Customer Reviews for

Dreamfever (Fever Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2851 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2057)

4 Star

(545)

3 Star

(134)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(62)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

WoW! What a great book!

I rarely buy books - I get them from my library. But this is a series that once I read the first one from the library, had to buy it and the next, and so forth. Please read them in order - it makes a huge difference and you'll be lost if you read Dreamfever without it. ...
I rarely buy books - I get them from my library. But this is a series that once I read the first one from the library, had to buy it and the next, and so forth. Please read them in order - it makes a huge difference and you'll be lost if you read Dreamfever without it. This is also the fourth of a five book series. I assume the last will be published next August. If you can't wait, and don't like cliffhangers, wait til next year. But DO read them. It is also not a romance, and it deals with adult subjects.

I have re-read them all at least 5+ times, looking for nuances, appreciating a turn of phrase, questioning characters and situations, wondering what will happen next. Having the storyline arc over 5 books allows for character development that goes beyond the standard surface treatment a single-book storyline can ever give. That's what made the infamous cake scene earlier in the series so great - not only was it brilliant writing, it shed light on who the characters were.

As for Dreamfever, the plot is fast paced, with action, introspection, emotional highs and lows, and persistence in the face of life's difficulties. It is not light or trite, and there is entertainment to balance the difficult scenes. Serious topics are dealt with, and an informed reader understands their role. It is a dark urban fantasy, and it is what it is - great! For sure, read the books in order, if you don't you will be confused and not understand or appreciate the way the storyline must unfold.

There are legions of fans who purposely took the day of work to buy and read this book. That says something about the quality of the writing and the joy a good book (any good book) can bring to its readers. This is one of those books.

posted by Fevered on August 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Loyal reader who's disappointed

I've been a fan of K.M.M. since Beyond the Highland Mist. But the Fever series has left me more and more disappointed with each installment. In DREAMFEVER, Ms. Moning doesn't seem to do much to advance the plot of the series. We don't find really find out anything ne...
I've been a fan of K.M.M. since Beyond the Highland Mist. But the Fever series has left me more and more disappointed with each installment. In DREAMFEVER, Ms. Moning doesn't seem to do much to advance the plot of the series. We don't find really find out anything new on what Darroc wants and what the Fae Queen is doing to stop all this. There just seems to be a lot of running around for the sake of running around. Barrons' refusal to open up has gone beyond frustrating and his character doesn't experience any growth. After Mac emerges from Pri-ya she says that she is now hardened and won't be pushed around anymore. When in reality it's just talk and she still simply reacts to people and events. And a seasoned author like Ms. Moning should know that readers hate to be stuck with cliff hangers! We are going to read the next installment! It is grossly unfair to force readers to wait a year on something like this. It doesn't make me hungry for more - it makes me mad!

While I admire Ms. Moning's considerable talents and her ability to write, I think I'll be using the library for any future books until she's proven herself again.

posted by Krissy314 on September 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2869 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 144
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loyal reader who's disappointed

    I've been a fan of K.M.M. since Beyond the Highland Mist. But the Fever series has left me more and more disappointed with each installment. In DREAMFEVER, Ms. Moning doesn't seem to do much to advance the plot of the series. We don't find really find out anything new on what Darroc wants and what the Fae Queen is doing to stop all this. There just seems to be a lot of running around for the sake of running around. Barrons' refusal to open up has gone beyond frustrating and his character doesn't experience any growth. After Mac emerges from Pri-ya she says that she is now hardened and won't be pushed around anymore. When in reality it's just talk and she still simply reacts to people and events. And a seasoned author like Ms. Moning should know that readers hate to be stuck with cliff hangers! We are going to read the next installment! It is grossly unfair to force readers to wait a year on something like this. It doesn't make me hungry for more - it makes me mad!

    While I admire Ms. Moning's considerable talents and her ability to write, I think I'll be using the library for any future books until she's proven herself again.

    32 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    WoW! What a great book!

    I rarely buy books - I get them from my library. But this is a series that once I read the first one from the library, had to buy it and the next, and so forth. Please read them in order - it makes a huge difference and you'll be lost if you read Dreamfever without it. This is also the fourth of a five book series. I assume the last will be published next August. If you can't wait, and don't like cliffhangers, wait til next year. But DO read them. It is also not a romance, and it deals with adult subjects.

    I have re-read them all at least 5+ times, looking for nuances, appreciating a turn of phrase, questioning characters and situations, wondering what will happen next. Having the storyline arc over 5 books allows for character development that goes beyond the standard surface treatment a single-book storyline can ever give. That's what made the infamous cake scene earlier in the series so great - not only was it brilliant writing, it shed light on who the characters were.

