Customer Reviews for

Dreamland

Average Rating 4.5
( 1299 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(802)

4 Star

(289)

3 Star

(134)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

75 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

Loved It!

Dreamland by Sara Dessen is about a girl named Caitlin, age 16. On her birthday Caitlin's sister Cassandra runs away with her boyfriend, leaving her family disappointed and confused with what has happened. Soon after, Caitlin meets Rogerson Biscoe, a mysterious and appe...
Dreamland by Sara Dessen is about a girl named Caitlin, age 16. On her birthday Caitlin's sister Cassandra runs away with her boyfriend, leaving her family disappointed and confused with what has happened. Soon after, Caitlin meets Rogerson Biscoe, a mysterious and appealing boy around her age. As their relationship grows stronger Caitlin finds herself in a twisted situation trying to decide between her world with Rogerson and her world with the rest of the people in her life. Caitlin's decision brings her to tough times in this supposed "Dreamland." Once this book got going I couldn't put it down, it is written with great detail and form. This wonderful coming of age story teaches a great lesson to girls 12+ while still keeping it interesting. I've never read anything like it and I can't wait to read more books by this author. Don't let the slow beginning keep you from continuing this novel.

posted by 1366146 on May 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Wow...

This book was a buuummmer. Yeah I decided to buy this book since it had such great reviews, and I was so excited when it finally arrived I started to read it. And I was terribly bored at the first 4 chapters, that I stopped reading it. Then latter decided to finish sinc...
This book was a buuummmer. Yeah I decided to buy this book since it had such great reviews, and I was so excited when it finally arrived I started to read it. And I was terribly bored at the first 4 chapters, that I stopped reading it. Then latter decided to finish since Ive read a lot of really good books that started off slow also. So I continued to finish it and yeah it wasn't that great... There wasn't much to it and was pretty plain. I mean once in a wile (and i mean every 3 or 4 chapters) something good happens. But the whole book pretty much, was a disappointment...

If you want to read a good book check out Ellin Hopkins books. There ALL amazing. I highly recommend you check them out because unlike this book hers catches your attention from page one! And you will not put the book down once you pick it up. There great. =]

posted by Amber_roxx051 on November 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1307 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 66
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Noooo

    GUYS STOP RPING!!!Z!!!! THERES PLENTY OF SITES TO DO IT ON!!!!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    To all warrior cats rp

    Plz stopholdin rps in great books. The reviews r meant to give a book a reciew not to roleplay. If u qanna rp then go to a rp website.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No stars

    I read this book for free while at B&N and im glad it was free. I woukd of been mad if i wastes money on it! I expected more from this author having read one precious book of hers and loved it. I really didnt pick up the message she was trying to tell. So sad!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    PLOT IS SEEN IN MANY RELATIONSHIPS NOW!!!

    I really enjoyed reading this book because the fact that Caitlen is in an abusive relationship and she can't seem to get out. Nowadays, many teen relationships are abusive and it's important that they know that they must speak up and not continued with the torture & abuse; both physically and mentally. I definetly recommend because my sister went through the same situation as Caitlen.
    ITS IMPORTANT FOR GIRLS AND BOYS TO KNOW THAT IF YOU ARE IN AN ABUSIVE RELATIONSHIP, SPEAK UP AND DON'T KEEP QUIET. OR ELSE IT WILL BE TOO LATE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hated it!!!!!!!!

    I will never ever pick up a Sarah Dessen book ever again!!!!! Every time I see one of her books I scream. It's all about drugs and sex...who wants to read about that? Yeah, people like my cousin.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    Dreamland

    I have recently read Dreamland by Sarah Dessen. It's one of my favorite books. Reading this book made me feel sorry for Cass. This book is about Cass's life and what she went through with have a missing sister and an abusive boyfriend. Once you start reading this book you won't be able to put it down! I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to read a thrilling life story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    BAD and DISAPOINTING

    it thought it could have been better in the beginning there is to much of her just wondering and then when she starts to date rogerson its just to fake. when he abuses her thats when it gets good but the abuse slows down i wanted more it should have been more intense but it was just BLAH

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Could have been better

    I really liked this book.
    I liked the story behind it. But i think that the reason why everybody was so disappointed is because the most exciting part of the book doesn't come until the ennding of the book. All of Sarah Dessen's books are like that. She takes about 100 and something pages to explain the story behind every character and then thats when it starts to get exciting.

