Customer Reviews for

Dreamcatcher

Average Rating 4
( 375 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

very good

i thought this book was very good. some parts were funny, some graphic, sometimes it actually made me itchy. i liked needful things, but i think this was better. it slowed a bit between pages 400 and 500, introducing some new people to the story but then picks right bac...
i thought this book was very good. some parts were funny, some graphic, sometimes it actually made me itchy. i liked needful things, but i think this was better. it slowed a bit between pages 400 and 500, introducing some new people to the story but then picks right back off non stop to the ending. great book

posted by Anonymous on April 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

i have to read this book for school

I'm a Sophmore and i have to read this book for school can anyone give a good hint if i should read thus book or pick a different bvook for school to read?

posted by 6418776 on January 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Good Book to Read for Middle School

    It was good book. I really like this book. A long time ago, in a haunted city of Derry for boy stood together. They did something that changes them. Twenty -five years later they live separate lives and have separate troubles. Each hunting season the foursome reunites.
    The theme of the book is Man vs. thing, and it holds my attention throughout the story. The book was good, and I really like this book. I recommend this book for young readers; people will really enjoy this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Good book

    Good read but the ending was a disapointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not for the easily disgusted

    This book is a horror fans dream. Everything you look for this book has. From aliens to blood and gore it's in there. In the begining it's just a background of the main character's lives. Then everything changes for the better. More people are introduced along with new surroundings. From there on hold on to your seats as Stephen King does what he does best. He makes you not want but need to keep reading. Dreamcatcher is a book that you shouldn't hesitate to own

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for sci-fi fans.

    The Dreamcatcher by Stephen King is a horror novel that revolves around the life of 4 young adults; Henry Devlin, Joseph"Beaver" Clarendon, Pete Moore, Gary "Jonesy" Jones. As children the four of them form a very special bond with a little boy with Down syndrome, Douglas "Duddits" Cavell. This special bond becomes vital to their survival once they become adults. During an annual hunting trip the four of them take together to Maine, a mysterious quarantine takes place. A lot of rumors are spread, including one that involved a crashing spaceship and an extraterrestrial virus. Soon enough the four of them begin to realize what is happening around them and they all become involved in this catastrophe. The bond they made with "Duddits" plays a very important part in their survival of it. The military takes an immediate role in fighting this strange force. The operation is being led by a man called Colonel Abraham Kurtz, with Captain Owen Underhill as second in command. The four friends must fight this force, and while the intentions of the military are good, they get in the way of Henry and his friends who might be more apt for the job than the military.
    I recommend this book if you're the kind of person that is interested in mystery and science-fiction. This book will take you through the lives of all the characters, how they each have a very intense bond with each other and how even though they are separate people they play a vital role in each other's destiny.


    This book is not only science fiction and horror but it can also be viewed as a allegory to life and our fears, and how we must fight our fears in order to survive. Also, there is the presence of extraterrestrial beings, so if you're interested in knowing how an alien thinks or do, this book might peak your interest. King's book will always leave you thinking for weeks, his books make you reflect about your life in general, and how you can see some of it in his novels. However I must also warn you that it is rather a slow book, so if you're the kind of person that likes to get into the action right away this book might not be right for you. If you enjoy getting to know the main characters and their backgrounds, King does an excellent job doing that in this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    Dreamcatcher

    An exhilarating horror novel by Stephen King called Dreamcatcher caught my attention from the very beginning. Henry, Pete, Jonesy, and Beaver were friends since their early childhood. Together they confronted some bully guys that were attacking a little child with special education. This great act brought them together in a very strange way. Somehow they could read and hear each other¿s thoughts and could see amazing things. They decided to call their visions as ¿the line¿ and their strange `powers¿ as SSDD. Every time they thought of SSDD, they were able to connect to each other and to their friend that gave them their amazing `powers¿. Every year they had a reunion, a week in the year that they rested from their contemporary lives and went to hunt in the woods of Maine. However, this year a disoriented stranger stumbled into their camp site. He mumbled something about been lost in the woods for a couple of days but he did not show sign of it, except for a red mark under his left eye that kept getting bigger. Part of his incoherent conversation was something about lights in the sky and strange creatures in the woods. The foursome got plunged into a horrifying struggle with another world¿s creature. Their only chance of survival is hidden in their past with their powers and their special friend. The only way they can find their way out is through the Dreamcatcher. Stephen King did a wonderful job with this novel. Even though it was lengthy, they whole novel was full a very descriptive, detailed, and colorful language. King could make me feel the horror. My imagination was not limited at all because King provided all the devices necessary to make of this novel a piece of amazing fictional literature. I would widely recommend it to anyone who has read previous works of Stephen King, who likes fictional, catchy, descriptive, horror novels, or to someone that really likes to read. The only downside of this novel was that because it was so long, sometimes it was hard to keep up with the reading. However, after all King did not disappoint me with this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    A thrilling attention grabber, that doesn't let go until it's over

