Customer Reviews for

Dreamland

Average Rating 4.5
( 1301 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(803)

4 Star

(289)

3 Star

(134)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

75 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

Loved It!

Dreamland by Sara Dessen is about a girl named Caitlin, age 16. On her birthday Caitlin's sister Cassandra runs away with her boyfriend, leaving her family disappointed and confused with what has happened. Soon after, Caitlin meets Rogerson Biscoe, a mysterious and appe...
Dreamland by Sara Dessen is about a girl named Caitlin, age 16. On her birthday Caitlin's sister Cassandra runs away with her boyfriend, leaving her family disappointed and confused with what has happened. Soon after, Caitlin meets Rogerson Biscoe, a mysterious and appealing boy around her age. As their relationship grows stronger Caitlin finds herself in a twisted situation trying to decide between her world with Rogerson and her world with the rest of the people in her life. Caitlin's decision brings her to tough times in this supposed "Dreamland." Once this book got going I couldn't put it down, it is written with great detail and form. This wonderful coming of age story teaches a great lesson to girls 12+ while still keeping it interesting. I've never read anything like it and I can't wait to read more books by this author. Don't let the slow beginning keep you from continuing this novel.

posted by 1366146 on May 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Wow...

This book was a buuummmer. Yeah I decided to buy this book since it had such great reviews, and I was so excited when it finally arrived I started to read it. And I was terribly bored at the first 4 chapters, that I stopped reading it. Then latter decided to finish sinc...
This book was a buuummmer. Yeah I decided to buy this book since it had such great reviews, and I was so excited when it finally arrived I started to read it. And I was terribly bored at the first 4 chapters, that I stopped reading it. Then latter decided to finish since Ive read a lot of really good books that started off slow also. So I continued to finish it and yeah it wasn't that great... There wasn't much to it and was pretty plain. I mean once in a wile (and i mean every 3 or 4 chapters) something good happens. But the whole book pretty much, was a disappointment...

If you want to read a good book check out Ellin Hopkins books. There ALL amazing. I highly recommend you check them out because unlike this book hers catches your attention from page one! And you will not put the book down once you pick it up. There great. =]

posted by Amber_roxx051 on November 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1309 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 66
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!

    Dreamland by Sara Dessen is about a girl named Caitlin, age 16. On her birthday Caitlin's sister Cassandra runs away with her boyfriend, leaving her family disappointed and confused with what has happened. Soon after, Caitlin meets Rogerson Biscoe, a mysterious and appealing boy around her age. As their relationship grows stronger Caitlin finds herself in a twisted situation trying to decide between her world with Rogerson and her world with the rest of the people in her life. Caitlin's decision brings her to tough times in this supposed "Dreamland." Once this book got going I couldn't put it down, it is written with great detail and form. This wonderful coming of age story teaches a great lesson to girls 12+ while still keeping it interesting. I've never read anything like it and I can't wait to read more books by this author. Don't let the slow beginning keep you from continuing this novel.

    75 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    EXCELLENT REAL LIFE NOVEL!

    This book, "Dreamland" by Sarah Dessen , is about Caitlin (main character), her sister, Cass leaves on Caitlin's birthday to be with her boyfriend and get away from the college chaos. Caitlin's family goes through some really tough times and Caitlin, later on, decides to do cheerleading. This cheerleading activity leads to unsupervised parties and boys. Caitlin's new boyfriends name is Rogerson Biscoe, who she sees as a great guy, but ends up getting Caitlin into things she normally would not do. Rogerson is really good to Caitlin, until she doesn't show up for a shopping trip that they had planned, and their relationship pretty much goes downhill from there. <BR/>My favorite part of the book is when Caitlin's parents meet Rogerson. Friends of the family, Boo and Stewart, are playing Trivial Pursuit with Caitlin's parents and everything Rogrson says is correct, leaving the family amazed after some things that they had herd about him. <BR/>I defiantly recommend this book to anyone who is into "real life" books and anyone who will read for hours , because this book will leave you wanting to read on and want to know more. Not a disappointment.

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This book has been my favorite for years. And now I want to share my thoughts on it with you.

    I love this book.
    I read it a few years ago, and it is still my favorite book of all time. I haven't found another book that could replace the magic of this book.

    It is a story that talks about the love and pain inside a teenage abusive relationship. It is gripping, scary, powerful, and yet, still beautiful. There is love. There is desire. There is pain. There is confusion. But most of all, there is an understanding you gain from reading this story. You learn to understand why maybe some girls are stuck, or choose to stay in abusive relationships. You may learn to understand the power and life behind a druggie. You may learn to appreciate life in ways you would've never seen before.

    The title of this book is perfect.
    It brings you into Caitlyns life - where everything seems fast paced at times, and slow at others. It's a life where nothing seems like it could be real. But the effects of living in this dreamland can kill her, but leaving it might also.

    I feel like I have learned from this book, something about myself, and other girls who may've gone through what Caitlyn has, and also the life behind someone like Rogerson.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    Wow...

