good exists. Take the town of Derry where high school bullies regularly pick on Duddits, humiliating him in nasty ways like stripping him of his clothes and making him sit on or eat dog excrement. Four younger lads (Harry, Beaver, Jonesy, and Pete) rescue the Downs Syndrome boy from his tormentors and realize they like Duddits. For years afterward, the quintet formed a tight knight group to protect Duddits, who can telepathically communicate with them. <P>When the awesome foursome grow up, they leave town and Duddits behind, but get together every year for hunting (minus Duddits). However, this time their get together is filled with danger as a spaceship containing unfriendly and dangerous passengers has landed. The government quarantines the area, planning to kill any living creature isolated in the infected zone. However one alien has snatched the body of Henry with plans to spread his fungi race around the globe. <P>Stephen King provides his zillion fans with another exciting tale centering on hostile aliens threatening to take over the planet. DREAMCATCHER stars heroic people especially Duddits, who is willing to die to stop the destruction of humanity so that his friends can live. Mr. King has written an entertaining suspense thriller that shows he remains a force in fiction. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Is thi scary?

    Is this scary?pleas reply.- sierra from denver

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Great

    Good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Good book

    Good read but the ending was a disapointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Very good.

    I liked the bit where Henry came to take Duddits with him to stop the alien.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Dear madison Newman of ohio

    The book is more scary than the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Question to someone who read this

    So im thinking about reading this..... i saw half of the movie and thought it wasnt that scary. Is the book more scary than the movie? Id love to know, because if its way more scary im not intrested... so plz respond! Thank u! ~Madison Newman of Ohio.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Highly Recommend - A must read!

    Stephen King is brilliant once again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Great book

    This book was an incredible read. Once i started reading i hated to put the book down. King has an interesting take on aliens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Cool!!

    Awesome!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I loved this book it was way better then the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Great!

    I originally read this a few years ago, and yes it is long! But that's what makes it so good, the in-depth story telling in this. I even just reread it and found myself unable to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Could Have Been Better

    The thing that I noticed about Stephen King lately is that he is absolutely outstanding (Bag of Bones) or just too long and drawn out like this book. I feel the plot had a lot of potential but if condensed would have been more effective. I would be reading and getting really into the story and then it would switch to a different area and would just drag on. Would have liked more focus on the friends and the byrus and less on the dynamics of the military.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 377 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19