Customer Reviews for

Dreaming Anastasia (Dreaming Anastasia Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Marta Morrison for TeensReadToo.com

Anne is a typical American high school student. She is more worried about what college she will get into than Russian history.

But she keeps having a strange dream over and over again. This dream is about Anastasia, the youngest daughter of Tzar Nicholas. Nicholas wa...
Anne is a typical American high school student. She is more worried about what college she will get into than Russian history.

But she keeps having a strange dream over and over again. This dream is about Anastasia, the youngest daughter of Tzar Nicholas. Nicholas was the last reining Tzar of Russia and his whole family was gunned down in the basement of their house.

Then in walks Ethan. He is an attractive stranger who seems to know Anne and is stalking her.

Add a lacquered box that depicts the fairy tale of Baba Yaga along with the mention that her mother used to enjoy the stories of Russia as well, and you have a compelling story full of romance and mystery.

Oh, and did I mention the blue light coming off Anne's hands, or the arms that come from the sky to try to take Anne away, or the house on chicken feet?

I really enjoyed this book. It made me want to research the Romanov family and the fairy tale character of Baba Yaga. I loved the characters, especially Anne's best friend, Tess, who seems to be in the right place at the right time. She defines the expression, "I've got your back."

DREAMING ANASTASIA is easy to read and an enjoyable story. Thank you, Ms. Preble, for a great read.

posted by TeensReadToo on August 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

No

I have always LOVED Anastasia and the entire story of her and her family. I was giddy with excitement when i found this book. It started out really interesting and had my full attention but after that it became cheesey. It was like a kiddie book and nothing about it wa...
I have always LOVED Anastasia and the entire story of her and her family. I was giddy with excitement when i found this book. It started out really interesting and had my full attention but after that it became cheesey. It was like a kiddie book and nothing about it was serious.
I always love the villaians in a story but there was nothing scary about either Baba Yaga or the dude whose name i cant remember because he was so completely boring. Personally i hated the ending. All that work for nothing.

It just dissapointed all my expectations and left me feeling like i was reading a stupid book for little kids. I mean, weird is okay as long as it doesnt get completely crazy and mostly all the magic and fairy tales irritated me.

posted by 8332319 on November 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    It was interesting to read

    As a person who is Russian and knows about Russian history, I found this book quite interesting.I wound even say funny because of Baba Yaga and all this story about Anastasia Romanov.
    But,anyway, I really liked that book and I think Joy Preble is very talented writer. I recommend this book to all readers who just want to read about love,magic and the power of dreams...

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Magical Dreamer

    Dreaming Anastasia was an enjoyable read from start to finish. So enjoyable, in fact, that it's gotten me interested in reading more about the Romanov's and their history. I, of course, know vague high school level details of the events but the plot in this story fictionalized elements so interestingly that I'm intrigued to find out more. This is a testament to Preble's ability to interweave fact with fiction thus making it entirely believable that this young princess was swept away by magic to live an ageless life until saved from captivity.

    Speaking of magic, I appreciated that Preble didn't bang us over the head with mysticism and magical pyrotechnics. The story was driven by compelling characters who happened also to have these forces inside them - some were for good others for evil . While magic was entirely prevalent throughout it wasn't a caricature or some outrageously constructed series of laughable actions that people were left scratching their heads over. In this case the magic was all completely relevant and believable in the scope of the story.

    The relationship between Anne and Ethan carried with it that invisible bond magic and the mission they were carrying out held over them. She with her initial skepticism over the events transpiring and the struggle to accept her role and power; he the person with all the answers for her yet measuring how to best move forward in providing them. There was just enough to push them together but also plenty to keep them just that much apart. Speaking of which, I enjoyed that Preble didn't fall into the trap of prolonging the initial distance between the two in the hope of keeping that "who is he" mystery alive. It was clear from the beginning there was a bond and we were kept guessing for just the right amount of time before small details started to trickle out. The timing of that was very well done and kept intriguing me throughout.