    As for Dreamfever, the plot is fast paced, with action, introspection, emotional highs and lows, and persistence in the face of life's difficulties. It is not light or trite, and there is entertainment to balance the difficult scenes. Serious topics are dealt with, and an informed reader understands their role. It is a dark urban fantasy, and it is what it is - great! For sure, read the books in order, if you don't you will be confused and not understand or appreciate the way the storyline must unfold.

    There are legions of fans who purposely took the day of work to buy and read this book. That says something about the quality of the writing and the joy a good book (any good book) can bring to its readers. This is one of those books.

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Barrons rocks!

    Would anyone like to go with me to Karen Marie Moning's house, tie her to the chair, & not let her go (not even to use the bathroom, LOL) until she FINISHES Shadowfever?

    Okay, let me start by saying that I am livid hot pissed! What a cliff hanger. I thought that Faefever was a cliff hanger but nothing compared to this one. I think what makes it worse is that I had already bought Dreamfever when I finished Faefever. Now I have to wait for Shadowfever to come out! How long is it going to be? It's one thing to keep a reader interested but to leave one completely hanging like that for such a long time is just wrong!

    On another note, I absolutely LOVED this book & think it's the best in the series by a mile. I love Barrons even more. He is definitely my favorite character. I can't stand Rowena, what a nasty hag! Such a well written series. It has kept me riveted....Karen, please HURRY with Shadowfever! If she starts writing another series, I probably won't even start it until she has finished writing the entire series. I can't stand to be kept in that much suspense. This is my favorite series by a mile. Barrons ROCKS!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GO MONING!

    I love this series!!!! Ive been waiting for this book, always checking the website to see when it would be out! Ms. Moning takes me into a world that I want to be in yet I don't. I have all the books and i am hoping to continue my collection. Faefever left me shocked and hanging and that was the perfect way to leave off. Is Mac really on the Unsealie side? Or will she come back to her senses? Will Barron or the Death By Sex Fae save her? So many questions!!!! I need answers!....Now its time to find out whats going to happen to Mac next. :D

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    Just more circles

    I am a loyal Karen Marie Moning fan. I have own all of her books. After reading the books I listen to them on audio. In all honesty though, this one was somewhat of a disappointment. I have read the book twice in hopes I had missed something the first time around. Nope got it all the first time. Normally I finish her books in one sitting. This one took me a few days to complete, both times. The story line felt scattered. In all of her other books she portrayed the emotions of the characters so well. This one is lacking that. Dreamfever just adds more to the confusion with very few answers. Ms. Moning notes that things will all become clear in the 5th and final book. I own all of her other books and I am sure I will finish out my collection with the last one, but I probably won't be there the day it comes out on the market.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    Just Wait, you'll thank yourself later.

    I would like to start off by making it clear that the book is worth your time if you like softer fiction. The story is intriguing, though the writing a bit shoddy. Even four books in I'm not sure why the series needed to be five books. Ive also wondered why each book has ended in a blatant cliffhanger, which also happens to be the middle of a scene, when its obvious the main plot arc of the series has yet to be resolved. That should be enough to bring your readers back for the next installment. An Editor Ms. Moning is not, but as I said the story is intriguing.

    My main frustration with modern fiction is the commercialism involved in its release. In the authors own words she conceptualized the story as a whole and, for that reason, writing it was done much more quickly than anything she had done previously. If that is the case, why are we waiting a year between books? And, again, why chop the story as a whole into five mini-arcs stuffed with an abundance of inner monologue and unnecessary scenes with unimportant characters. I have to assume the driving force behind this is money.

    I await the final chapter, but I can say with certainty that this is the last time I will begin a suggested episodic tale prior to the release of its conclusion.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Read it you will like it

    I read some of the less flattering reviews and I have got to say I loved this book. I totally disagree that Barrons and Mac didn't progress in their keep you guessing relationship. Not only did she get into his head, but he allowed it. You may still not know exactly what Barrons is but you get some insight to the V'Lane versus Barrons history. Plus Mac had no choice but to lower her guards with Barrons in the beginning and it shows what he would go throw to keep her with him, and not just for the book. I loved the character development, I love the growing relationship between Mac and Dani, and I really loved that the old witch GM got a mouthful of Mac's inner angst. I for one cannot wait till the next book.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not worth the price or time

    This book is #4 of a series of possibly 5 books. The first book was very good. A fantastic storyline that made you hunger for more. The following books were not good and did not maintain the promise of the first book. I read this book today; or tried to read this book today. It was not possible. I set aside the money to purchase it; but after attempting to fix an interest in it for over 40 minutes - I left the store without it.
    I wanted to like this book. I wanted to care about the characters. I wanted to see growth and intelligence and excitement. There was very little of any of that in this book. It was like watching a granny dress and talk like a teenager. The words were there; but the actions seemed disjointed and out of touch. The style was off, the actions were off and the character had gotten twisted out of normal.

