Customer Reviews for

Dreamfever (Fever Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2855 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2059)

4 Star

(547)

3 Star

(134)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(62)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

WoW! What a great book!

I rarely buy books - I get them from my library. But this is a series that once I read the first one from the library, had to buy it and the next, and so forth. Please read them in order - it makes a huge difference and you'll be lost if you read Dreamfever without it. ...
I rarely buy books - I get them from my library. But this is a series that once I read the first one from the library, had to buy it and the next, and so forth. Please read them in order - it makes a huge difference and you'll be lost if you read Dreamfever without it. This is also the fourth of a five book series. I assume the last will be published next August. If you can't wait, and don't like cliffhangers, wait til next year. But DO read them. It is also not a romance, and it deals with adult subjects.

I have re-read them all at least 5+ times, looking for nuances, appreciating a turn of phrase, questioning characters and situations, wondering what will happen next. Having the storyline arc over 5 books allows for character development that goes beyond the standard surface treatment a single-book storyline can ever give. That's what made the infamous cake scene earlier in the series so great - not only was it brilliant writing, it shed light on who the characters were.

As for Dreamfever, the plot is fast paced, with action, introspection, emotional highs and lows, and persistence in the face of life's difficulties. It is not light or trite, and there is entertainment to balance the difficult scenes. Serious topics are dealt with, and an informed reader understands their role. It is a dark urban fantasy, and it is what it is - great! For sure, read the books in order, if you don't you will be confused and not understand or appreciate the way the storyline must unfold.

There are legions of fans who purposely took the day of work to buy and read this book. That says something about the quality of the writing and the joy a good book (any good book) can bring to its readers. This is one of those books.

posted by Fevered on August 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Loyal reader who's disappointed

I've been a fan of K.M.M. since Beyond the Highland Mist. But the Fever series has left me more and more disappointed with each installment. In DREAMFEVER, Ms. Moning doesn't seem to do much to advance the plot of the series. We don't find really find out anything ne...
I've been a fan of K.M.M. since Beyond the Highland Mist. But the Fever series has left me more and more disappointed with each installment. In DREAMFEVER, Ms. Moning doesn't seem to do much to advance the plot of the series. We don't find really find out anything new on what Darroc wants and what the Fae Queen is doing to stop all this. There just seems to be a lot of running around for the sake of running around. Barrons' refusal to open up has gone beyond frustrating and his character doesn't experience any growth. After Mac emerges from Pri-ya she says that she is now hardened and won't be pushed around anymore. When in reality it's just talk and she still simply reacts to people and events. And a seasoned author like Ms. Moning should know that readers hate to be stuck with cliff hangers! We are going to read the next installment! It is grossly unfair to force readers to wait a year on something like this. It doesn't make me hungry for more - it makes me mad!

While I admire Ms. Moning's considerable talents and her ability to write, I think I'll be using the library for any future books until she's proven herself again.

posted by Krissy314 on September 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not worth the price or time

    This book is #4 of a series of possibly 5 books. The first book was very good. A fantastic storyline that made you hunger for more. The following books were not good and did not maintain the promise of the first book. I read this book today; or tried to read this book today. It was not possible. I set aside the money to purchase it; but after attempting to fix an interest in it for over 40 minutes - I left the store without it.
    I wanted to like this book. I wanted to care about the characters. I wanted to see growth and intelligence and excitement. There was very little of any of that in this book. It was like watching a granny dress and talk like a teenager. The words were there; but the actions seemed disjointed and out of touch. The style was off, the actions were off and the character had gotten twisted out of normal.

    I see how some readers find this story refreshing and love it. I am not one of them. Ms Moning is no Tolkein and no Shakespeare. I feel a great pity for her characters. She has betrayed them and her readers. But, perhaps, she has been betrayed by her editor and agent?

    I do not know where she is heading with this story. I do know that I will not purchase another of her works. When an author relies on sex and violence in place of plot; it signals a loss of focus.

    My recommendation is to look over the book and see if it is something that interests you. It did nothing for me except make me wonder which sex manuals she used for reference.

    The main characters did not experience growth. They simply reacted to artificial stimuli put in their way to replace or lengthen a plot that is already too trite.

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Buy until you test drive it

    Her last two novels in this series was a waste of time and money. I fell for them but am in no way ready to shell out cash for a 3rd case of boredom.
    So far, this series had one good book and two paragraphs. I'm going to thoroughly check out this book before even thinking about purchasing and recommend all of you to do the same. Her first books of the highland series were great. I still re-read them. This series has been so disappointing. You can skip the 2nd and 3rd installments - you won't miss anything but boredom and frustration. The first one was good. So, I grabbed the 2nd one and couldn't believe that it was so poor in plot, character development, and heavy on boredom. I bought the 3rd, giving it a 2nd chance and have regretted buying it from the 2nd chapter. TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY!
    This author and this series should have a red warning light - buy at your own risk!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    hated it

    i don't like the seires. i'm not a fan of the author's writing style and i just plainly don't like the storyline and characters. Mac is wacky, Barron is a creep(in the chapters when he "cured" Mac wasz just odd)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Ms Moning, your reference to "jury-rigged" (page 63) m

    Ms Moning, your reference to "jury-rigged" (page 63) made me gasp at your lack of knowledge. You really shouldn't use words that you have personally colloquialized improperly. Gerry-mandering, aka Gerry-rigging has nothing to do with a jury. It means manipulating political voting boundaries and is named after a governor. Overall, I found this book disappointing and full of errors. It was hard to get through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    NOT WORTH IT

    I got introduced into Ms Moning's books with the beginning of the "fever" series. I usually do not like the continuing type of series with the same main character, but I was tempted and checked the first 3 books out of the library. By the 3rd book I was hooked. I couldn't wait to get the 4th book to see how the progression of Jericho's and Mac's relationship. I start reading the 4th book, excitied at how the scenes are playing out, and then I get to the 4th chapter. Jericho, who I once hoped would show some redeeming qualities and tenderness towards Mac became no better than the Unseelie princes. He took advantage of Mac's unstable mind and weakness. Yuck! I believe that the "curing" of Mac from being a sex slave could have been handled with a lot more caring and love, not this 24-hr, 7 days a week sex scene. The relationship between Jericho and Mac deteriorated at that point for me. I continued about 1/2 way through the book hoping that the author would give something towards a romance, contrition from Jericho for his actions, declarations of love, etc. Nothing. I am not going to finish this book and based on the reviews for book #5 I will not be reading that one anytime soon.

    The classification of this series as a paranormal romance is misleading. There is no romance. Ms. Moning takes characters who are likeable and have potential in the first 3 books and make them become characters that you do not want to root for or support or like.

    I doubt that I will read any other books by Ms. Moning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    Worst heroine ever

    The first book was really good. By the middle of the second the whiney, self pitying monologues of the main femail character were just too much to take and it just kep going downhill from there.

    Sorry to see such a unique plotline ruined by the main character.

    Love Ms. Monings other books however.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Shipwreck in written word

    This series stopped going forward after book one which was great. Makes you wonder what happened. If you love to reread rhe same things over and over, if you love treading water instead of enjoying a journey, these books are for you. If you prefer reading it forward,spend your money elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4