    Out of all the great qualities this book holds the best is by far the reality of the story. Not so much in the actual events, but in the dialog between characters. Right from the begining you for views and images of the characters from there personalities to there appearnce as if you were actually meeting them. The plot is deffinately 'out there' as are most of King's novels, but i find this to be one of his best pieces of work due to a steady personality from every character and clever views of the alien lifeform.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2005

    Very scary

    This book was so scary that I had to put it down for like a week and then had to convice myself to finish it. Very vivid and eyeopening, this book lets you glimpse at the deepest parts of life and seeing how you can hold on in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    King's Best Work

    Dreamcatcher is by far King's best work. He has such vivid imaginaiton to create the storyline that can lose you if you're not careful. The passages are pretty action-packed, but definitly not for the weak of heart. The book is also way better than the movie, so read it first. Also, be on the lookout for ties into King's other book set in Derry, It.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2004

    What a thrill ride!

    What a thrill ride. Mr. King has outdone himself again. A masterful story with a whole new level of a horror twist. I recommend this book to all fans of the psychological horror. Bravo! Another book that comes close to such a horror is perhaps Simon Cleveland's 'Basenji Revelation'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2004

    Praise for Stephen King's Dreamcatcher!!!

    One of the greatest novels of ALL time here people! If you've enjoyed previous King books, you will love this one. Recommended for people ages 13+ (Any King fan knows that his verbal descriptions can be a little on the mature side, which I like it!). Price on this book is around $7.00 for paperback and $16.00 for hardcover. I rated this book a 4.5 stars out of 5 because if I rated it a 5 that would mean the book is PERFECT, which no book can possibly be... This novel is a must get for all horror/suspense/adventure book lovers. It is pricy but well worth it, for there is plenty of pages of nonstop churning of the brain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2004

    Come again?

    The book was brilliant. Not that I'd expect less from Mr. King. I couldn't put the book down. That was, until the end. I feel the end was a little lackluster. It had me feeling that I had missed something somewhere, but where I'm still unsure of. Still a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    Dreamcatcher

    I am a pretty big King reader, loved all of his books, this was no different. It is another exciting novel brilliantly written and a real interest catcher. A 'LITTLE' too much swearing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    Thrilling

    Boldly written. Thrilling and excitting. Stephen King just knows how to write a great horror book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    Recommended

    'Dreamcatcher' is like a longer, simpler, less skillful version of Logan Robert Bingham's 'Hunter Rising.' Even so, I can't give it less than four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2004

    Great book!

    The whole book is great. The characters are amazing, and the plot is good too. The suspense is great and you really feel a hatred for the villain (Mr. Gray). All this said, I'm not so sure that I liked the ending as much as the rest of the book. Still a great read. Stephen King is a genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2004

    Good Book!

    I liked this book.It was great.I'd recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2004

    Riveting story! Intense read!

    King has outdone himself with this one! One of his best! I couldn't put it down- I read it front to bakc in one sitting-it was that good! Almost as good as this new book I found by Terse Skirritt EVIL DEBTS! Now that was riveting, scary, surrealistic and darn good-had me on the edge of my seat the whole time alot like King's book but better! Give EVIL DEBTS a try and you'll see what I mean!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    King Does it Again

    Being a reader of many of King's novels I still find him intriguing and able to conjure up a story that makes the rest of us fearful to step out on a dark night. A good read that makes us look around before turning off the lights at night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2004

    one of the best Stephen Kings yet !

    A lot of the reviews on this page said the this book is confusing. I am only in the seventh grade and I understood it. This book is a fine example of Kin's gift. And I personally was very relieved that he is still able to write with such skill, even after his neer fatal accident. I recommend this book to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2003

    Very interesting.

    I enjoyed this book very much. It didn't lose my attention for any given amount of time. I've never read King before, but I soon realized he doesn't put pointless things in his story. Every little memory flashback has a purpose. I can't think of any particular time in this story that he wasted time. As for how confusing it is (I noticed several reviewers said so), I didn't have any trouble understanding it until the last 50 pages or so when the main characters make something of a revelation, that I simply didn't understand. That means that either (a)I'm thick, or (b)it didn't make much sense. I'm not sure which is true. I will probably read this book again to try to understand it better. To sum up, it's a good book. Buy it. Read it. Enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6