Customer Reviews for

Dreams and Shadows: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I received this book as an advance reading copy from the publish

I received this book as an advance reading copy from the publisher and am thrilled that I did. What an amazing book! C. Robert Cargill has created a living, breathing world filled with supernatural creatures that live both among us and in the wild lands around us. This ...
I received this book as an advance reading copy from the publisher and am thrilled that I did. What an amazing book! C. Robert Cargill has created a living, breathing world filled with supernatural creatures that live both among us and in the wild lands around us. This is the tale of a young boy who, with the aid of a Djinn, makes a wish or two that alters the future of not only himself, but of the entire Fae world. The story flies along, and reached a conclusion that is both satisfying and left me wanting more at the same time. The world Mr. Cargrill creates is one that I would gladly visit again and again.

posted by TyWilsonSLC on February 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Largely a filler second volume in a series

This is another take off on Game of Thrones without all of the graphic violence. The most interesting aspect of this series is the role of banking in the kingdoms and being pretty central to the plot.

This book is pretty much a filler volume as second in the series....
This is another take off on Game of Thrones without all of the graphic violence. The most interesting aspect of this series is the role of banking in the kingdoms and being pretty central to the plot.

This book is pretty much a filler volume as second in the series.

posted by gil7894 on July 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This one was a great gritty read. The characters are bold and th

    This one was a great gritty read. The characters are bold and the story is engaging. If you are a fan of darker fairy stories, this one is worth a read for sure.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    I received this book as an advance reading copy from the publish

    I received this book as an advance reading copy from the publisher and am thrilled that I did. What an amazing book! C. Robert Cargill has created a living, breathing world filled with supernatural creatures that live both among us and in the wild lands around us. This is the tale of a young boy who, with the aid of a Djinn, makes a wish or two that alters the future of not only himself, but of the entire Fae world. The story flies along, and reached a conclusion that is both satisfying and left me wanting more at the same time. The world Mr. Cargrill creates is one that I would gladly visit again and again.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Wonderful book! Read a review of this in the paper and thought i

    Wonderful book! Read a review of this in the paper and thought it sounded interesting. Could not put this down. Absolutely loved it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Dark, Twisted, and Addictive

    It has been years since a novel has captivated and enthralled me as much as Cargill's Dreams and Shadows. The world in which he has created is as dark and corrupt as it is beautiful and magical, with unforgettable characters and a story that left me hungry for more with every page I turned.
    Cargill, in his both wonderful and mystifying imagination, has created a tale that will delight me for years to come, as I will surely be reading it again and again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Largely a filler second volume in a series

    This is another take off on Game of Thrones without all of the graphic violence. The most interesting aspect of this series is the role of banking in the kingdoms and being pretty central to the plot.

    This book is pretty much a filler volume as second in the series.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Loved it!

    Was looking for something new and different. Glad I took a chance on this read. Definitely recommend to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2015

    Mish mash of folk and fantasy tales mostly grimns

    And rainbow fairy tales green yellow red blue books. For the committed fan of this fantasy subs genre. if not skip

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2014

    Dreams and Shadows

    My kind of book. Keeps the magic and mystery of good old-fashioned fairy tales with the addition of modern elements that make it more relatable to modern fiction. I enjoyed this book very much and have already bought the next volume for my Nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    While this story begins with the tale of two boys - this is defi

    While this story begins with the tale of two boys - this is definitely an novel geared towards adults. The first part of the story tells the history of Ewan, Knocks, and Colby. It all begins in the fairy courts - and eventually it seems to end there as well. The story is full of new legends and lore that are based in some of the traditional faerie legends that I have read in the past. It is at the same time both familiar and strange. This wonderful mix was what kept the book going for me. I loved the history and the interactions between the non-human folk. 




    The downfall of this book was that even once I finished - I wasn't quite sure where the story was going. This is a series, so perhaps more will be "settled" in book two, but I was just confused as to what the point of it all was at the end of book one. It was also much more violent than I had expected - so if you like your violence behind closed doors and glossed over - this isn't for you. While it wasn't overly graphic, it was still quite descriptive and not my favorite. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Fantastic

    Fantastic story, excellent characters and a great read. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2014

    This book went from good, to very good, to excellent!  Loved the

    This book went from good, to very good, to excellent!  Loved the characters and their interactions.  The blending of mundane world and the world of fairies, djinn, and other fairytale folk was done seamlessly.  Can't wait to read another of his books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Fantastic

    Its a great book. See for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Great read

    Very entertaining. Couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Apprentice den

    Mateclan

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Logan

    A very,very,muscular guy sneaks up on her on pulls of all her clothes and pulls her close to his body. His clothes are of as well and he has big muscular arms and a six pack. He kisses her and licks her boobs. While shoving his tit in her vagina. He holds her tight and touches het all over. Her boobs her butt and her vagina. He shoves his dick even harder into her vagina. And kisses her.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Jullie

    She runs in and sees whats happining. She gasps but covers her mouth turning around and runs to the previous result.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Kelly

    *she cries through the gag*

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Excellent

    Fast paced story; I couldn't put it down. Fans of dark fairy tales will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Fantastic Book!!!!! He should make a second one for sure!!!

    Fantastic Book!!!!! He should make a second one for sure!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Fantastic, fun, exciting

    Perhaps I'm biased because I'm an Austinite and have met the author a time or two, but this book is awesome. It's just flat out fun. It was my travel read last summer and I was updating My Library and decided to throw down a review and support an amazing author. I recently heard about a sequel and I can't hardly wait!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2