    I like to read books in less than a week. So if you have time, try not to read one chapter one day, then another one next week, because then you'll hate this book. but if you're a fast reader, read it the same day if you can. Thats what i did, and i really really liked it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Dream Called Dreamland

    Sarah Dessen is one of my favorite authors now, but this was the first book I read by her. I didn't like it AT ALL. The whole book felt detached, as if she was half asleep and nothing really made sense. I never felt like I actually knew the characters either. It felt too rushed and the whole "everywhere we go happens to be extremely dark" thing got old fast. I was very cautious reading another Dessen book after this, but luckily This Lullaby fixed my faith in her. Read her other books before trying to stay awake during this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Story of a Lost Girl and Her Journey Back to Finding Herself

    I would recommend this book to a person who is okay with reading a book that is a story of struggles, this is not a happy book. Although the ending does redeems itself, so if you love to see endings in which the main character survives and gains back what is lost, then this book is for you. The main story line of this book "Dreamland" is that of a teenage girl and her family, relationships, and internal struggles. Her sister was an all around star, academically, socially, and physically. She was constantly being overshadowed by her sister, feeling a lost of identity. Not that her sister tried to be an overcast, she allowed herself to be overshadowed and her mother was very bad at the equality of attention, and support. On her 16th birthday her sister runs away, having her birthday forgotten, and her mother completely distraught and occupied with getting her sister back. Caitlin tries out for the cheerleading squad because her best friend nags her too and she would be doing something similar to her sister. She makes it and is beginning to gain her mother back through her busy schedule. One night Caitlin is running into the gas station and she spots a mysterious boy, he is just staring at her from the hood of his car. Caitlin is not able to shake the impression of this guy. Later at a party she runs into him and learns his name is Rogerson, she ends up leaving with him. She begins to build a relationship with him. What drew Rogerson to Caitlin was that he was all new, something that her sister never touched. As she keeps seeing him she discovers he's a pot dealer; she stays with him. Over time she begins to smoke pot, all her extra time she spends with him. She starts to slip away from her family, friends, and commitments. Rogerson is very demanding of her, becoming angry if Catlin is late meeting him. He begins to hit her, and it starts to become a regular occurrence and she doesn't know how to get out of it. As you can see this is a story about a girl who looses herself. If you are willing to ride out the hard times to see her hit rock bottom, and recover. Recovering is a long and painful process. She has to learn how to build up her relationships, to trust and to find herself again. The ending will not fail you, you will leave this book with a sense of hope and revitalized.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dreamland: An Escape

    "Caitlin, it said in black ink, I'll see you there." Dreamland by Sarah Dessen a New York Times Best-selling Author, published by the Penguin Group in 2000, is the book for you?
    This story is fiction about a teenage girl name, Caitlin, trying to find her way through life. Somehow she is trapped in a dreamland where nothing is quite real. Caitlin needs to find her way out, but there are many obstacles standing in her way. Her big sister, Cass, is the favorite child, she was suppose to attend Yale, and her parents want Caitlin to be just like her, but she runs away. Next, Caitlin's parents forget about Caitlin ever existing. Lastly, Caitlin's boyfriend, Rogerson, who Caitlin loves so much, hurts her. This story is full of life changing adventures that Caitlin comes upon, trying to get out of the Dreamland, and to find herself at the end.
    Sarah Dessen is trying to inform her readers to be yourself. Caitlin's mother and Rogerson are trying to make Caitlin someone she is not. Next, you need to stand up for yourself, don't let people push you around. If anyone is hurting you, you need to find help. Don't let your emotions get the best of you. This is what happened to Caitlin when she loved Rogerson so much; she just let Rogerson hurt her and beat her. She is in so much pain and did nothing about it. Luckily at the end, Caitlin gets the help she really needs.
    Sarah Dessen does a really outstanding job keeping her readers so focused on every page. She doesn't start off slow at the beginning instead she just jumps right in. This makes the book enjoyable to read. She also writes about teenage situations, which her readers can relate to. One negative thing I didn't like about the ending of the book is it just ends making you left thinking on what could happen next. This makes her an excellent writer by doing this, and sometimes you want to keep your readers thinking at the end of a book.
    Sarah Dessen is an awesome writer, and I really enjoy reading her books. I recommend Dreamland to any teenager who is looking for an awesome book, or who doesn't enjoy reading books. Trust me you won't get bored. By reading Dreamland, I guarantee you won't be disappointed. This book is so good; it even made me cry in some parts. It really came alive, and it seemed so real. If you like Dreamland, I bet you would like Sarah Dessen's other books Someone Like You and This Lullaby.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    GREAT BOOK!