    I see how some readers find this story refreshing and love it. I am not one of them. Ms Moning is no Tolkein and no Shakespeare. I feel a great pity for her characters. She has betrayed them and her readers. But, perhaps, she has been betrayed by her editor and agent?

    I do not know where she is heading with this story. I do know that I will not purchase another of her works. When an author relies on sex and violence in place of plot; it signals a loss of focus.

    My recommendation is to look over the book and see if it is something that interests you. It did nothing for me except make me wonder which sex manuals she used for reference.

    The main characters did not experience growth. They simply reacted to artificial stimuli put in their way to replace or lengthen a plot that is already too trite.

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    Disappointed - disappointed!

    I have everyone of Moning's books and have loved each one, but this one is just a "throw together" and the ending sucks. What ending, hang on there's another book yet to come. HATE CLIFFHANGERS! Especially when you have to wait another year before the next comes out. By then, I'll have forgotten to event think about what the final outcome is.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2009

    Wonderful Addition to the Fever Series

    This book is by far my favorite in the fever series. If you don't like big gaps between books, then these are not for you. Although there are still more questions then answers, I love it because it keeps me guessing and wondering at whats going to come next; it's not predictable, and the relationship between Mac and Barrons is even more electric then ever! I wish we could have gotten more intimacy between them near the end, but it's still an exciting and addictive book!!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    Really Good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I have to say I was a bit concerned about the 4th installment. There is always so much hype I was not expecting much. But the prologue gets you hooked right away. I loved the Mac-Barrons storyline. It was fantastic. I could have done with a little less of Ro and the Abbey though. The last 3rd of the book was the best and kept you reading and wanting more.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Incredible...

    As an avid KMM fan, I have read her for years. I got hooked on the Fever series when it was first released and have always been one of the first in line to pick up my copy when the stores open on release day. This year, I preordered a hard copy and bought the ebook at midnight because I couldn't wait. Of course, I stayed up all night reading, just as I did last year.

    Moning doesn't disappoint, in fact she delivers locked and loaded. The journey through the book was an emotional roller coaster ride for me. Perhaps it was because I felt every emotion that Mac experienced, from confusion, worthlessness, loneliness, to the sexual tension that finally explodes.

    There is so much more going on in this book. The plot is more in depth, intense, and complicated. The characters are expanded and we get to watch Mac 1.0 develop into a much more savage creature. Surprising, we get a glimpse of Dani more in this book, from her POV to watching a budding sibling type relationship develop between her and Mac. Tensions are high between the sidhe-seers, as Mac attempts to produce the means to wipe out the Fae invasion. There are brief forays with side characters I wish we would have gotten a better glimpse of, but I am sure that will all be answered in the final installment.

    There are many questions answered in Dreamfever and even more left unanswered. What's the deal with Ryodan? I was shocked at the true discovery of his character...Barrons has nothing on his lack of humanity. V'lane seems to have mastered human expressions and surprisingly, he seems to be interested in becoming more of a suitor...although we don't see as much of his character in this book. Barrons, as always, is still an enigma.

    This novel is action packed, tense, bittersweet, and a trip for the senses. I read it in one sitting,simply because I could not stop. KMM is absolutely phenomenal in this book, I lack the eloquence to say exactly how amazing of a job she has done.

    I cried, I laughed, and I was furious...all the emotions a great novel should evoke. The kicker? Another huge cliff hanger that left me more surly than Barrons and agonizing over waiting another year for the next release.

    You won't be disappointed!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Shell Shocked

    This book was so fast paced, I read the book straight through. I loved that Dani was more involved in this book, I love that clearly Barrons has some feeling for Mac. The end left me shocked, I read it over and over again. It cant be Barrons, but then if it is I think that he's to blame, by not trusting mac enough, and lies by omission could have been his downfall. It drove me nuts that Christian was left hanging, and what was going on with him and the tattoos? Vlane seems to have changed become more evolved emotionally. I had my doubts that the LM killed Mac's sister, and now I'm of the mind he had nothing to do with her death at all. On a slightly critical note I felt this book moved so fast that it did not delve as deep as I wanted it. I guess I just want my conclusion and answers now. It will be a tough year to wait for the next installment.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    THE FEVER U RESIST!!!!