    The attraction between Ethan and Anne was apparent from their initial meeting. Yet, the budding love story between the young couple is chaste. I never felt like they were completely in or out of love just that they were moving more and more in the direction of figuring it all out. This, in my opinion, makes the book a good gateway for readers moving from Middle Grade to Young Adult. To further the latter point, Dreaming Anastasia is a quick read with plenty of suspense and mystery to keep readers not only interested but invested in the outcome.

    The use of mystical storytelling and lore is widely used and certainly effective. The story of Baba Yaga is vivid and creatively portrayed. There is equal parts fearsome monster and sympathetic captive compelled by others to do their bidding. She quickly becomes one of those members of the cast that readers either love or love to hate. Further, the story surrounding the role she plays in Anastasia's captivity is quite imaginative and makes one wonder if it is truly of real Russian folklore. Yet another area where readers may be compelled to do further research after completing the novel.

    In the end Dreaming Anastasia is a story of love and loss on many different levels. It was a wild, fun and sweetly romantic ride.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Good Story...

    There are so many characters that come together to make this story work. It is well written and well rounded(adventure, mystery,magic,lineage,romance, betrayal, etc...) I enjoyed the historical aspect of the Romanov's as well. Looking forward to reading the next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    I really like how the author really interpreted such a classic tale in to something new. I love it when authors do that!! It gives me a whole new fresh picture of the story of Anastasia Romanov.

    The story line of this story is amazing! I love the new concept of the story and how it flows. I love the history of the Romanov's and what happen to Anastasia. Ms. Preble did an great job in pulling the reader from the very first page. Heck, I was hooked. I loved that right from the started the action and mystery of Anastasia began, and just kept on rolling.

    The characters were really unique. I loved Anne and her fierceness. She is so strong and not intimidated. Her character knew much because she went through so much. I admired Anna for her strength and wiliness to help Anastasia. The character that came out to me the most, is the best friend. She is absolutely amazing! I loved how supportive she was instead of the normal jealousy stuff.

    Overall, this is a great book! I loved the pacing of the book. Many surprises were revealed little by little, but not too much to over whelm the reader. As the reader continues reading, your are sucked into a world of great story told over many years!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I love the whole idea of the possibility of Anastasia Romanov surviving that horrible night. I especially liked the idea of a mythical answer to the question of did Anastasia survive.

    I loved the folklore included in this story. I didn't know much about Baba Yaga before this. I found her story particularly interesting. I liked how the Brotherhood was able to manipulate her to do their bidding. But, I think in the end she was lonely and managed to twist around the wording of the Brotherhood's spell to get what she wanted.

    I liked how dreamlike Anastasia feels during this entire story. Even when Anne manages to free her from Baba Yaga grasp, it still doesn't seem possible that the Anastasia we know from history could be alive and well in modern day Chicago. I also really enjoyed Anne. She takes everything in stride but doesn't readily accept things as fact. I also really enjoyed the twist in the Romanov family. It was something I'm sure was entirely plausible.

    Overally, I enjoyed this story. It was fast pasted and was an excellent mix of history, fantasy, and modern day elements. I'll be looking for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    I enjoyed that Joy brought new life to this timeless story. I like that this story is told from three different points of view. We hear from Ethan whose mission is to find the girl who will set Anastasia free. We hear from Anne who is linked to Anastasia and last we hear Anastasia's point of view in journal writings to her family. I like the twist that Anastasia is alive all these years and kept hostage by the witch Baba Yaga. The book holds a lot of Russian influence and is something new and different. I think the book was a cute read. I look forward to seeing more from Joy Preble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Unexpected.

    I saw this book and just decided to get it because it sounded interesting; I never knew it would blow my mind. Preble put so much thought and did so much research for this book, it's unforgettable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dreaming Anastasia

    Anastasia Romanov and her family's story has intrigued me since I was a little girl. I used to watch documentaries on the subject for fun, back when I was in junior high. So when I first saw this book I just had to have it!

    I was happily captivated by the world Preble created. The way she mixed history with fiction and added a dose of folklore, the combination made for an awesome book from beginning to end. The only problem, and it wasn't a huge flaw, was with the cover stating it was a love story, but in fact it wasn't much of one. There was hint of a romance but you never actually got to fully see it develop. Anyway down to business. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    Amazing

    OMG!!! This book is really good! I would read it again and agian it is really gerat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2