Customer Reviews for

Dreamhunter (Dreamhunter Duet Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This book duet is surprisingly wonderful!

    I read this book based on a recommendation of another author that I enjoy. I loved this story!! It was original in so many ways, definitely not predictable. Absolutely loved both of the books in the duet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    rich without being overdone and beautiful without being conspicuous about it

    A bit of background before we begin: Dreamhunter first came to my attention when I was talking to "Amy" the YA librarian at my place of employ. As a fellow fantasy fanatic she also thought I would admire the writing. I, however, did not remember to write down the title. A bit later, upon hearing about writing troubles I had been having, Amy once again recommended Dreamhunter. This time I immediately put the book on hold. And looking back now I am ashamed that I waited so very long to read it.

    Dreamhunter is Elizabeth Knox's first novel for a young adult audience, although I feel obligated to point out that the genre label here applies more to the fact that her main characters are teens than anything to do with the novel's subject or prose. She is also the author of several novels for adults.

    Like so many great fantasy novels, Dreamhunter is set in a world not that different from our own. The one reminder that this novel is not like any other period book set in 1906 has to do with dreams.

    For a very few people, perhaps one in every three hundred, dreams really are tangible in the Place: a mysterious other-world far larger than the few acres of woodland that in encompasses in the real world. The Place hold dreams. Of the few that can enter the Place, fewer still are able to sleep there and bring the dreams back to the general public where the dreams can be performed in private residences or in a dream palace like the Rainbow Opera--a sort of theater for dreams--for the public good. Dreamhunters, when they have enough skill and talent, can make their fortunes by catching the right dreams.

    No one knows this better than the novel's fifteen-year-old protagonist, Laura Hame, and her cousin, Rose Tiebold. Laura's father, perhaps one of the best dreamhunters ever, discovered the Place and Rose's mother is another very skilled dreamhunter.

    But, as Laura and Rose are about to learn, all is not right in their world. When Laura's father disappears under mysterious circumstances she and her cousin set out to find the secret behind not only his disappearance but also, perhaps, the very secret of the Place itself.

    Aside from its thrilling plot, Dreamhunter is a wonderful novel because of Knox's background work. As soon as I opened this book, I felt like I was immersed in Laura and Rose's world. It didn't matter that I had never heard of dreamhunters, or Tricksie Bend, or the Grand Patriarch because Knox incorporated all of these new ideas effortlessly into her plot. I was hooked, almost literally, for the entire 365 pages of this novel.

    The writing here is rich without being overdone and beautiful without being conspicuous about it.

    This story opens in the year 1906. The choice of time period, as well as Knox's writing style bring to mind Garth Nix's powerhouse fantasy novel Sabriel. I loved Sabriel (as I love all of Garth Nix's books), but I might have loved Dreamhunter slightly more if for nothing save its ending--one of the best I have read of late.

    Laura and Rose's story continues in Dreamquake the conclusion of Elizabeth Knox's Dreamhunter Duet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dreamhunter

    The Place is where dreamhunters go to find dreams. Dreams that are very different than the ones we have ourselves. These dreams can be shared and shown in a way similar to our movies. Only a select few have the ability to capture dreams from the Place and share them with other nearby sleepers. Laura and her father are two of these people.

    When Laura's father, the first dreamhunter known to exist, disappears she has to follow a strange trail of clues to find out what he was working on. A trail that leads to many disturbing discoveries. Will she have to strength to carry on and follow in his footsteps, or will she instead choose to follow the status quo and let his knowledge disappear as he did?

    I found the story fascinating. There were so many different levels of relationships and personalities that were explored without making the characters overly complicated. The world was where the author lost me a little. There was so much that I just didn't understand. While it was all made clear as the story continued on, I feel like there were many things that I missed and would have understood or appreciated more had I known more about the world itself. It led to a bit of a disjointed story.

    3/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    i didn't like it

    too complicated

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great new fantasy

    Very rarely are authors able to invent a truly original fantasy, and even among that group, only a select few are able to take that original idea and make it into a compelling, well-written novel. Fortunately, both are definitely the case with this book. Knox, who is usually an adult writer took a stab at some young adult fantasy fiction and has executed it brilliantly. The world is tangible as are its rules. The characters are real, and are involved in more than 'banding together against a great evil to save the world', which is an all too-often used plot in fantasy books and young adult books alike.

    There are many subplots, factions between the characters, and political and historical intrigue throughout the text. The relationships between characters is as complex as the characters themselves, and, in many ways, this reads like excellent fiction that happens to be set in a fantasy world. The aesthetics, dialogue, and use of language is, to Knox's credit, written splendidly. I recommend this book to all readers 13+, and I hope the sequel will be just as good.

    -Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing...

    I went into the book thinking it was going to be so awesome...and I was disappointed. It's a very slow book. Not exciting. Some parts are hard to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    Not Very good

    I purchased this book twice and tried to read it both times. I got as far as chapter 7 or 8 and still was lost and no interest was there in the story to keep me reading. This book was a let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    A Phenomenal Story with a Deep Meaning!

    I read this series last year and I still often ponder the underlying meanings and philosophies of the story. The characters are deep and though the story is obviously fantasy, the psychological parallels to our world are very realistic. I enjoyed this series immensely, and highly recommend it. As an avid reader who reads over 100 books every year, I found this one to be unforgettable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    I absoutely love this book.

    I thought that it was a little slow starting, because I did't understand it. I soon thought differently. I absolutely love this book!!! I can't wait to read the second one!!! I thought that it was so thrilling and I just could not get enough of it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2007

    Too long and tells a short plot!

    This book was ridiculous long and tells the reader a short plot. I read this book not because I wanted to I was forced to read it and I tried my best to like it but it was just too long and I felt like the story wasn¿t moving along. I wouldn¿t say it was bad, I just think that the author is very detailed and you can visualize the scene but the story line was moving so slowly. Its okay but I just didn¿t like the fact that it was long and basically I felt like I wasted my time reading it. It¿s about this girl name Laura who has a cousin name Rose and they did everything together until they TRIED out for becoming dreamers and Laura gets accepted but not Rose. But both of their parents are dream hunters and Laura¿s dad is famous for catching dreams. Then one day Laura¿s dad disappears and now Laura wants to figure what happen to him. No one knows if he is alive or not. She is now trying to fit unsolved puzzles to find her father, by the way she does not have a mom. That¿s pretty much it. I think the author could have shortened it down. And now I have to read the second book and find out what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    AMAZING book

    I really loved this book. From the moment i started it i found it intriguing and very suspenseful. The plot was very unique and i found that i never lost intrest in it. The book ended and left me eager to read the next book in the duet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2006

    Ummmm....

    I was really excited when I found this book. I thought the title was intriging and the prologue was interesting. When I started reading it, I thought it was pretty good. But once I hit page 80, everything changed. I was incredibly confused . . . there was too much to remember to even follow the book like the Try, the Rainbow Opera, and stuff like that. The book just seemed to drag on and on and on. By the time I got to page 100, I was pretty much skimming through the whole book. The only reason I gave it 2 stars was because I liked the beginning, but everything, pretty bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2