    Dreamland by Sarah Dessen is a great page turning book. It is mainly about Caitlin, who becomes a completely different person after her sister, Cass, runs away. She ends up a cheerleader, taking drugs, and having an abusive boyfriend. This book always makes me want to know whats going to happen next, and how she is going to deal with the next hole shes dug herself into. You feel like you really know Caitlin, and you understand why she does all the things that she has done wrong in her life. Even though you know they aren't right, the things she does always seems a little bit better when she explains her reasoning. It makes you think about actions a little more and the thought process behind it. It is very well written and I would recommend it to girls because it is written more for them. I would pick up this book if you get the chance!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    Number of times read:4

    Great look at teen relationship problems/situations. New look at what victums of domestic violence need to remember and to do, the girl in this book shys away and avoids help all because she thinks she has no one to turn to. It reminds readers that you always need to be there for somebody and know that there is always someone to go to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    Amazing

    this book based on relationships, pressure, and friendship was absolutely amazing. Ive read this book three times and i always get shocked on the same parts. Its emotional, realistic, and informant. I absolutely loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Moving

    This book is a book that i think every girl should read. This book was moving, amazing, and very emotional. It is also so much more but you just cant put it in worlds. This book is not the kind of book you cant put down and look crazy at 4 in the morning because your still reading it, but its liked the book you need to read to know what the real life is about and what is going to other people in this world. I have given this book to many of my friends and they told me they cried. So i think you and every person who reads this book is going to look at the world a hole different way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    wow

    When i read this book i couldnt help but cry. The fact that the guy she thought was amazing begins to abuse her she didnt have a clue on what to do. This book is so realistic cause it reminds me so much of a person. Dessen did an incredible job on this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    I love this book

    At first I was not sure if I would like this book. To be honest I thought the main character was a guy. Until she talked about a skirt. You may laugh but I dose not tell where any girl things may be brought up. I thought when Catlin was being abused It was really sad I almost wanted to cry for her because she did not know he would be like this. I would recommend this book to 7th grade and older. It was really good but It had mature things in it. Older kids would be able to understand more.
    I think this book is a 5 out of 5 it was really good. I would defiantly read this book again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ........

    This book is absolutely amazing. You hear people saying how some books are amazingly realistic and they felt like they were actualy there, sometimes you might not believe it, but in this book it is so true. (If you have not read this book yet, do not read this part) When Rogerson first hit Kaitlyn, I was so surprised. I mean after a while it kind of made since, seeing as Rogersons father ofton hit him, but at that moment i was very surpried. And at the very end when she was calling him back and telling him not to leave, even after all that he had done to her, it absolutely broke my heart. Because she was very much in love and emotionally attached to him that she wanted to be with him even though he had harmed her. Sarah Dessen is an absolute genius. I have read almost all of her books and I have never been let down by one. I strongely recomend this book. It is beautiful, realistic, and absolutely amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    oh what pain...

    this book pained me to read-not because of all the abuse the main character endured, but because of all the abuse i had to endure reading it. the main character annoyed me to no end because she wouldnt stand up for herself-not to anyone-and because the story was so predictable, right down to the "big scene" at the party, and the bad boy with the mean dad. the predictablility was probably what i hated most, that and the characters had no depth. all in all, i would not recomend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG

    This book was awesome. It was kind of depressing. I remember at when i was going to bed one night i was kind of depressed cause i was reading this right before. It is a really good book. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1307 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 66