Customer Reviews for

The Dreaming Void (Void Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This is a great book, but Not a part of a trilogy

The book is great, and he is a great author, but this is not a trilogy in the sense that each book is a complete story. I am now waiting for the paperback version of book 2 to continue reading what is probably just a very long single book. So, if you like an ending, w...
The book is great, and he is a great author, but this is not a trilogy in the sense that each book is a complete story. I am now waiting for the paperback version of book 2 to continue reading what is probably just a very long single book. So, if you like an ending, wait till all 3 have been published in your desired format, then read away - you will enjoy !!

posted by LibrNet on November 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Sexist, boring, cliched.

Time after time, I pick this book up, hoping it's not as bad as I remember, and time after time I throw it down out of sheer frustration at reading such an annoying book. It's not that the writer can't tell a story - he's pretty good at moving the action along - but, w...
Time after time, I pick this book up, hoping it's not as bad as I remember, and time after time I throw it down out of sheer frustration at reading such an annoying book. It's not that the writer can't tell a story - he's pretty good at moving the action along - but, what he has to say, the characters in the story, the ways they interact - it's all so disappointing. The female characters are two-dimensional. The hero character is so over-the-top full of special skills, he can beat anything!!! Action happens simply to move the plot along, the actions themselves make no coherent sense, there's no logic to people's decisions.

If you're the kind of reader who doesn't place any demands on plot, character development, or intelligent action, and instead revels in what is really the equivalent of a masculine Harlequin Romance in Space, you'll love this book. However, if you have any brain at all, you'll find something better. I recommend Neal Stephenson.

posted by Howler on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great book, but Not a part of a trilogy

    The book is great, and he is a great author, but this is not a trilogy in the sense that each book is a complete story. I am now waiting for the paperback version of book 2 to continue reading what is probably just a very long single book. So, if you like an ending, wait till all 3 have been published in your desired format, then read away - you will enjoy !!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sexist, boring, cliched.

    Time after time, I pick this book up, hoping it's not as bad as I remember, and time after time I throw it down out of sheer frustration at reading such an annoying book. It's not that the writer can't tell a story - he's pretty good at moving the action along - but, what he has to say, the characters in the story, the ways they interact - it's all so disappointing. The female characters are two-dimensional. The hero character is so over-the-top full of special skills, he can beat anything!!! Action happens simply to move the plot along, the actions themselves make no coherent sense, there's no logic to people's decisions.

    If you're the kind of reader who doesn't place any demands on plot, character development, or intelligent action, and instead revels in what is really the equivalent of a masculine Harlequin Romance in Space, you'll love this book. However, if you have any brain at all, you'll find something better. I recommend Neal Stephenson.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Mixed bag

    Ambitious, wide ranging plot incorporating elements from many genres--western, corporate drama, thriller, & fantasy, not to mention space opera--limited by prosaic writing and odd lapses in taste; enjoyable nonetheless

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    extremely complex very entertaining futuristic science fiction novel

    Fifteen hundred years have passed since the Commonwealth conspiracy occurred (see PANDORA¿S STAR AND JUDAS UNCHAINED). Mankind ha prospered, but now humanity is divided once again. This time it is over the Void at the core of galaxy. A powerful sect the Living Dream has formed around Inigo the human who insists he dreams of the paradise world inside the Void. The star of his dreams is Edeard who Inigo believes lives inside the Void and is contacting him. ---------------------- Inigo¿s followers become the most powerful political and social force in the galaxy. Meanwhile the human clamor to enter the Void frightens the ancient species who somewhat understands and fears the unintentional consequences of entering the Void will trigger the Void¿s concentric expansion until the galaxy is destroyed. When Inigo vanishes without a trace, Ethan takes over and announces a pilgrimage into the Void.------------ As expected, Peter Hamilton provides an extremely complex very entertaining futuristic science fiction that in some ways is quite simple as the story line focuses on two prime subplots. First there are Inigo¿s dreams of Edeard¿s young life as a teen member of the Eggshaper¿s Guild to his rookie days as a junior constable in Makkathran second there is the various reactions across the galaxy when Ethan announces the pilgrimage into the Void. Each holds up quite well as the key players, Edeard and Ethan seem real, which in turn makes the Void feel genuine. This is a great opening of the second act as fans return to the Hamilton galaxy fifteen or so centuries since we left following the events of PANDORA¿S STAR AND JUDAS UNCHAINED.----------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Not to be read as a standalone book

    Overall, I liked it, but it's just part 1 of a three-part story, and if I want to see how it turns out I have to read two more books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Series of Awesome

    This series spans three novels and takes you on a wonderful journy through the universe that Hamilton created. I really enjoyed this series. Space opera and drama at its finest. Even after 1200+ pages across the three books Hamilton ties up all loose ends and finishes the trilogy in a satisfying manner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing sci Fi Writer.

    Peter F. Hamilton has a style of writing like no other. He is crazy, nasty, disgusting, amazing and more. His stories are never dry and always attractive to any sci fi reader. He is the only reader that has the ability of making a sci fi book seem possible and real in the distant future. Even the far fetched ideas seem plausible because of how he uses them in his books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    Peter Hamilton always delivers!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    Complex Characters

    This book is very like Peter Hamilton's previous work in it's complexity and character developement. It's very long, but also very readable. I was able to get very involved with the story.I am looking forward to the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    The void

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    S

    Snowdrop curled up in the Void, letting the darkness comfort her. Nothing but darkness. No feeling, no hunger, no thirst. In the Void, one does not exist. One simply IS. Snowdrop shut her eyes and allowed herself to be swallowed by the never ending, womb-like embrace of the Void.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6