    I have to say that I have never read a series of books that were so tantilizing and such a turn on at the same time. I promise that if you ever decide to read these books, you would never want to put it down.
    Keep up the great work Karen Marie Moning!!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Buy until you test drive it

    Her last two novels in this series was a waste of time and money. I fell for them but am in no way ready to shell out cash for a 3rd case of boredom.
    So far, this series had one good book and two paragraphs. I'm going to thoroughly check out this book before even thinking about purchasing and recommend all of you to do the same. Her first books of the highland series were great. I still re-read them. This series has been so disappointing. You can skip the 2nd and 3rd installments - you won't miss anything but boredom and frustration. The first one was good. So, I grabbed the 2nd one and couldn't believe that it was so poor in plot, character development, and heavy on boredom. I bought the 3rd, giving it a 2nd chance and have regretted buying it from the 2nd chapter. TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY!
    This author and this series should have a red warning light - buy at your own risk!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I wish that I had stopped with book #2...

    I discovered this series on my ipod and listened to a podcast of book #1 ( the titles all blur for me). I purchased book #2 as an audio-book and thoroughly enjoyed it as well. Books # 3 &4 had me cringing. As a longtime KMM fan, I kept waiting on her offbeat humor to pull the stories out. They ran out of time. I really was disappointed with installment #3, but remained hopeful for #4. I will wait for the boards to post with spoilers rather than purchase #5. I really don't want to waste hard earned money on more "death by sex". I think we all got and ENJOYED the funny/compelling concept in Book #1. Please, please, please... go back to what you do best Karen, make us laugh and let us fall in love with Highlanders whose appeal transcends time. Let the less talented fill the shelves with mindless smut.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    hated it

    i don't like the seires. i'm not a fan of the author's writing style and i just plainly don't like the storyline and characters. Mac is wacky, Barron is a creep(in the chapters when he "cured" Mac wasz just odd)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best in the series..for now

    Dreamfever! Where do i start, um, amzaing,to say the least.In this one not only do we get to see from Daani's point of view in this book, but we get to hear from Barrons' as well. Barrons ! Dani and the other Sidhe-seers are hunting Mac (not that Dani would ever want to fight Mac.)Dani gets away from the others with her superhuman speed and finds Mac on the stone cold hard floor of the church,3 unseelie death-by-sex fae, having sex with Mac's unconcious body, Dani has to help. Ro wants Mac dead or alive, but Dani wont let them Kill Mac.She knows that Mac did not put shades into the orb to be released into Dublin...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Karen Marie Moning's Fever Series is in the Wrong Section of the Bookstore!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this series so far. I found the first one at the library when it was highlighted in their "Beginning of a Series" section. I was totally hooked right off the bat. Mac, the protagonist, is charming but flippant, sexy but not slutty and very likable. Even in her grief and disbelief of losing a beloved sister and finding a whole world that had been hidden to her before, she maintains the core of her character. Barrons is truly a unique find in that he is not the standard "Everyone's Hero" sort of male lead and that the author has quite cleverly kept most of his background a secret, only dribbling it out in bits and pieces.

    What I don't understand is why this series is placed in with Moning's other series. I believe the other is some sort of romantic Highlander theme. There has been very little sex, let alone "romance" in the Fever series. It truly belongs in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy section along with Patricia Briggs, Laurel K. Hamilton and Charlaine Harris. To be honest, it is rather embarrassing to be caught looking in the Romance section as I find most romance novels to be trite and formulaic and not worth the time and effort, however, this series has been anything but. I can't wait for the final installment to be released! If you are looking for a new and imaginative Fantasy series this is it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Mac at the end of the world as we know it!!

    This is the best "fever" yet. Must be H1N1 Mac style. The book starts off after Mac has been raped by the Unseelie Princes and turned "priya" Barron's cure for "pri-ya" is just as outrageous and desperate as is most of he and Mac's relationship. Mac's cure hardens her character and sharpens her ass-kicking abilities. Mac and the other sidthe seers begin confronting their pasts and finding answers and of course, more questions. More searching and seeking leads to the Lord Master kidnapping her adoptive family in the US.
    You will love and hate this book. Love it for Mac's resurgence and hate it for the way the story continues to find one answer, then creates 20 more questions. The beast in the basement garage for example??? I read this book twice looking for hidden clues. I still am hanging on the cliff as the author desires. Take pity on us, your readers please Ms. Moning. How can you not love Mac in all her glory? Who is the dreamy-eyed boy? Also, two months of anti-priya therapy, question-mark on the birth control. It boggles the mind. In a good way!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2869 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 144