    This book was a buuummmer. Yeah I decided to buy this book since it had such great reviews, and I was so excited when it finally arrived I started to read it. And I was terribly bored at the first 4 chapters, that I stopped reading it. Then latter decided to finish since Ive read a lot of really good books that started off slow also. So I continued to finish it and yeah it wasn't that great... There wasn't much to it and was pretty plain. I mean once in a wile (and i mean every 3 or 4 chapters) something good happens. But the whole book pretty much, was a disappointment... <BR/><BR/>If you want to read a good book check out Ellin Hopkins books. There ALL amazing. I highly recommend you check them out because unlike this book hers catches your attention from page one! And you will not put the book down once you pick it up. There great. =]

    11 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    amazing

    this book is my faveorite book as of FOREVER im 13 and i can realate and i absoloutly love this book. its wonderful.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Charming, mysterious, and attractive; the first impression of Rogerson Biscoe. One would not think that someone who seemed so gentle could be capable of such monstrous things. Caitlin who is desperate to escape her older sister Cass's shadow and find comfort in her sudden departure. Instead she finds Rogerson the answer to all of her problems.. or so it seems. He brings in a few problems of his own; drugs and abusive habits. Caitlin soon gets hypnotized by his charm and quickly get's mixed up in his dark side. She turns her back on the people in her life that she cares most about, and with one decision she completely alters her life as she knows it.

    Seems in today's society lots of women and girls get mixed up in abusive relationships, Dessen in this book searches for the answer as to why girls feel trapped in this situation. She captures that by showing that Caitlin lacks love and Rogerson give's that to her, though only when she isn't late for meeting him, and talking to other guys, in this case doing thing that are apparently very wrong in Rogerson's mind. In Caitlin's life she has many people she can turn to for help like her sister, her mom, her best friend, and her neighbor, though shame overrides her want and her need to be rescued, from Rogerson deathly grasp on her and her world. Dessen does an astonishing job of showing Caitlin's struggles to over come her drug addiction and to escape Rogerson's fists.

    Dessen has generated a novel full of happy memorable moments as well as dark blood curdling scenes, only making the readers never want to put the novel down. She shows young girls and even women that it is hard to escape an abusive relationship, but no impossible. This is by far one of Dessen's greatest novels. She captures the essence of Caitlin's double life in her odd fun loving family, and Rogerson's dark secrets, drug addiction, and his dark abusive side. In this book she demonstrates how Caitlin get's into this mess and how she escapes. Though it took lots of bruises along the way she overcame her addiction and her need to be loved by a man who loved her only after she is beaten several times. Dreamland is definitely a recommend read, Dessen did an incredible job on portraying what it is like to be in an abusive relationship

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    Oh please!

    Such a terrible book.Why write about something serious like abuse and not talk about it until the very end? That doesn't make a good plot.This book is just about some whiny girl running around complaining about her problems,like most of Sarah Dessen's books.She neglected the strongest part of the novel which was the abuse.Dessen is not a good writer.It seems like she has been watching too much 7th Heaven because so far all of her books are about teenage girls going "No one understands! Wahh!" about their life.I do not recommend this book.Read Laurie Halse Anderson instead.Now,that is a REAL writer who writes about problems the way it should be.

    6 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    Extremely emotional, hard to put down, and overall, unforgettable.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Dreamland

    I loved this book!! If you are wondering if you should get it... just get it!!! Best book I have read in a while!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AH-HA!

    A lot of people actually hate this book, but I on the other hand actually liked it. Caitlyn is trying to know who she is or who she wants to be and meets Rogerson. Caitlyn then goes on a wild ride she can't get off. Yet she still loves Rogerson till the point at the end. Blah abuse blah. I really liked the relationship between them, the isolation she puts between everyone, and the drama. This is one of Sarah Dessens forgotten books except for Keeping the Moon which is the most.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    this is the worst on yettt...

    i love sarah dessen books this one was a dissapointment

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Love this book

    I read it in the beginning of my sixth grade year and it had to have been one of the best books iveread in a while. Really, this book tells you to be careful abou who you chose to love and be with. That once you make choices they might not turn out how you want rhem to.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Good

    Want to read it soon! Is it any good?

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Dreamland

    This book shows how anyone with stay will someone else, just because they feel needed. I liked this book because it also showed the way of a teenage
    girl trying to carve out her OWN path. It is not made by her older sister or her mother anymore. It is a great story that shows how one change or move in a life can change someone elses life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    WOW

    I practically cried my eyes out after reading this amazing book. It shows what people actually go through and opens up a whole new world to us. People usually have parents who do what Rogerson does and think that it's how a relashionship is supposed to be. I love Sarah Dessen PLEASE keep up the amazing work!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    I finished this book in tears. It is so good!

    I finished this book in tears. It is so good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Dreamland Dreamland is a heart-tearing story by Sarah Dessen

    Dreamland
    Dreamland is a heart-tearing story by Sarah Dessen about a girl named Caitlin who finds love in a boy named Rogerson. They fall in love so deep that when he started to abuse her, she can’t pull away. Even after her sister runs away and Rogerson gives her drugs, she finds comfort in him. She is pulled from her family even more. This heart-warming story will have you intently reading till the end. I recommend this book for anyone in need of a brilliantly written sob story.
    Rebecca G.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No ive been scarred 4 life

    Im only 13years old and the sex in this book is absolutly revolting. I highly encorage you to stay awaybfrom this book

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    My 15 yo daughter has recently started reading Sarah Dessens boo

    My 15 yo daughter has recently started reading Sarah Dessens books and I am wandering if there is any sexual content in them?

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Good book

    I love this book . It is the perfect mix of every thing i likenin a book. However i gave it a four star because it is to short all of the suspence was building up and then it just droped like she got tired of writing the book. This book is ok but so far my fave sarah dessen book is someone like you. Like i said good book but she definitley has better ones

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1309 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 66