Customer Reviews for

Dreamcatcher

Average Rating 4
( 376 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

very good

i thought this book was very good. some parts were funny, some graphic, sometimes it actually made me itchy. i liked needful things, but i think this was better. it slowed a bit between pages 400 and 500, introducing some new people to the story but then picks right bac...
i thought this book was very good. some parts were funny, some graphic, sometimes it actually made me itchy. i liked needful things, but i think this was better. it slowed a bit between pages 400 and 500, introducing some new people to the story but then picks right back off non stop to the ending. great book

posted by Anonymous on April 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

i have to read this book for school

I'm a Sophmore and i have to read this book for school can anyone give a good hint if i should read thus book or pick a different bvook for school to read?

posted by 6418776 on January 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    i have to read this book for school

    I'm a Sophmore and i have to read this book for school can anyone give a good hint if i should read thus book or pick a different bvook for school to read?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2005

    GROSS AND CHILDISH

    This book started off OK but then came the burping and other body functions and the childish boring flashbacks to a past that the reader dousent need to know about. The story is far to drawn out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2003

    Well written but Completely Grosteque

    I like the story and the plot but the level of grotesqueness is shocking. This is the only Stephen King's novel I have ever read. Maybe this is the author's style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2003

    Dissapointing, confusing, and crude

    I read the whole thing, and it wasn't worth it. it wasn't gripping with suspense, and it lacked in creating a more terrifying nemesis. it was poor, so for King fans, i'd recommend one of his classics rather than this

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    Big Disappointment

    As an avid book reader, I will finish any book I have started, no matter how painful. It took great effort to finish this book. I thought the premise of the story was interesting initially, but the plot was developed in a very confusing manner. I had a difficult time feeling any connection or empathy to the characters. There wasn't anything I liked in the book by the time I completed it. Overall, the book was hugely disappointing. I am a big fan of Stephen King and I look forward to new releases. I am particularly enthralled by the Gunslinger series. However, Dreamcatcher gets two thumbs down from me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2001

    Get it from the Library!

    Get it from the Library, If you must read this book! It is absolutly the worst King book yet. Very poor character development(unusual for S.K.)and no plot. After three out of four main characters get killed off the story reads like it was written by ten different people. I didn't finish this book because I didn't care how it ended! ALSO, after reading the previous 56 reviews here, I notice a pattern. Many of those who gave Dreamcatcher high marks, recommended some of S.K's recent stuff (which is not his best)Those of us who have read ALL his works give him marginal ratings. BUYER BEWARE!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    Proof Positive

    I haven't given up through Kings last few works..But it's been said&now proven that he could publish his laundry list and get a best seller. This is the most disjointed confusing read he's ever done. Then to try and take the last 4 pages and tie everything into a neat bow is a cheat. I can honestly say this is the first book he has ever published where there should be a refund address enclosed in the back cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    Couldn't even finish it.

    I was an ardent reader of all the early King works. I quit reading him after The Tommyknockers. A friend recommended Dreamcatcher as one of King's best. I tried it with an open mind. The first 100 or so pages were pretty good. But then it began to bog down and get too wordy. Meaningless words at that. By page 250 I have set the book down. In 37 years old, I read about 6 books a month, and this is only about the 5th book I have never finished. I may get really bored and skim through the rest of it one day. Somebody needs to get brave enough to edit Stephen King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2001

    One of his worst books

    Absolutely one of the worst books I have ever read.It was not in the least bit scary or suspensful.I kept hoping that it would get more interesting as I read on, but it never did.It was like King has ran out of new ideas and had taken ideas from some of his other books and put together.I would not recommend this book to anyone I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2001

    I guess I am too old......

    I bought this book because it was on the bestseller list and so many people are such avid Stephen King fans....I have never read another book by him before....I am ashamed to say, the first half was tolerable, the middle lost me completely and after chapter upon chapter, whereby I could not understand what was happening, I quit the book. I have not quit a book before finishing that I can remember. More amazing, I went back to the reviews again...People starting at night and couldn't stop to sleep, people loving it, another great one from the master of dark fiction! I guess as the kids say ' I am out of it'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2001

    Unsatisfying

    Without giving away the ending, I find this book completely unsatisfying. Duddits was intriguing as a character but I've worked with people with Mental Retardation and theres nothing even remotely mystical about them. I also couldn't care less if any of the characters bit tthe dust. I know nothing about them as adults except what their childhoods were like. The flashbacks are annoying after a while and the scenes with Mr. Grey and Jonesy are confusing. I was almost offended by this book because it so much worse than the best book I've ever read....The Green Mile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2001

    Why Bother?

    Dreamcatcher, a nice catchy title, a nice cool looking cover that seems to beckon to you 'come on in and enjoy.' I have been a King fan for almost Twenty years now, and I cannot believe this book. Sophmoric prose that seems to try really hard to annoy the reader, totally aborted plot that never gets anywhere, and possibly the most insipid premise I have ever read plague these six hundred some odd pages. I can't say that I cared a bit about any of the characters (which did not develop at all throughout the book), or that I felt compelled to finish. Even with the mediocrity of 'The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon' and 'Hearts in Atlantis' I was not prepared for this. I LOVE King's writing,and I really hope that the next one is worth reading. Maybe it's time for Mr. King to take his talents into some other genre than the pseudo horror contained in this book that seemed to be no more than a waste of time, or better yet a paycheck. But, I do believe that every artist has the right to do one thing that isn't all that, so I will buy the next book as soon as it comes out, as always. Sorry Stephen, I just don't go for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2001

    Shady was Kings worst...

    Shady was by far the worst I have ever read from King... I have read quite a few of his books many of which I enjoyed... but Shady... It was just horrible... I really did not enjoy it at all...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2001

    Disjointed

    Having been an ardent fan of SK for over 20 years, I have read just about everything published by him. I found this book to be too disjointed - the main characters being killed off very early in the book and the scenes created do not CATCH the way many of his others do (I was nearly sacked when I read Misery in the toilet at work!) The book doesn't seem to be going anywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1